Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline barmin  
#1 Posted : 29 June 2018 14:53:06(UTC)
barmin

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 29/07/2014(UTC)
Posts: 3
Poland
Location: Silesia

Hello,

I have a question if it's possible to display the string part of a matrix in *.exe file created from a Smath file?


Screenshot of issue

Tried the var2string function, but after changing the string value via exe file, it reads function argument name (a) instead of it's value.

Is there some kind of workaround for this issue?
Offline alyles  
#2 Posted : 29 June 2018 16:37:31(UTC)
alyles


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/03/2016(UTC)
Posts: 170
United States

Was thanked: 53 time(s) in 37 post(s)
It would help if you post the original .sm file.

I'm not exactly sure what you are trying to do. Are you trying to assign a value to a variable name defined in a?
If so you can do something like this: https://en.smath.info/fo...eqautions.aspx#post36117

As far as getting that dynamically created variable name to display on the left as an actual variable name, I'm not sure if that's possible.
Feel free to join the SMath Studio Users Discord Channel: https://discord.gg/PayZpJW
Offline barmin  
#3 Posted : 29 June 2018 16:42:57(UTC)
barmin

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 29/07/2014(UTC)
Posts: 3
Poland
Location: Silesia

In smath it's defined as:

a:="sample string"

a="sample string"


And if I change the string, sheet recalculates and shows a value as the new string. I wanted to achieve this functionality in smath viewer in exe file for creating additional info page on my docs, like project name and so on.
Offline alyles  
#4 Posted : 29 June 2018 17:27:39(UTC)
alyles


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/03/2016(UTC)
Posts: 170
United States

Was thanked: 53 time(s) in 37 post(s)
Make sure you hit enter/return key after entering value.

Edit: You may have found a bug. This kind of functionality works great with numeric values but not with strings. I've tried with different optimizations as well to no avail.
I'm not sure it's ever worked. I now SMath Viewer is still a work in progress so feel free to add bug entry.

Edited by user 29 June 2018 17:39:14(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Feel free to join the SMath Studio Users Discord Channel: https://discord.gg/PayZpJW
Offline CBG  
#5 Posted : 29 June 2018 20:33:35(UTC)
CBG


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 14/10/2015(UTC)
Posts: 211

Was thanked: 43 time(s) in 31 post(s)
Originally Posted by: barmin Go to Quoted Post
Hello,

I have a question if it's possible to display the string part of a matrix in *.exe file created from a Smath file?


Screenshot of issue

Tried the var2string function, but after changing the string value via exe file, it reads function argument name (a) instead of it's value.

Is there some kind of workaround for this issue?




Hello Barmin


The function you are looking for was previously available in previous versions of smath, such as version 5737.
I do not know why they disabled it. Here I put an example in that version.

Test_String_5737.png

Test_string_5737.zip (360kb) downloaded 15 time(s).

Best Regards

Carlos
Offline barmin  
#6 Posted : 01 July 2018 19:56:27(UTC)
barmin

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 29/07/2014(UTC)
Posts: 3
Poland
Location: Silesia

Seems it's a bug then. Thanks for info.
Offline mkraska  
#7 Posted : 02 July 2018 17:07:17(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,488
Germany

Was thanked: 789 time(s) in 504 post(s)
Can't reproduce

hallo.sm (3kb) downloaded 14 time(s).
2018-07-02 16_05_58-SMath Studio - [hallo.sm].png
hallo.zip (483kb) downloaded 14 time(s).
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline alyles  
#8 Posted : 02 July 2018 17:11:51(UTC)
alyles


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/03/2016(UTC)
Posts: 170
United States

Was thanked: 53 time(s) in 37 post(s)
Martin,

Once the Viewer is running try to change the value of Hallo and notice if it doesn't update in the second box.

Feel free to join the SMath Studio Users Discord Channel: https://discord.gg/PayZpJW
Offline CBG  
#9 Posted : 03 July 2018 04:58:56(UTC)
CBG


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 14/10/2015(UTC)
Posts: 211

Was thanked: 43 time(s) in 31 post(s)
Test_String_CBG_R2.png
Offline mkraska  
#10 Posted : 03 July 2018 10:58:49(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,488
Germany

Was thanked: 789 time(s) in 504 post(s)
For me it works. Yet I have to press enter to forward the changes in the input box.
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline omorr  
#11 Posted : 03 July 2018 12:14:27(UTC)
omorr


Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 23/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,698
Man
Serbia

Was thanked: 300 time(s) in 257 post(s)
For me it will change the numerical variable but not the string one (with return pressing, of course).

before
before.GIF

after
after.GIF

Regards,
Radovan
When Sisyphus climbed to the top of a hill, they said: "Wrong boulder!"
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.