Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

23 Pages«<34567>»
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline mkraska  
#81 Posted : 12 May 2013 16:51:45(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,685
Germany

Was thanked: 928 time(s) in 586 post(s)
Originally Posted by: uni Go to Quoted Post

It's hard to do. Symbol density depends on the density of points. But it depends on the algorithm used and the type of function. I'm using the marching squares algorithm that generates a set of segments on the grid cells. Each segment - two points at the ends of the segment. More cells - more points, and hence more symbols. The segments are drawn independently each other.


Thanks for the explanation. I was not asking for an arc length based marker spacing, just plotting e.g. every other or every third point. This still would not be ideal (non-equidistant markers, mismatch in closed loops) but would provide control over the average density without being forced to set the base grid too coarse. One might, of course, argue if the result would be worth the effort.

mkraska attached the following image(s):
markerspacing.PNG
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline uni  
#82 Posted : 12 May 2013 17:22:03(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,155
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1004 time(s) in 581 post(s)
We have a random set of segments, each with two points. The points can't be regularized. The circle - is the visibility of their order. In fact the segments may be arranged randomly.

Edited by user 12 May 2013 17:35:18(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
💰 Support me for plugins development: https://yoomoney.ru/to/410013245578758
thanks 3 users thanked uni for this useful post.
on 12/05/2013(UTC),  on 12/05/2013(UTC),  on 13/05/2013(UTC)
Offline mkraska  
#83 Posted : 13 May 2013 17:42:28(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,685
Germany

Was thanked: 928 time(s) in 586 post(s)
Originally Posted by: uni Go to Quoted Post
We have a random set of segments, each with two points. The points can't be regularized. The circle - is the visibility of their order. In fact the segments may be arranged randomly.

Ok, it took a while, but now I understand. The only way out would be to identify segment chains. That could perhaps provide benefits (half the number of points) but would not be for free, neither in terms of coding, nor in terms of performance.
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline uni  
#84 Posted : 14 May 2013 17:24:42(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,155
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1004 time(s) in 581 post(s)
Updated. Fixed a few bugs (more stable version).
Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
💰 Support me for plugins development: https://yoomoney.ru/to/410013245578758
thanks 4 users thanked uni for this useful post.
on 14/05/2013(UTC),  on 14/05/2013(UTC),  on 14/05/2013(UTC),  on 14/05/2013(UTC)
Offline mkraska  
#85 Posted : 14 May 2013 20:33:09(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,685
Germany

Was thanked: 928 time(s) in 586 post(s)
Originally Posted by: uni Go to Quoted Post
Updated. Fixed a few bugs (more stable version).


Thanks for the update. Still, Smath crashes when Ctrl-dragging a Y-X-Region. Also, the region does not yet cope with undefined values. Region switches to error state in such cases.


Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline uni  
#86 Posted : 14 May 2013 22:38:52(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,155
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1004 time(s) in 581 post(s)
Originally Posted by: mkraska Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: uni Go to Quoted Post
Updated. Fixed a few bugs (more stable version).


Thanks for the update. Still, Smath crashes when Ctrl-dragging a Y-X-Region.

Updated. Try again.
Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
💰 Support me for plugins development: https://yoomoney.ru/to/410013245578758
thanks 2 users thanked uni for this useful post.
on 14/05/2013(UTC),  on 14/05/2013(UTC)
Offline kilele  
#87 Posted : 15 May 2013 00:30:43(UTC)
kilele


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 30/03/2011(UTC)
Posts: 393

Was thanked: 132 time(s) in 113 post(s)
How the mouse interaction is supposed to work ?
See this test on xp/smath-mono, zoom does not seem to work,
when I drag over the plot, it does not redraw itself until I click outside.
video:
http://screencast-o-matic.com/watch/cIh2rTVt0B
Offline uni  
#88 Posted : 15 May 2013 00:37:38(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,155
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1004 time(s) in 581 post(s)
Originally Posted by: kilele Go to Quoted Post
How the mouse interaction is supposed to work ?
See this test on xp/smath-mono, zoom does not seem to work,
when I drag over the plot, it does not redraw itself until I click outside.
video:
http://screencast-o-matic.com/watch/cIh2rTVt0B

What version SMath Studio?

Edited by user 15 May 2013 00:48:24(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
💰 Support me for plugins development: https://yoomoney.ru/to/410013245578758
Offline kilele  
#89 Posted : 15 May 2013 00:48:15(UTC)
kilele


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 30/03/2011(UTC)
Posts: 393

Was thanked: 132 time(s) in 113 post(s)
Originally Posted by: uni Go to Quoted Post

What version SMath Studio?


night build for linux run within win xp.
Sorry I don't want to install more than two versions..
I can test it with the portable version, and also on vista.
Offline uni  
#90 Posted : 15 May 2013 00:56:00(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,155
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1004 time(s) in 581 post(s)
Originally Posted by: kilele Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: uni Go to Quoted Post

What version SMath Studio?


night build for linux run within win xp.
Sorry I don't want to install more than two versions..
I can test it with the portable version, and also on vista.

Now I understand, this is normal behavior. In older versions had a problem with redrawing the region when the mouse moves. Andrey wrote about it: "RegionHolder improved to avoid excess invalidation on mouse move;". If the majority of users will use the night version and newer, I will fix this problem.
Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
💰 Support me for plugins development: https://yoomoney.ru/to/410013245578758
Offline mkraska  
#91 Posted : 15 May 2013 01:19:15(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,685
Germany

Was thanked: 928 time(s) in 586 post(s)
Originally Posted by: uni Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: mkraska Go to Quoted Post

Thanks for the update. Still, Smath crashes when Ctrl-dragging a Y-X-Region.

Updated. Try again.


Thanks for the update, problem solved.

Remaining problems: undefined values handling, mouse interaction (I have to press a key (any, except ctrl or shift) while dragging the plot contents. I guess that this is not by design. Don't know if that is similar to kilele's problem (can't display his screen cast).

Also, independent zooming of x and y would be highly welcome, similar to the built in region (and a hotkey for setting aspect ratio to 1)

I use 4875 (never saw the version 4871).

Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline kilele  
#92 Posted : 15 May 2013 01:27:09(UTC)
kilele


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 30/03/2011(UTC)
Posts: 393

Was thanked: 132 time(s) in 113 post(s)
I forgot why I use the mono build in linux, the portable version does not allow users plugins!
So I tried the last stable mono and this is the result. This time I plugged a mouse with wheel to check the zoom option.
As you can see at 1 minute in the video, if I mouse-wheell too fast the effect is as if I made a double-click,
also ctrl+drag does not seem to produce any effect.
http://screencast-o-matic.com/watch/cIh232VtZh

Is there any chance that you can use the controls on the left panel for regular plots ?
maybe you plan to add your own icons adjacent to the plot itself ?
something like these controls: http://graphr.org/
I like especially the trace and zoom controls...the others are great too but not vital, though other math programs like Mathstudio has a 'root' control as well.

Edited by user 15 May 2013 01:29:06(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

thanks 1 user thanked kilele for this useful post.
on 16/05/2013(UTC)
Offline uni  
#93 Posted : 15 May 2013 01:58:23(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,155
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1004 time(s) in 581 post(s)
Originally Posted by: kilele Go to Quoted Post
I forgot why I use the mono build in linux, the portable version does not allow users plugins!
So I tried the last stable mono and this is the result. This time I plugged a mouse with wheel to check the zoom option.
As you can see at 1 minute in the video, if I mouse-wheell too fast the effect is as if I made a double-click,
also ctrl+drag does not seem to produce any effect.
http://screencast-o-matic.com/watch/cIh232VtZh

When you make a video, you need to show the version of the program. I don't have Linux and I can't test the plugin. This strange behavior I can't to explain for now.

Originally Posted by: kilele Go to Quoted Post
Is there any chance that you can use the controls on the left panel for regular plots ?
maybe you plan to add your own icons adjacent to the plot itself ?
something like these controls: http://graphr.org/
I like especially the trace and zoom controls...the others are great too but not vital, though other math programs like Mathstudio has a 'root' control as well.

I'll think about it. Andrey promised to do in the future similar settings for all plugins (regions).
Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
💰 Support me for plugins development: https://yoomoney.ru/to/410013245578758
Offline kilele  
#94 Posted : 15 May 2013 02:06:01(UTC)
kilele


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 30/03/2011(UTC)
Posts: 393

Was thanked: 132 time(s) in 113 post(s)
Do you want me to show the about dialog in the video ? ok
Anyway I'm not in Linux but in windows running the mono files..have you tried it ? it seems to behave the same way as the regular version for windows.

EDIT:

As to the mouse wheel issue I mentioned above, never mind! the double-click which causes to show up the properties dialog is my fault: this does not happen when making a fast mousewheel UP,
just when mousewheeling DOWN, I've just checked it up again and I was pressing the mouse wheel,
so it works really fine!
@Martin, yes it is the same issue.

Edited by user 15 May 2013 03:20:42(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

thanks 1 user thanked kilele for this useful post.
on 15/05/2013(UTC)
Offline mkraska  
#95 Posted : 15 May 2013 16:40:24(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,685
Germany

Was thanked: 928 time(s) in 586 post(s)
Just downloaded the new Maplewrapper version and went through the examples.

in "Trigonometric functions.sm", there is a problem with xy-Plot, see attachment.

The original plot in the example does not work, thus I tried an internal plot, which is fine.
Then I deleted the xy-plotregion and created a new one. This works, unless you try to enlarge the plot above a particular level.
This is reproducible. If you reduce the size, then the plot re-appeares, make it a little larger, it disappears again. In the screenshot there are two regions of different size, the smaller works, the larger does not.
mkraska attached the following image(s):
maplexy.PNG
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
thanks 1 user thanked mkraska for this useful post.
on 15/05/2013(UTC)
Offline uni  
#96 Posted : 15 May 2013 23:28:23(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,155
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1004 time(s) in 581 post(s)
Updated. Tested on version 0.96.4883 (16 May 2013).
Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
💰 Support me for plugins development: https://yoomoney.ru/to/410013245578758
thanks 2 users thanked uni for this useful post.
on 15/05/2013(UTC),  on 16/05/2013(UTC)
Offline omorr  
#97 Posted : 15 May 2013 23:47:51(UTC)
omorr


Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 23/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,740
Man
Serbia

Was thanked: 318 time(s) in 268 post(s)
Hmm...strange...Just a simple "x" (or any other undefined variable) will not get a straight line passing through origin No . The error "undefined function:x" will be issued.

"x+0", "1*x" will work, or f(x):=x - but simple "x" will not.

Regards,
Radovan

Edited by user 15 May 2013 23:50:35(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

When Sisyphus climbed to the top of a hill, they said: "Wrong boulder!"
Offline uni  
#98 Posted : 15 May 2013 23:52:08(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,155
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1004 time(s) in 581 post(s)
Originally Posted by: omorr Go to Quoted Post
Hmm...strange...Just a simple "x" (or any other undefined variable) will not get a straight line passing through origin No . The error "undefined function:x" will be issued.

"x+0", "1*x" will work, or f(x):=x - but simple "x" will not.
Regards,
Radovan

Must be version 0.1.4884.4367.
Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
💰 Support me for plugins development: https://yoomoney.ru/to/410013245578758
Offline omorr  
#99 Posted : 15 May 2013 23:59:49(UTC)
omorr


Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 23/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,740
Man
Serbia

Was thanked: 318 time(s) in 268 post(s)
Originally Posted by: uni Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: omorr Go to Quoted Post
Hmm...strange...Just a simple "x" (or any other undefined variable) will not get a straight line passing through origin No . The error "undefined function:x" will be issued.

"x+0", "1*x" will work, or f(x):=x - but simple "x" will not.
Regards,
Radovan

Must be version 0.1.4884.4367.


Yes, you are right Good
omorr attached the following image(s):
yjex.png
When Sisyphus climbed to the top of a hill, they said: "Wrong boulder!"
Offline mkraska  
#100 Posted : 16 May 2013 00:42:44(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,685
Germany

Was thanked: 928 time(s) in 586 post(s)
Originally Posted by: uni Go to Quoted Post
Updated. Tested on version 0.96.4883 (16 May 2013).


Thanks for the update.

This solves the resizing problem and the mouse dragging problem (had to press a key in order to drag the plot with the mouse). Tested in 4883 (with annoying error messages at each interaction and no way to access the context menu of the plot) and in 4875.

Open issues:
- handling of undefined values,
- re-calculation upon mouse release. Currently, even leaving the region will not trigger update of the plot.

Edited by moderator 16 May 2013 01:44:28(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Users browsing this topic
Similar Topics
X-Y Plot Region Plugin (Extensions)
by ndtma 24/06/2018 06:00:49(UTC)
X-Y Plot Region Plugin Problem (Questions)
by ndtma 20/06/2018 19:38:44(UTC)
23 Pages«<34567>»
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.