Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline ElSid  
#1 Posted : 18 December 2019 19:52:54(UTC)
ElSid


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 05/03/2009(UTC)
Posts: 300
Man
United States
Location: USA

Was thanked: 10 time(s) in 9 post(s)
Is there a way of changing or updating a "field"? In my case, I want SMATH page number (PageNum) to start on page 3 as I have a document cover sheet for pages 1 and 2.
I may have missed this in the other topics, but I could not find a solution.
It's a follow up to https://en.smath.com/for...7228_Page-numbering.aspx

BTW, I've never understood how that "code snippet" (link) is started

Edited by user 18 December 2019 20:23:12(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline Jean Giraud  
#2 Posted : 19 December 2019 00:42:49(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 4,312
Canada

Was thanked: 751 time(s) in 592 post(s)
Originally Posted by: ElSid Go to Quoted Post
In my case, I want SMATH page number (PageNum) to start on page 3 as I have a document cover sheet for pages 1 and 2.
I

The Windows time stamp has legal value,
now: two pages are missing => case closed ... next.
Offline ElSid  
#3 Posted : 19 December 2019 16:28:22(UTC)
ElSid


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 05/03/2009(UTC)
Posts: 300
Man
United States
Location: USA

Was thanked: 10 time(s) in 9 post(s)
Jean,
Nothing to do with legal value. Cover sheets are pages 1 and 2 and the calculations start on page 3. I need SMath to allow me to start the page footer field as page 3.
Offline Jean Giraud  
#4 Posted : 19 December 2019 18:36:08(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 4,312
Canada

Was thanked: 751 time(s) in 592 post(s)
Originally Posted by: ElSid Go to Quoted Post
Jean,
Nothing to do with legal value.Cover sheets are pages 1 and 2 and the calculations start on page 3.I need SMath to allow me to start the page footer field as page 3.

Collapse pages [1, 2] ... document is native/natural
starting @ effective calculations page 1.
Why not have the dead abstract pages [1, 2] at the end of document ?
Offline Jean Giraud  
#5 Posted : 20 December 2019 02:42:44(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 4,312
Canada

Was thanked: 751 time(s) in 592 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
Collapse pages [1, 2] ... document is native/natural
starting @ effective calculations page 1.
Why not have the dead abstract pages [1, 2] at the end of document ?

&[PAGENUM+2] / &[COUNT]
so ... the 4 pages printed document footer runs over 2,3,4 5
Offline ElSid  
#6 Posted : 11 January 2020 01:04:51(UTC)
ElSid


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 05/03/2009(UTC)
Posts: 300
Man
United States
Location: USA

Was thanked: 10 time(s) in 9 post(s)
That is the problem. I cannot adjust the [PAGENUM] field in the footer
Page in footer.PNG
Offline Jean Giraud  
#7 Posted : 11 January 2020 20:00:14(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 4,312
Canada

Was thanked: 751 time(s) in 592 post(s)
Originally Posted by: ElSid Go to Quoted Post
That is the problem.I cannot adjust the [PAGENUM] field in the footer

Attach a typical document or take some from the Forum.
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#8 Posted : 12 January 2020 17:14:18(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,385
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1623 time(s) in 544 post(s)
Currently it is not possible. Will implement it soon.
thanks 1 user thanked Andrey Ivashov for this useful post.
on 15/01/2020(UTC)
Offline Jean Giraud  
#9 Posted : 14 January 2020 15:45:27(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 4,312
Canada

Was thanked: 751 time(s) in 592 post(s)
Originally Posted by: ElSid Go to Quoted Post
Nothing to do with legal value.Cover sheets are pages 1 and 2 and the calculations start on page 3.I need SMath to allow me to start the page footer field as page 3.

The way you want is hiding page 1, 2
If they have nothing to do with the calculations, than zap these two pages
or have them as separate introduction "Read first" document.
It as more than legal value as it won't even reach Tribunal, why?
Because Jean doing QA will recycle the document starting @ page 3
If you have removed 2 pages, the document is not tracable.
What are they sheets 1, 2 ? How can I know ?
A birthday romance ? Source formulation ... per say: Matlab, Mathcad ...
Assume the cover sheets are a Mathcad snippet image,
it may very well affect the Smath coded calculations.
On the other hand, lot many source formulation are in book style
that have to be converted executable math style.
Typical from Papers, especially modern Papers with 100's references.
In short: you are asking Smath have a feature to hide information.
Who is going to vote for that ? Pooling open ...
Offline sinneD  
#10 Posted : 29 January 2020 19:31:23(UTC)
sinneD


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/03/2011(UTC)
Posts: 92
Location: Chicago

Was thanked: 16 time(s) in 7 post(s)
I know this is a bit dated at this point, but I have dealt with this too. In my case, the first few pages are from another source. SMath starts on page 3.

I fake it by adding as many separators as I need at the top of the document and collapsing them. Its a kludge but it works.

Originally Posted by: ElSid Go to Quoted Post
That is the problem. I cannot adjust the [PAGENUM] field in the footer
Page in footer.PNG


Join the SMath Studio Users Discord Channel: https://discord.gg/PayZpJW
Users browsing this topic
Similar Topics
[SS-125] Text fields bug (Bugs & Problems)
by franky123 26/12/2018 17:53:44(UTC)
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.