Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login. New Registrations are disabled.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline sinneD  
#1 Posted : 25 March 2011 16:48:36(UTC)
sinneD

Groups: Registered

Was thanked: 16 time(s) in 7 post(s)
andrey & group-

i discovered smath while looking for a mathcad replacement. excellent job! i am a consulting engineer and have begin to use it like a calculation tablet. i have had some success reading in xmcd files, but they need a lot of work to clean up. EDIT: i am not complaining, just stating my experience in translating the files.

a couple of small things i think would contribute greatly to smath's continued sucess-

1.custom units definition- if we can add units to smath's internal database once, that would be most helpful. like maybe a user units file or table?

2. setting the system of units as a global default, or even as a smath template. to set things in like imperial, SI, etc.. also to be able to control the numeical results. i hate to reference mathcad features, but it is nice to be able to override the default display and change a numerical value of 103.3346 or 1.03E3 to just 103

3. the alignment feature for align top and aligh left is great. what about align on the := or = signs, so things like fraction bars and answers aling together.

4. the ability to set the basic text controls- font, size, bold, underline. example- in mathcad i try to use bold arial to title a calculation section, regualar arial to write notes or descriptions, courier to do calculations.

5. it would be nice to be able to 'see' the paper size or print ranges on the grid. i have not figured out the size or spacing on the grid. something like maybe changing the grid line colors at the intervals of the paper size: 8.5, 17, 25.5, ... x 11, 22, 33, ...

i look forward to the continued improvements to smath!

thanks again

dennis
chicago, il