Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login. New Registrations are disabled.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline prop_design  
#1 Posted : 02 October 2015 05:32:54(UTC)
prop_design

Groups: Registered
Man
United States

hi,

is there a way to add vector notation and add subscripts to formulas and/or text. i don't see any icons for this type of thing.

thanks,

anthony

update 1; i found the subscript part. it is the el icon or you can type [

sorry i'm new to smath, coming from many years of mathcad use. still can't figure out how to get an arrow over a vector though. this is for creating documentation. so i need a way for the math to look like you would expect it to, rather than what any given program wants.

Edited by user 02 October 2015 05:45:42(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Wanna join the discussion?! Login to your SMath Studio Forum forum account. New Registrations are disabled.

Offline Jean Giraud  
#2 Posted : 02 October 2015 07:11:23(UTC)
Jean Giraud

Canada

Was thanked: 981 time(s) in 809 post(s)
In Mathcad, what you call "vector notation" is not a notation decoration like Latex.
The -> over an expression is an operator that only Mathcad has. It ranks Mathcad to
no competition with so few commands to do applied maths, especially for image processing.
Smath goes by many rules of vector algebra, for instance 3D rotation. For up to Andrey
works on that, forget it. As you are new to Smath, the first you will miss from Mathcad
is the column operator and the local definition.

For this last one [local definition], it does exists but undocumented. For at least two
applications, visit the category "Samples", download all the "Spline" stuff just recently
attached. The other trick/tip, Smath does not take an index in the LHS argument. In the
Hermite Spline, I use 'j' and a local definition, to make it work like Mathcad 11.