Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login. New Registrations are disabled.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline dg1727  
#1 Posted : 12 May 2010 11:19:15(UTC)
dg1727

Groups: Registered
Man

Hi,

Many thanks to Andrey and the team for SMath Studio. It is an impressive program. It is rare, and valuable, among free (gratis) math software in having a user-friendly paper-oriented interface like Mathcad. It also has remarkably few bugs. Smile

I work as an engineer and would like to use SMath Studio more in my job, but I would like to see the following features implemented first:

1. I need to combine numerical and symbolic math in the same document, so I look forward to the symbolic solve() mentioned in the following forum topic:
http://en.smath.info/for...t.aspx?g=posts&t=377

2. I would like to show multiple scenarios in the same document. The equations are the same, but the input variables are different.

Example:
Code:
y:=x^2 x:=1 y=1
(where the "=" is numerical evaluation)
After that, I would like to write just:
Code:
x:=2 y=4

But instead I have to write (copy-and-paste) the equation for "y" again:
Code:
y:=x^2 x:=2 y=4

If there are several equations for each scenario, rewriting the equations can take up a lot of space on the page.
I would like to put comments between the math statements (e.g., to label the conditions of each scenario), so I think that using matrices to combine several cases into one equation would be too compact.

The requested feature would change the operation described in the "common mistake" picture on http://smath.info/wiki/%...%8EUser%20functions.ashx

I believe Mathcad works in the requested way.

3. I would like to be able to share files more easily with other people who don't use SMath Studio. It would be great if the following improvements could be made to .XMCD import and export:

a. Graphs (starting with simple 2-D graphs)