Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Thohasius  
#1 Posted : 27 October 2021 10:30:58(UTC)
Thohasius

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 27/10/2021(UTC)
Posts: 3
Switzerland
Location: Horw

Hi,
something is going wrong, but what?

I tried to solve two equations (x+y = 15 and x-y = 5), but the solver means "Assign variable" ???

If I do the same with just one exuation, it works?

(I'm new with Smath and just want to evaluate If we should use SMath or Mathcad Prime instead of Matcad 15 in future)


kind regards
Thomas

Unbenannt.jpg
Offline fedeghi  
#2 Posted : 27 October 2021 10:45:07(UTC)
fedeghi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 14/09/2013(UTC)
Posts: 77
Italy

Was thanked: 18 time(s) in 13 post(s)
roots() is the appropriate command to solve this system

Immagine 2021-10-27 094426.png
Offline Thohasius  
#3 Posted : 27 October 2021 10:53:06(UTC)
Thohasius

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 27/10/2021(UTC)
Posts: 3
Switzerland
Location: Horw

Originally Posted by: fedeghi Go to Quoted Post
roots() is the appropriate command to solve this system

Immagine 2021-10-27 094426.png



Thanks very much! Clapping

But why?
Offline fedeghi  
#4 Posted : 27 October 2021 11:08:48(UTC)
fedeghi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 14/09/2013(UTC)
Posts: 77
Italy

Was thanked: 18 time(s) in 13 post(s)
Different commands with different purpose, I guess.
Solve will work in finding multiple roots for one function, roots will find the "roots" of a non-linear system.
Developers may explain in depth why different commands for differents purpose have been implemented.

By the way, since you are approaching now SMath you may find useful to read a couple of "handbooks" prepared by some PRO users Wink.

Some are available through the extension manager (Tools->Snippet Manager).
Among the ones available, I remember I read the two that I am highlighting in the image.
Immagine 2021-10-27 100215.png
If you want to download this two (or even any other handbook), select "online gallery" instead of "local storage", and you will see the complete list.
Offline Thohasius  
#5 Posted : 27 October 2021 11:11:46(UTC)
Thohasius

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 27/10/2021(UTC)
Posts: 3
Switzerland
Location: Horw

Originally Posted by: fedeghi Go to Quoted Post
Different commands with different purpose, I guess.
Solve will work in finding multiple roots for one function, roots will find the "roots" of a non-linear system.
Developers may explain in depth why different commands for differents purpose have been implemented.

By the way, since you are approaching now SMath you may find useful to read a couple of "handbooks" prepared by some PRO users Wink.

Some are available through the extension manager (Tools->Snippet Manager).
Among the ones available, I remember I read the two that I am highlighting in the image.
Immagine 2021-10-27 100215.png
If you want to download this two (or even any other handbook), select "online gallery" instead of "local storage", and you will see the complete list.



Thanks again Clapping

Okay, I was looking for more than a hour why it does not work and i found lots of examples with "Solve" (not the same as "solve"?)...

I will have a look on it!
Offline fedeghi  
#6 Posted : 27 October 2021 11:22:59(UTC)
fedeghi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 14/09/2013(UTC)
Posts: 77
Italy

Was thanked: 18 time(s) in 13 post(s)
Solve() is the solver that uses Maxima plugin
solve() is the built-in solver.

Solve() (big S :^P) will only become available in your system in case you decide to install Maxima plugin.
I am not using Maxima plugin and so I cannot give you further details about differences between Solve() and solve()

Bye

ps: be sure to add also interactive guide by mkraska in you SMath (again, you will find it in the relevant extension manager section)
Immagine 2021-10-27 101948.png
It is super-useful to find quick interactive (and wisely "read only".. ) references for a lot of commands.

Edited by user 27 October 2021 11:30:10(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline kompre  
#7 Posted : 27 October 2021 12:16:51(UTC)
kompre


Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 05/08/2021(UTC)
Posts: 19
Italy

I am big fan of Solve() by the Maxima plugin and recommend it. With Solve() you can symbolically solve system of non linear equation without the need of defining before hands all the parameters: for example if you want to solve a parametric function like "x+a=0", Solve() will return a solution "x=-a" even if "a" is not defined, wherever solve() will complain about "a" not being defined.

My understanding is that native SMath Studio is optimized to solve stuff numerically, like a spreadsheet. If you want to be more abstract, then you need to use appropriate plugins. For example you can solve only defined integrals with native SS, where with Maxima Plugin you extend SS to handle also indefinite integral

solve_vs_maxima.sm (13kb) downloaded 16 time(s).
Offline Jean Giraud  
#8 Posted : 27 October 2021 17:47:18(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 5,801
Canada

Was thanked: 867 time(s) in 697 post(s)
Originally Posted by: kompre Go to Quoted Post
My understanding is that native SMath Studio is optimized to solve stuff numerically, like a spreadsheet. If you want to be more abstract, then you need to use appropriate plugins. For example you can solve only defined integrals with native SS, where with Maxima Plugin you extend SS to handle also indefinite integral

Visit Samples Symbolic COMPENDIUM...Download them all.

Offline overlord  
#9 Posted : 28 October 2021 00:53:48(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 564
Turkey

Was thanked: 172 time(s) in 124 post(s)
While Maxima is superior to maple plugin, it requires maxima download and installation separately.
We Linux users can use native maxima in terminal but we can't use Maxima plugin with SMath.
This conclude with our only option, maple plugin. And it can answer all questions in your file.

Regards

2021-10-27_16-21.png
Offline Jean Giraud  
#10 Posted : 29 October 2021 17:22:09(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 5,801
Canada

Was thanked: 867 time(s) in 697 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Thohasius Go to Quoted Post
(I'm new with Smath and just want to evaluate If we should use SMath or Mathcad Prime instead of Matcad 15 in future)
kind regards
Thomas

Smath is not a clone of Mathcad 11.
There are no known unsolved demand in Smath.
Offline overlord  
#11 Posted : 30 October 2021 07:54:50(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 564
Turkey

Was thanked: 172 time(s) in 124 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Thohasius Go to Quoted Post
I'm new with Smath and just want to evaluate If we should use SMath or Mathcad Prime instead of Matcad 15 in future?

You should use SMath right now, not specifically in future. Good

Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.