Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#1 Posted : 05 March 2018 20:40:47(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,286
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1415 time(s) in 482 post(s)

New Beta SMath Studio 0.99.6638 is available!

Tiny, powerful, free mathematical program with WYSIWYG editor and complete units of measurements support.

It provides numerous computing features and rich user interface translated into about 40 different languages. Application also contains integrated mathematical reference book.

SMath Studio boxCalculation of Gravitation Acceleration exampleExample of animation on the WorksheetExtensions Manager toolOpened math Reference BookSMath Viewer output to Autocad exampleSMath Studio on iOSSMath Studio on iPad

Application can be easily extended based on your needs. Built-in Extensions Manager tool allows to get access to hundreds official and third-party resources of the following types: usage examples, plug-ins, SMath Viewer based applications, snippets, interface translations, interactive books, handbooks and tutorials.

Changes introduced in current build

Improvements

  • SS-3513: It is allowed now to use vector-based expressions as indexes for matrix definition;
  • New function added: round(3) where 3-rd argument allows to specify rounding type;
  • Rounding type option added to context menu of Math Region.

Corrections

  • SS-3512: Focused region behavior after using Step In functionality fixed;
  • SS-3514: Zero decimal places setting handling when significant digits mode is turned on improved (context menu and settings dialog).

Miscellaneous

  • Function round(2) changed to use rounding to even;
  • Default rounding type of answers displaying restored back to Round To Even;
  • Interface translations updated;
  • Refactoring.

Download

Software icon SMathStudioDesktop.0_99_6638.Setup.msi (Date: 2018.03.05; File size: 2.15 MB) - 474 downloads
Software icon SMathStudioDesktop.0_99_6638.Mono.tar.gz (Date: 2018.03.05; File size: 1.28 MB) - 69 downloads


matrix_32.PNG

round_3_32.PNG

Edited by user 05 March 2018 21:06:14(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

thanks 9 users thanked Andrey Ivashov for this useful post.
on 05/03/2018(UTC),  on 05/03/2018(UTC),  on 05/03/2018(UTC),  on 05/03/2018(UTC),  on 05/03/2018(UTC),  on 06/03/2018(UTC),  on 06/03/2018(UTC),  on 06/03/2018(UTC),  on 06/03/2018(UTC)
Offline Jean Giraud  
#2 Posted : 05 March 2018 22:01:34(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 3,152
Canada

Was thanked: 608 time(s) in 471 post(s)
For those interested to test useful functionalities 6638

Utilities Matrix_Vector [MCD 4 styles].sm (35kb) downloaded 29 time(s).
Offline Jean Giraud  
#3 Posted : 05 March 2018 22:17:36(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 3,152
Canada

Was thanked: 608 time(s) in 471 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
For those interested to test useful functionalities 6638


Observe ... Q(i,j) is already code "trace"

Q(i,j).PNG
Offline CBG  
#4 Posted : 06 March 2018 00:11:59(UTC)
CBG


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 14/10/2015(UTC)
Posts: 178

Was thanked: 34 time(s) in 26 post(s)
Every time Smath Studio is updated, something goes wrong. Again failed
to start the plugin Table Region, Smath Studio does not recognize it.


Table_Region_Fail.png



Best Regards


Carlos
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#5 Posted : 06 March 2018 00:25:50(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,286
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1415 time(s) in 482 post(s)
Carlos,

Originally Posted by: CBG Go to Quoted Post
Every time Smath Studio is updated, something goes wrong.

Yeah, its a life...

Fixed (please update a plug-in). Thank you!
Offline CBG  
#6 Posted : 06 March 2018 03:18:38(UTC)
CBG


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 14/10/2015(UTC)
Posts: 178

Was thanked: 34 time(s) in 26 post(s)
It already works!

Thank you very much.


Best regards

Carlos
Offline Jean Giraud  
#7 Posted : 06 March 2018 04:23:16(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 3,152
Canada

Was thanked: 608 time(s) in 471 post(s)
Originally Posted by: CBG Go to Quoted Post
Every time Smath Studio is updated, something goes wrong.

That's why I'm 6179 for productive projects.


Offline Jean Giraud  
#8 Posted : 06 March 2018 04:49:16(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 3,152
Canada

Was thanked: 608 time(s) in 471 post(s)
round.PNG
Offline Jean Giraud  
#9 Posted : 06 March 2018 04:51:23(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 3,152
Canada

Was thanked: 608 time(s) in 471 post(s)
CeilFloor.PNG
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#10 Posted : 06 March 2018 09:44:16(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,286
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1415 time(s) in 482 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: CBG Go to Quoted Post
Every time Smath Studio is updated, something goes wrong.

That's why I'm 6179 for productive projects.

In this case you have to live with slow performance, tens of critical known (and already fixed) bugs. You can't use new features and make your future switch to newer version harder. There is no even any guarantee that your worksheets can be supported by latest SMath Studio versions (yeah, in SMath history we had couple of such situations when a part of calculation can not be handled anymore, unfortunately).

So, I can't say that it is good approach.
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#11 Posted : 06 March 2018 09:46:47(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,286
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1415 time(s) in 482 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
CeilFloor.PNG

Are you kidding? And what about 2.35, -9.465 and etc?
Offline Jean Giraud  
#12 Posted : 06 March 2018 19:03:49(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 3,152
Canada

Was thanked: 608 time(s) in 471 post(s)
Page11 Floor.sm (13kb) downloaded 29 time(s).
Offline Alex M.  
#13 Posted : 15 March 2018 00:46:18(UTC)
Alex M.


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 03/03/2014(UTC)
Posts: 397
Canada

Was thanked: 118 time(s) in 91 post(s)
A bug in functionality of vectorize() was introduced between 0.99.6617 and 0.99.6638. Will this be addressed?

VectorizeBug.png VectorizeBug.sm (7kb) downloaded 15 time(s).

Offline Jean Giraud  
#14 Posted : 15 March 2018 07:09:35(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 3,152
Canada

Was thanked: 608 time(s) in 471 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Alex M. Go to Quoted Post
A bug in functionality of vectorize() was introduced between 0.99.6617 and 0.99.6638


That it was introduced between 6617 & 6638, that is surprising ?
Even if it did work, to me, it is not correct because it will cause
something wrong sooner or later, because to reflexive in the
calculation kernel ... Murphy's law. I have experimented disastrous
situations [crash ... push the button to stop].
Occasionally, to isolate, you have to spool to file.

Cheers Alex ... Jean

AlexBug.PNG
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#15 Posted : 15 March 2018 20:12:50(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,286
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1415 time(s) in 482 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Alex M. Go to Quoted Post
A bug in functionality of vectorize() was introduced between 0.99.6617 and 0.99.6638. Will this be addressed?

Jean are right, this didn't work initially, but started working at some point because of another bug Good Yes, I'm not kidding.

I've investigated this example and was able to make it work together with all other examples I have about vectorize(..) function. All tests executed OK.
So, I decided to include this improvement into new release: https://en.smath.info/fo...6648--15-March-2018.aspx

Please test examples you have with vectorize(..) function.

Best regards.
thanks 1 user thanked Andrey Ivashov for this useful post.
on 15/03/2018(UTC)
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.