Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login. New Registrations are disabled.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline studoc  
#1 Posted : 29 November 2017 04:07:29(UTC)
studoc

Groups: Registered

Hi,

I am a bottom feeder here: as an engineer I don't do any high flying maths, I just use Smath for repetitive calculations and as a means to set out calcs in a legible manner. As in this case, where I will be needing to discuss a problem with a colleague.

So, I have assessed a loading in a simple calculation and then, for the purposes of future calculations, wanted to ascribe units to the result.

These units happen to be kN (kiloNewtons).

At the end of my result (checked by hand as being correct) I enable the dynamic units assistant, start typing and there it is: "kN", being careful not to select knots, i hit the TAB button to insert.
I see the blue italic of kN in place and hit enter to exit the placeholder, then Smath goes rogue…
It rounds my result and gives it's own interpretation of kN…

Unfortunately for me, I did not want my result rounded and for me, a kN is a kN is a kN….

This has frustrated me in the past, wherein I shake my fist at god and just type the units as text, but is there a way of getting the logical result I was looking for in the first place….??

cheers,

Stuart

rogue units.tiff (9kb) downloaded 23 time(s).

Wanna join the discussion?! Login to your SMath Studio Forum forum account. New Registrations are disabled.

Offline Davide Carpi  
#2 Posted : 29 November 2017 05:09:31(UTC)
Davide Carpi

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Man
Italy

Was thanked: 1329 time(s) in 875 post(s)
Hello Stuart,

First of all, seems you are running an outdated (and buggy) version of SS (0.98.6179 probably); my suggestion is to switch ASAP to the latest stable version.