Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline roman111  
#1 Posted : 05 March 2020 13:24:32(UTC)
roman111

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 01/02/2020(UTC)
Posts: 6
Location: Moscow

Hello. Is it possible to load a picture into the graph as a background? I did not manage to find the direct answer. Thanks.
Online Jean Giraud  
#2 Posted : 05 March 2020 14:35:59(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 5,693
Canada

Was thanked: 855 time(s) in 685 post(s)
Originally Posted by: roman111 Go to Quoted Post
Hello. Is it possible to load a picture into the work sheet as a background?
I did not manage to find the direct answer. Thanks.

1. you must have the image [typical *.BMP]
in either: your Smath file or in C:\
if you don't already have an Smath file ... create one in C:\
2. from the Smath top menu: Insert, Background
... all pages ... from file [browse] ... stretch

Image Cloud Background.sm (207kb) downloaded 26 time(s).
Online Jean Giraud  
#3 Posted : 05 March 2020 14:45:30(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 5,693
Canada

Was thanked: 855 time(s) in 685 post(s)
... sanity check attached document OK
Online Jean Giraud  
#4 Posted : 05 March 2020 14:58:43(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 5,693
Canada

Was thanked: 855 time(s) in 685 post(s)
... now => background over entire Smath document

Circle Aperture_OD Gray 245.sm (31kb) downloaded 26 time(s).

What you CAN NO NOT DO ... turn ON/OFF background
Offline roman111  
#5 Posted : 05 March 2020 16:01:01(UTC)
roman111

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 01/02/2020(UTC)
Posts: 6
Location: Moscow

Thanks, but I meant inserting a picture inside the graph (plot) region, under the axis.
Online Jean Giraud  
#6 Posted : 05 March 2020 17:48:08(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 5,693
Canada

Was thanked: 855 time(s) in 685 post(s)
Originally Posted by: roman111 Go to Quoted Post
Thanks, but I meant inserting a picture inside the graph (plot) region, under the axis.

Much easier: paste the picture outside the graph,
brush over the picture to select, arrow key to slide/adjust-in.

ImagePlot.png


Online Jean Giraud  
#7 Posted : 05 March 2020 18:37:06(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 5,693
Canada

Was thanked: 855 time(s) in 685 post(s)
... touchy to adjust.

Graph-Graph.PNG
Offline joaobr  
#8 Posted : 14 October 2021 13:48:47(UTC)
joaobr


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/02/2018(UTC)
Posts: 43
Man
Brazil
Location: Belém

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 3 post(s)
Hi, Jean!

I'm having trouble controlling which object is in front of the other, the XYPLot Region or the image. It seems a random behavior to me. Am I missing something?
Offline PompelmoTell  
#9 Posted : 14 October 2021 14:07:52(UTC)
PompelmoTell


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/12/2011(UTC)
Posts: 264
Man
Italy
Location: italy

Was thanked: 95 time(s) in 80 post(s)
It can be done; for example with the Mschart plugin
Solver_NhjXOjStic.png

sergio
Online Jean Giraud  
#10 Posted : 14 October 2021 14:45:09(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 5,693
Canada

Was thanked: 855 time(s) in 685 post(s)
Originally Posted by: joaobr Go to Quoted Post
Hi, Jean!
I'm having trouble controlling which object is in front of the other,
the XY PLot Region or the image. It seems a random behavior to me.
Am I missing something?

Image is always on top, probably native Win.
Click anywhere-in ... just the graph.
Cheers ... Jean.

Venturi.PNG
Offline joaobr  
#11 Posted : 14 October 2021 15:05:51(UTC)
joaobr


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/02/2018(UTC)
Posts: 43
Man
Brazil
Location: Belém

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 3 post(s)
Thank you very much, Pompelmo! Haven't tried this plugin so far. It worked perfectly.

Thanks, Jean. By moving the image in and out, it goes behind the graph sometimes, but suddenly snaps to the front. Couldn't identify a clear behavior. Maybe a "bring to the back/front" functionality would be a useful addition to the program.

Edited by user 14 October 2021 15:08:21(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline Davide Carpi  
#12 Posted : 14 October 2021 19:48:26(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,418
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1203 time(s) in 794 post(s)
Originally Posted by: joaobr Go to Quoted Post
By moving the image in and out, it goes behind the graph sometimes, but suddenly snaps to the front. Couldn't identify a clear behavior.


Currently the top-left corner of each region drives the position. The regions behind are those closer to the top (top to bottom) and left margins (left to right).

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Online Jean Giraud  
#13 Posted : 14 October 2021 21:32:10(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 5,693
Canada

Was thanked: 855 time(s) in 685 post(s)
Originally Posted by: joaobr Go to Quoted Post
Maybe a "bring to the back/front" functionality would be a useful addition to the program.

From recollection, it was on the wish list SS 5346.
Thing in terms of publishing ... no decoration, gyzmas ...etc.
The Mathcad 11 bring to front send to back had no adept.
A good presentation is background colors.
Cheers ... Jean.

ODE rkfixed VALERY Yellow Corn.sm (79kb) downloaded 0 time(s).
Offline overlord  
#14 Posted : 14 October 2021 21:59:32(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 494
Turkey

Was thanked: 156 time(s) in 112 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Davide Carpi Go to Quoted Post
Currently the top-left corner of each region drives the position. The regions behind are those closer to the top (top to bottom) and left margins (left to right).

Could "Bring to front/Send to back" options implemented for all regions??
But on a second thought, it would require tons of code change.

Regards
Online Jean Giraud  
#15 Posted : 14 October 2021 23:39:14(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 5,693
Canada

Was thanked: 855 time(s) in 685 post(s)
Originally Posted by: joaobr Go to Quoted Post
Thanks, Jean.

IMHO, for publishing, a document must be as clean/minimalist.
Even a graph with personal logo/photo is too much.
If your document is unique/pure creation in the planet,
OK personal logo somewhere in the document.
I have some of that style [Pt 100, T,J]
What are you looking for, really ?
Cheers ... Jean.

Online Razonar  
#16 Posted : 15 October 2021 07:02:47(UTC)
Razonar


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/08/2014(UTC)
Posts: 832
Uruguay

Was thanked: 442 time(s) in 287 post(s)
Originally Posted by: roman111 Go to Quoted Post
Hello. Is it possible to load a picture into the graph as a background? I did not manage to find the direct answer. Thanks.


Hi. Another way, in addition to the one proposed by Pompelmo:
https://en.smath.com/for...-images-into-a-plot.aspx

Best regards.
Alvaro.
thanks 1 user thanked Razonar for this useful post.
on 15/10/2021(UTC)
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.