Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages<12
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Alex M.  
#21 Posted : 13 March 2016 20:46:14(UTC)
Alex M.


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 03/03/2014(UTC)
Posts: 402
Canada

Was thanked: 119 time(s) in 92 post(s)
Originally Posted by: ioan92 Go to Quoted Post
Alex,

Maybe you can find some ideas in this: 0704.2661.pdf (509kb) downloaded 31 time(s).
Is from Googel harvest...


Many thanks for the reference, just the title alone tells me i will end up reading it word-by-word
Offline Alex M.  
#22 Posted : 14 March 2016 19:10:11(UTC)
Alex M.


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 03/03/2014(UTC)
Posts: 402
Canada

Was thanked: 119 time(s) in 92 post(s)
Originally Posted by: ioan92 Go to Quoted Post
Alex,

Here is a little reflection concerning the risks of the confidence in mathematics let alone.
Here is an example:

alex15.png

You have a classical illustration of the stable vs unstable equilibrium.

Both mechanisms satisfy the equilibrium conditions (mathematically speaking), they can be well identified by a good mathematics tool, as you tried.
But, for us the two situations are far from being both acceptable. One is "happiness" (OK!) while the second is purely "unhappiness" (KO!!!).
Ties and struts are reversed.

That's one of the reasons why I think that it is better to handle a strong equilibred modeling.


I 100% on board with you for not solving the truss using F.x & F.y equilibrium alone - frankly I would not sleep well at night if I did. Lets keep things in perspective though. I am solving stru & tie model and strut and tie is looking at a solid chunk of concrete. Struts and ties are just the stress fields (is this a correct term?) within that blob of concrete. It ain't going nowhere. And is completely stable. (take a look at this deep beam crossection for example

S&T.png

If you solve strut and tie using truss model you are poised to introduce either unnecessary B.C. (boundary conditions) or redundant members.

We might be comparing apples to oranges here.

All said though, I do appreciate the cleanliness of your solution and its presenation.

Cheers

P.S.: I use EXCEL to viasualize the geometry of said stress fields within the real concrete section. If I did not there would not be an easy way to confirm that my struts are within the concrete chunk. That would be a no go for me Grabli . I suppose I could plot the concrete section myself... But hey, there is no harm in letting drafters do the drafting Biggrin

Edited by user 14 March 2016 19:15:23(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline Alex M.  
#23 Posted : 14 March 2016 20:04:49(UTC)
Alex M.


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 03/03/2014(UTC)
Posts: 402
Canada

Was thanked: 119 time(s) in 92 post(s)
Originally Posted by: ioan92 Go to Quoted Post

Let it be clear, I'm not in a commercial attitude. I have nothing to force for selling...
So I'll definitely stop here.


Agreed Biggrinrinks:

Otherwise we could continue this conversation till the ends of time.

Offline Alex M.  
#24 Posted : 24 November 2016 19:37:57(UTC)
Alex M.


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 03/03/2014(UTC)
Posts: 402
Canada

Was thanked: 119 time(s) in 92 post(s)
I am still looking for a way to introduce a new variable name defined from string, and then assign a value to it.

Say if in a for() loop I came across a string "cat44" I would like to create & assign value to variable cat44:="Meow". str2num("cat44"Wink :="Meow" predictably does not work.

Edited by user 24 November 2016 19:41:57(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline Davide Carpi  
#25 Posted : 24 November 2016 20:33:01(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,252
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1141 time(s) in 746 post(s)
Several ways to do the task Good

2016-11-24 18_39_57-SMath Studio - [Page1_].png

Edited by user 24 November 2016 20:42:17(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 2 users thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 24/11/2016(UTC),  on 24/11/2016(UTC)
Offline Alex M.  
#26 Posted : 24 November 2016 21:57:57(UTC)
Alex M.


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 03/03/2014(UTC)
Posts: 402
Canada

Was thanked: 119 time(s) in 92 post(s)
Thanks alot, I knew there was a way!
Offline Jean Giraud  
#27 Posted : 25 November 2016 01:32:44(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 4,576
Canada

Was thanked: 775 time(s) in 615 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Alex M. Go to Quoted Post
Thanks alot, I knew there was a way!


Alex,

Can you exemplify a typical application [short].


Offline Alex M.  
#28 Posted : 29 December 2016 00:47:56(UTC)
Alex M.


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 03/03/2014(UTC)
Posts: 402
Canada

Was thanked: 119 time(s) in 92 post(s)
I figured my question will be appropriate here.

I am trying to create a boolean string using for loop and str2num() on a matrix with three rows - left side, operand, and right side, and n columns.

It seems that everything would work if I could introduce quote charachter inside of quotes. Is this at all possible?

Is there another solution to waht I am trying to achieve?

Thanks!

BOOLstring2num.png

Edited by user 29 December 2016 00:58:38(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline Davide Carpi  
#29 Posted : 29 December 2016 13:03:48(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,252
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1141 time(s) in 746 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Alex M. Go to Quoted Post
It seems that everything would work if I could introduce quote charachter inside of quotes. Is this at all possible?

Nope.
Originally Posted by: Alex M. Go to Quoted Post
Is there another solution to waht I am trying to achieve?

You can use the unit symbol '

2016-12-29 11_03_17-SMath Studio - [Page1_].png

Edited by user 29 December 2016 13:06:14(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 1 user thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 30/12/2016(UTC)
Offline Alex M.  
#30 Posted : 30 December 2016 22:54:06(UTC)
Alex M.


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 03/03/2014(UTC)
Posts: 402
Canada

Was thanked: 119 time(s) in 92 post(s)
Thanks alot, with you help i was able to complete my intelligent data sieving algorithm that runs through a data table and pulls out rows based on user defined criteria.

I actually slightly modified your approach using a dummy string variables left# and right#:

SmathBool.png

Or even better looking:

SmathBool1.png

Now only if I could make the expression left#≡right# return itself in a string format without having to clear variables left# and #right beforehand

Edited by user 30 December 2016 23:09:29(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Users browsing this topic
2 Pages<12
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.