Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

3 Pages<123>
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline frapuano  
#21 Posted : 25 February 2016 15:01:46(UTC)
frapuano


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 01/08/2010(UTC)
Posts: 115
Man
Italy
Location: Rome

Was thanked: 13 time(s) in 13 post(s)
Succeeded cut and pasting in the placeholder "c:\\file.svg".( but just by chance ..to tell the truth I was trying with the Import method ..but no result ..there is still something not clear to me )

Best regards

Franco
Offline Davide Carpi  
#22 Posted : 25 February 2016 18:35:55(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,503
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1257 time(s) in 827 post(s)
Hello Franco,

In my notebook I've not unlocked the privileges for "C:\" so the file crashes, but using another path where I have the privileges you have to use simply that path (standard, without double backslashes).

2016-02-25 16_35_45-SMath Studio Desktop - [DISLIN.%20Example1.sm_].png
2016-02-25 16_35_55-SMath Studio Desktop - [DISLIN.%20Example1.sm_].png

BTW I can't resize the image from the context menu of the Image region, an hard crash occours

2016-02-25 16_36_07-SMath Studio Desktop - [DISLIN.%20Example1.sm_].png
2016-02-25 16_36_31-SMath Studio Desktop - [DISLIN.%20Example1.sm_].png
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 1 user thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 25/02/2016(UTC)
Offline Alex M.  
#23 Posted : 25 February 2016 19:08:02(UTC)
Alex M.


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 03/03/2014(UTC)
Posts: 409
Canada

Was thanked: 119 time(s) in 92 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Davide Carpi Go to Quoted Post


BTW I can't resize the image from the context menu of the Image region, an hard crash occours



Please report any Image Region bugs to the plugin thread (together with offending file) - I will definitely investigate this.

I have quickly checked "reset size" on a variety of .svg (both embedded and linked) and they work well

Edited by user 25 February 2016 19:21:18(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline frapuano  
#24 Posted : 25 February 2016 19:11:47(UTC)
frapuano


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 01/08/2010(UTC)
Posts: 115
Man
Italy
Location: Rome

Was thanked: 13 time(s) in 13 post(s)
Davide,

I have tried to enter a normal path without succeeding probably I am a beginner and I am not able to enter a simple path in a placeholder too.
So not being able to do this I tried the brutal approach of the copy and paste of the path from the first DSLIN instruction and it is with a double quote ..and it worked fine ; probably it is a feature of the image plug-in that is undocumented.

Then I started to play with the image turning it and was OK than I probably played with the size handle and had your same issue .
To make other testing I was forced to reload the file from the UNI e-mail and restart from scratch.

Best regards

Franco
Offline uni  
#25 Posted : 11 March 2016 12:29:19(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,324
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1157 time(s) in 668 post(s)
Functions as parameters not implemented for now but you can try dislin.surmat instead.

DISLIN. Example 2.pdf (236kb) downloaded 161 time(s).
DISLIN. Example 2.sm (123kb) downloaded 116 time(s).

How to draw a 3d sphere:

DISLIN. Example 3.pdf (955kb) downloaded 138 time(s).
DISLIN. Example 3.sm (309kb) downloaded 104 time(s).

Edited by user 11 March 2016 13:29:29(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
thanks 1 user thanked uni for this useful post.
on 11/03/2016(UTC)
Offline Jean Giraud  
#26 Posted : 11 March 2016 17:27:53(UTC)
Jean Giraud

Rank: Guest

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 6,135
Canada

Was thanked: 895 time(s) in 723 post(s)
Hello Uni !

If I understand something in there [quite Chinese to me],
eventually you will be able to plot the breather, is it ?

Will that be compatible Smath 5346 ?

Jean

Breather for UNI.sm (309kb) downloaded 42 time(s).
Offline Jean Giraud  
#27 Posted : 11 March 2016 18:47:13(UTC)
Jean Giraud

Rank: Guest

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 6,135
Canada

Was thanked: 895 time(s) in 723 post(s)
Hello Ioan,

DISLIN: looks as huge as Scilab. 757 specifications
that's a lot of pages compared to Mathcad menu driven.
In the attached, everything is "robust" for your matrix.
I have interest for DISLIN, but not so much, Why?
DISLIN plotting 3D surface/volume is the wrong approach.
The sole approach is the Mathcad Matrix [single matrix
or triplet CreateMesh] as you can rotate from user on-line
command and in supplement use the picture operator. The
"Matrix Mathcad Method" allows Fourier applications, mostly
image processing, spectral analysis. How many non convivial
steps of DISLIN are eliminated from the "Robust" attach.
We are in 2016 modern stuff rather than 1970 Fortran.

Plugins & Plugins doing what in maths make me S...
when Smath does not "fft" more than a 7 x 7 matrix
"result is above max allowed number" ...
Why not more usable maths with Smath primarily maths oriented,
and doing lot in Maple companionship.

Pure comment from desperate 5346 waiting for a stable updated.
Why not an OdeSolve wrapper [call it plugin].

Jean

Utilities Surface Plot ROBUST.sm (26kb) downloaded 50 time(s).

Offline Alex M.  
#28 Posted : 11 March 2016 19:37:28(UTC)
Alex M.


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 03/03/2014(UTC)
Posts: 409
Canada

Was thanked: 119 time(s) in 92 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Davide Carpi Go to Quoted Post


BTW I can't resize the image from the context menu of the Image region, an hard crash occours

2016-02-25 16_36_07-SMath Studio Desktop - [DISLIN.%20Example1.sm_].png
2016-02-25 16_36_31-SMath Studio Desktop - [DISLIN.%20Example1.sm_].png


Hi All,

I would love to make the Image Region handle DISLIN properly, however I was not able to come up with a fix myself.

From what I understood, the SVG engine (https://svg.codeplex.com/) has trouble reading Height/Width of the .svg produced by DISLIN. If any of you guys need the functionality enough to investigate and come up with a solution I would love to implement it in the code of the Image Region.

Offline uni  
#29 Posted : 12 March 2016 07:47:42(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,324
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1157 time(s) in 668 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
Hello Uni !

If I understand something in there [quite Chinese to me],
eventually you will be able to plot the breather, is it ?

Will that be compatible Smath 5346 ?

Yes, I think it possible but now not implemented.

Plotting a Shaded Surface Grid from a Parametric Function

Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
Offline uni  
#30 Posted : 17 March 2016 22:25:35(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,324
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1157 time(s) in 668 post(s)
Updated. Now you can use: dislin.surfun(), dislin.surfcp().

DISLIN. Example 4.sm (87kb) downloaded 104 time(s).
DISLIN. Example 4.pdf (234kb) downloaded 127 time(s).

DISLIN. Example 5.sm (120kb) downloaded 96 time(s).
DISLIN. Example 5.pdf (431kb) downloaded 113 time(s).

DISLIN. Example 6.sm (203kb) downloaded 113 time(s).
DISLIN. Example 6.pdf (658kb) downloaded 173 time(s).

Edited by user 17 March 2016 22:29:11(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
thanks 3 users thanked uni for this useful post.
on 17/03/2016(UTC),  on 17/03/2016(UTC),  on 17/03/2016(UTC)
Offline Jean Giraud  
#31 Posted : 18 March 2016 06:59:45(UTC)
Jean Giraud

Rank: Guest

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 6,135
Canada

Was thanked: 895 time(s) in 723 post(s)
Originally Posted by: ioan92 Go to Quoted Post
Thanks! More than nice!


Very nice if you know no better. So many pages long before
collapse/open/collapse/open ... That function plots in
less that 10 seconds in Mathcad 11 and earlier, and you can
copy to clipboard, have it on any background color and instant
contour ++++ no sweat.

Jean

Offline frapuano  
#32 Posted : 18 March 2016 09:32:22(UTC)
frapuano


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 01/08/2010(UTC)
Posts: 115
Man
Italy
Location: Rome

Was thanked: 13 time(s) in 13 post(s)
I guess that Uni is tying to develop a more friendly interface to access the DSLIN features after getting more confidence with the tons of functions DSLIN is built upon.

Best regards

Franco
Offline uni  
#33 Posted : 18 March 2016 19:56:12(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,324
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1157 time(s) in 668 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Alex.M Go to Quoted Post
Hi All,

I would love to make the Image Region handle DISLIN properly, however I was not able to come up with a fix myself.

From what I understood, the SVG engine (https://svg.codeplex.com/) has trouble reading Height/Width of the .svg produced by DISLIN. If any of you guys need the functionality enough to investigate and come up with a solution I would love to implement it in the code of the Image Region.


The svg file doesn't contain viewBox attribute. The ImageRegion plugin could check its availability and if it is not, then add your own:

Code:
<svg width="100%" height="100%" viewBox="0 0 800 800" xmlns="http://www.w3.org/2000/svg">

Edited by user 18 March 2016 20:00:13(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
thanks 2 users thanked uni for this useful post.
on 18/03/2016(UTC),  on 18/03/2016(UTC)
Offline Alex M.  
#34 Posted : 29 March 2016 06:26:32(UTC)
Alex M.


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 03/03/2014(UTC)
Posts: 409
Canada

Was thanked: 119 time(s) in 92 post(s)
Originally Posted by: uni Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Alex.M Go to Quoted Post
Hi All,

I would love to make the Image Region handle DISLIN properly, however I was not able to come up with a fix myself.

From what I understood, the SVG engine (https://svg.codeplex.com/) has trouble reading Height/Width of the .svg produced by DISLIN. If any of you guys need the functionality enough to investigate and come up with a solution I would love to implement it in the code of the Image Region.


The svg file doesn't contain viewBox attribute. The ImageRegion plugin could check its availability and if it is not, then add your own:

Code:
<svg width="100%" height="100%" viewBox="0 0 800 800" xmlns="http://www.w3.org/2000/svg">


After many-many attempts (I have literally spent good 6 hours to fix display of DISLIN svg) I have found the "correct" way of fixing the missing viewport parameter.

Plugin was updated.

Code:


if (SVGdoc.OwnerDocument.ViewBox.Width == 0 || SVGdoc.OwnerDocument.ViewBox.Height == 0)
                    {
                        SVGdoc.Height = 1;
                        SVGdoc.Width = 1;
                        SVGdoc.Height = SVGdoc.Height.ToPercentage();
                        SVGdoc.Width = SVGdoc.Width.ToPercentage();

                        SVGdoc.OwnerDocument.ViewBox = new SvgViewBox(SVGdoc.OwnerDocument.Bounds.Left, SVGdoc.OwnerDocument.Bounds.Top, Convert.ToInt32(SVGdoc.OwnerDocument.GetDimensions().Width), Convert.ToInt32(SVGdoc.OwnerDocument.GetDimensions().Height));
                        SVGdoc.Height = Convert.ToInt32(SVGdoc.OwnerDocument.GetDimensions().Height);
                        SVGdoc.Width = Convert.ToInt32(SVGdoc.OwnerDocument.GetDimensions().Width);
                    }


Seems like an extremely simple piece of code now... Doesn't it always.
thanks 1 user thanked Alex M. for this useful post.
on 29/03/2016(UTC)
Offline uni  
#35 Posted : 29 March 2016 07:04:53(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,324
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1157 time(s) in 668 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Alex.M Go to Quoted Post
After many-many attempts (I have literally spent good 6 hours to fix display of DISLIN svg) I have found the "correct" way of fixing the missing viewport parameter.

Plugin was updated.

Yes, it works. Welcome aboard.

Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
Offline Alex M.  
#36 Posted : 03 April 2016 18:52:34(UTC)
Alex M.


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 03/03/2014(UTC)
Posts: 409
Canada

Was thanked: 119 time(s) in 92 post(s)
Hi All,

What is the most encompassing example do you guys have on using DISLIN for 2D plots?

I need to plot a set of straight lines and single points (up to a 100 or so, each is a separate dataset) and am looking for:

- setting the color of each single line
- setting the line type / weight of each single line
- adding a label to each single line
- adding a label to each single point
- precisely manipulating the height / width / position of plot area (independently of the size of the resulting SVG
- adding legend
- adding grid lines


I am aware that a few of the points above are covered by sine/cosine plot from earlier... I am just looking for the most all-encompassing example you guys have.

Thanks!

Edited by user 03 April 2016 18:56:15(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline Jean Giraud  
#37 Posted : 04 April 2016 01:11:16(UTC)
Jean Giraud

Rank: Guest

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 6,135
Canada

Was thanked: 895 time(s) in 723 post(s)
I'm just instrumenting a filtrate bin, rough work.

Jean

Forum Filtrate Bin.gif
Offline Alex M.  
#38 Posted : 04 April 2016 02:14:46(UTC)
Alex M.


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 03/03/2014(UTC)
Posts: 409
Canada

Was thanked: 119 time(s) in 92 post(s)
As usual, a picture is worth a hudred words... This is what I would like to get at the end (excluding background graphics), without using EXCEL of course. Each node and line is a separate function.
stPLOT.png

Edited by user 04 April 2016 02:19:51(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline Jean Giraud  
#39 Posted : 04 April 2016 17:01:36(UTC)
Jean Giraud

Rank: Guest

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 6,135
Canada

Was thanked: 895 time(s) in 723 post(s)
Thanks Viacheslav,

I start getting pregnant.
Somewhat long coding before the bird flies out of the nest.

Salut Ioan and all Collabs

" Le petit pain est dans le four " [bread is cooking]
Offline Alex M.  
#40 Posted : 04 April 2016 17:54:25(UTC)
Alex M.


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 03/03/2014(UTC)
Posts: 409
Canada

Was thanked: 119 time(s) in 92 post(s)
Jean, on a side note, what is your comment on a quality of DISLIN generated plots?

It is foreseeable that at some point the plugin might become more user friendly, with many settings handled by its own, stand alone, region.. if the end result is worth the effort.
Users browsing this topic
3 Pages<123>
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.