Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages12>
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#1 Posted : 17 July 2010 17:32:58(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,356
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1567 time(s) in 525 post(s)
Hello all!

Next version of SMath Studio will have an ability to work with formatted text. It will support text options like bold, italic, underline and custom fonts.


Unfortunately I have no chance to implement any user interface to manage text format for now, but I can use standard keystrokes:
  1. Ctrl+B - to make text bold
  2. Ctrl+I - to make text italic
  3. Ctrl+U - to make text underlined

Problem is that Ctrl+U is a keystroke to open Insert Unit Dialog (we have it in SMath Studio 0.88 and Mathcad). Is it OK if I will change Unit Dialog hot key to Ctrl+W?

P.S.: Insert Function Dialog can be shown using Ctrl+E.

Regards.

Edited by user 17 July 2010 17:43:28(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline maweilian  
#2 Posted : 19 July 2010 19:23:06(UTC)
maweilian


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 09/01/2010(UTC)
Posts: 102
Man
United States
Location: Oregon, USA

Was thanked: 5 time(s) in 5 post(s)
This improvement is much needed! Great work, Andrey!
Will Massie
Mechanical Engineer
Oregon, USA
Offline sorlum  
#3 Posted : 30 July 2010 13:27:27(UTC)
sorlum

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 25/03/2010(UTC)
Posts: 3
Location: Switzerland

The text formatting is really great - just one question:

How do I change the font in 0.89? I see that you announce it here, but it isn't clear to me how to get arial for example.
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#4 Posted : 30 July 2010 13:41:40(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,356
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1567 time(s) in 525 post(s)
As I've mentioned above SMath Studio has no any user interface for changing text formatting. Unfortunately there is no any way within a program to change a font. But you can use a small trick:
1) Create a worksheet;
2) Create a text region;
3) Save created content as a *.sm file;
4) Open created file with a Notepad or any other simple text editor;
5) Find lines like:
Code:
  <region id="1" left="198" top="297" width="83" height="27" color="#000000" background-color="#ffffff" font-size="12">
    <text lang="rus">
      <p>My test text</p>
    </text>
  </region>

6) Change it to:
Code:
  <region id="1" left="198" top="297" width="83" height="27" color="#000000" background-color="#ffffff" font-size="12">
    <text lang="rus">
      <p font-name="Arial">My test text</p>
    </text>
  </region>

(see <p font-name="Arial">My test text</p> line)
7) Save changes in text editor;
8) Open the result file with SMath Studio.

Hope it will help you.

Regards.
Offline sorlum  
#5 Posted : 02 August 2010 14:32:06(UTC)
sorlum

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 25/03/2010(UTC)
Posts: 3
Location: Switzerland

Thank you,

I used a search replace for all the <p[space] and then all the <p> and it seems to work.

It's a bit long, but at least it is possible Good

Again - Thank you and great work.



Offline John at the Waterfalls  
#6 Posted : 02 January 2011 08:32:51(UTC)
John at the Waterfalls


Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 30/12/2010(UTC)
Posts: 16
Location: Northern Adirondacks

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Copy and Paste Text from MathCad to SMath

I am currently using my recently purchased MathCad 15 alongside SMath to document a project I am working on. I don't need to do complex calculations, just keep track of the numerous simple calculations. So today I spent a large amount of time typing up my results.

I typed my documentation into MathCad and when I was finished, copied and pasted into SMath. Formatting does not carry through a copy and paste into SMath. SMath does not do word wrap in the text boxes yet and I had to manually insert all the carriage returns with Shift-Return. I have 4 pages of text and in some areas, the whole page unexplainedly jumped around and I lost the area I was working on. The answer may be to copy from MC into a text editor or RTF editor, insert line breaks and then copy and paste into SMath. Funny things also happen depending on whether you copy the text box from MC or highlight and copy the text.

Tomorrow I will do all my writing in SSMath, and then copy and paste into MC, letting MC do the word-wrap and touching up with the mouse and formatting buttons.

Of note; Mathcad does not even use shortcut keys for Bold Underline and Italics. You have to use your mouse! What a joke for the price they charge.

SMath format shortcut keys only highlight the whole text block. You can nott just highlight the header and Ctl-B to make the header bold. The whole block becomes bold. I don't have time to edit the formatting code. I will patiently wait until the next version of SMath comes out. My work is documented. I'm happy. Good

I'm sure this post will eventually become irrelevant as SMath progresses.

Offline cneily  
#7 Posted : 01 March 2011 01:47:12(UTC)
cneily

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 01/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 5
Location: Allston MA, USA

Question: Will these fonts be active for mathematical expressions, or just in text regions as text. In other words, will I be able to set vector-valued quantities in boldface in my calculations?
Clark N.

Edited by user 01 March 2011 01:59:27(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#8 Posted : 01 March 2011 21:34:28(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,356
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1567 time(s) in 525 post(s)
Hello.

No, there are no such formatting abilities for the math expression.
Offline cneily  
#9 Posted : 01 March 2011 22:04:37(UTC)
cneily

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 01/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 5
Location: Allston MA, USA

I would respectfully offer the opinion that font choices for variables and parameters in calculations are a much more important feature than font choices in text. Calculations become much more readable and easy to follow if it is clear which items are vectors, or matrices, for example, and which scalars. This is one of the principal advantages of MathCad. I would like to post some example worksheets that illustrate this point, if possible.
Offline omorr  
#10 Posted : 01 March 2011 23:43:19(UTC)
omorr


Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 23/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,698
Man
Serbia

Was thanked: 300 time(s) in 257 post(s)
Welcome back Andrey Good
smath wrote:
Hello.

No, there are no such formatting abilities for the math expression.

There were no posts from you for a while and we were quite woried about it. I hope everything is going well Good

Best Regrads,
Radovan
When Sisyphus climbed to the top of a hill, they said: "Wrong boulder!"
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#11 Posted : 06 March 2011 15:45:32(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,356
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1567 time(s) in 525 post(s)
Привет Radovan!

omorr wrote:
There were no posts from you for a while and we were quite woried about it. I hope everything is going well Good

Yeah, but I'm still very busy. Anyway I'll be back to the project in couple of months to continue SMath Studio development.

Regards.
thanks 2 users thanked Andrey Ivashov for this useful post.
on 06/03/2011(UTC),  on 07/03/2011(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#12 Posted : 19 February 2013 00:51:11(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,182
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1102 time(s) in 723 post(s)
A sheet containing some text area with various font-families to use in your own scripts (copy from this sheet, paste in your sheets and modify the area).


best regards,

w3b5urf3r

Edited by user 19 February 2013 00:53:15(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

File Attachment(s):
The quick brown fox.sm (10kb) downloaded 364 time(s).
Davide Carpi attached the following image(s):
SMath Studio - [The quick brown fox.sm].png
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 1 user thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 01/03/2014(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#13 Posted : 01 March 2014 18:55:30(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,182
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1102 time(s) in 723 post(s)
Originally Posted by: w3b5urf3r_reloaded Go to Quoted Post
A sheet containing some text area with various font-families to use in your own scripts (copy from this sheet, paste in your sheets and modify the area).


Uploaded in the Extensions Manager (Examples)


Best regards,

Davide
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline natezimmer  
#14 Posted : 01 March 2014 20:35:49(UTC)
natezimmer

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 25/04/2013(UTC)
Posts: 8
United States

Is it possible or has anyone implemented a plugin for a text toolbar?
Offline Davide Carpi  
#15 Posted : 01 March 2014 21:07:56(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,182
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1102 time(s) in 723 post(s)
Originally Posted by: natezimmer Go to Quoted Post
Is it possible or has anyone implemented a plugin for a text toolbar?


Partially, yes.... not a toolbar but I'm working to another solution on the existing text region...

Edited by user 01 March 2014 21:21:47(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 1 user thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 01/03/2014(UTC)
Offline blarg  
#16 Posted : 16 April 2014 23:38:45(UTC)
blarg

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/11/2013(UTC)
Posts: 6

Any chance a donation of some size could get us a toolbar that would allow us to easily change to these fonts? =D

Originally Posted by: smath Go to Quoted Post
Hello all!

Next version of SMath Studio will have an ability to work with formatted text. It will support text options like bold, italic, underline and custom fonts.


Unfortunately I have no chance to implement any user interface to manage text format for now, but I can use standard keystrokes:
  1. Ctrl+B - to make text bold
  2. Ctrl+I - to make text italic
  3. Ctrl+U - to make text underlined

Problem is that Ctrl+U is a keystroke to open Insert Unit Dialog (we have it in SMath Studio 0.88 and Mathcad). Is it OK if I will change Unit Dialog hot key to Ctrl+W?

P.S.: Insert Function Dialog can be shown using Ctrl+E.

Regards.
Offline Davide Carpi  
#17 Posted : 26 September 2014 20:54:17(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,182
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1102 time(s) in 723 post(s)
Originally Posted by: blarg Go to Quoted Post
Any chance a donation of some size could get us a toolbar that would allow us to easily change to these fonts?


Trust me, the toolbar is the minor of the issues Laugh wild

BTW working to the SectionRegions plugin, I'm making an easy-to-use WriterRegion, and I've also produced a (back-end) customizable toolstrip to drive the text settings (as for now, the toolbar is just a toy).

Edited by user 08 October 2014 04:10:59(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Davide Carpi attached the following image(s):
2014-09-26 19_51_24-SMath Studio Desktop - [texttest.sm].png
2014-09-26 19_52_51-SMath Studio Desktop - [texttest.sm].png
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 1 user thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 26/09/2014(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#18 Posted : 08 October 2014 19:37:01(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,182
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1102 time(s) in 723 post(s)
A screenshot... will be relased as WriterRegion (when will be stable and complete enough).
Davide Carpi attached the following image(s):
test.png
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 6 users thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 08/10/2014(UTC),  on 08/10/2014(UTC),  on 08/10/2014(UTC),  on 09/10/2014(UTC),  on 11/10/2014(UTC),  on 04/01/2015(UTC)
Offline hitaisin  
#19 Posted : 04 January 2015 10:36:33(UTC)
hitaisin

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 09/01/2013(UTC)
Posts: 9

Hello!

Any news about WriterRegion?

Can I change default font in application? I want to use Arial as default font.
Offline Davide Carpi  
#20 Posted : 04 January 2015 21:15:46(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,182
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1102 time(s) in 723 post(s)
Originally Posted by: hitaisin Go to Quoted Post
Hello!

Any news about WriterRegion?


Hello hitaisin Good

The plugin is still under development. I have to change an important piece of code to improve performances and to support text wrapping, and then I have to ask Andrey about History handling because the code doesn't work as expected. After this, the plugin will be published.


Originally Posted by: hitaisin Go to Quoted Post
Can I change default font in application? I want to use Arial as default font.


You can change the font family of text regions with another plugin (Text Region Utilities), but you can't set a default font to use everytimes.


Wishes of an happy new year to the whole SMath community Happy

Davide

Edited by user 04 January 2015 21:20:07(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 1 user thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 05/01/2015(UTC)
Users browsing this topic
2 Pages12>
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.