Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages12>
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Davide Carpi  
#1 Posted : 03 May 2014 19:23:15(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,208
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1115 time(s) in 729 post(s)
  • extension's page: http://smath.info/view/ComboBoxList
  • requirements (latest update): SMath Studio 0.98;
  • installation: SMath Studio: Tools > Plugins... > Online Gallery;
  • documentation: see attachment or Activebook;
  • sources: SVN repository;
  • UI languages: English;
  • Main features:
    • Selection/Navigation: mouse click, return key, mouse wheel, + and - keys, goto by leading characters (text and math);
    • Settings: double-click over the selected item (in the header or in the drop-down list) / context menu item;
    • Input: any vector/matrix/system of any size;
    • Output: place a variable in the region placeholder;
    • Size driven by the values (manual resize not allowed);
    • Adds the same controls in SMath Viewer;



>>> PLEASE REPORT IN THIS TOPIC ANY ISSUE, MORE DETAILED AS POSSIBLE <<<


Edited by user 30 March 2018 13:51:40(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

File Attachment(s):
ComboBoxList - examples.sm (19kb) downloaded 357 time(s).
Davide Carpi attached the following image(s):
2014-05-04 21_05_55-SMath Studio Desktop - [ComboBoxList - examples.sm_].png
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 3 users thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 03/05/2014(UTC),  on 03/05/2014(UTC),  on 03/05/2014(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#2 Posted : 03 May 2014 19:58:47(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,208
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1115 time(s) in 729 post(s)
last-minute fix for "goto by leading characters" uploaded (typing characters on collapsed drop-down list now expands the list).
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 1 user thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 03/05/2014(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#3 Posted : 04 July 2014 13:36:54(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,208
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1115 time(s) in 729 post(s)
Originally Posted by: ioan92 Go to Quoted Post
It seems that the control width is not adapting to the control content width.


Thank you Ioan, confirmed (even if needs more investigation, because I can't reproduce it every time...). I'll fix it ASAP.

A small workaround to adjust the size and to avoid the freeze of the canvas is to minimize and then restore the Smath window.


Best regards,

Davide
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 1 user thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 04/07/2014(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#4 Posted : 04 July 2014 20:52:30(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,208
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1115 time(s) in 729 post(s)
Fixed (collateral effects of API changes, nothing serious)

RC: SMath Studio 0.97.5301
- Code updated to fit recent API changes;
- Fixed sizes calculation logic to allow clicks even when the region becomes wider;
- [DEV] Removed OnKeyPress global hook;
- Password option is no more available, so from now the plugin is marked as Beta.


Best regards,

Davide

Edited by user 07 July 2014 00:40:47(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 1 user thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 04/07/2014(UTC)
Offline mkraska  
#5 Posted : 06 August 2014 12:34:45(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,511
Germany

Was thanked: 801 time(s) in 514 post(s)
As stated in this post, I do not experience the problems reported SMath 0.97.5329 download topic. The attached files all run without problems and I can access all controls without crash.
File Attachment(s):
Bedienelemente.sm (14kb) downloaded 166 time(s).
Plugin Slider Region.sm (16kb) downloaded 91 time(s).
mkraska attached the following image(s):
controls.PNG
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
thanks 1 user thanked mkraska for this useful post.
on 06/08/2014(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#6 Posted : 06 August 2014 12:48:27(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,208
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1115 time(s) in 729 post(s)
Thank you Martin Good

I don't know where is the difference (on my machine the error shown in the previous screenshot was made yesterday on the desktiop distribution and today with your portable distribution - both with the second-last version of the plugin)

Just to have a complete debug, you can see the dynamic preview when you change the input variable from the ComboBoxList region? I have issues both with the last and the second-last plugins.

Thanks in advance,

Davide

Edited by user 06 August 2014 12:55:20(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline mkraska  
#7 Posted : 06 August 2014 13:13:26(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,511
Germany

Was thanked: 801 time(s) in 514 post(s)
Originally Posted by: w3b5urf3r_reloaded Go to Quoted Post
Thank you Martin Good

I don't know where is the difference (on my machine the error shown in the previous screenshot was made yesterday on the desktiop distribution and today with your portable distribution - both with the second-last version of the plugin)

Just to have a complete debug, you can see the dynamic preview when you change the input variable from the ComboBoxList region? I have issues both with the last and the second-last plugins.

Thanks in advance,

Davide

The portable version seems to contain the version 0.97.5327 (release candidate), this is going to be corrected . But anyways, So far, I tried 0.97.5327 and 0.97.5329 with and without updated control regions and do not get a crash at all.

I am not sure what you mean by changing the input variable. Should I replace c by something else? The screenshots are with latest SMath and latest plugins.
mkraska attached the following image(s):
controls1.PNG
controls2.PNG
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
thanks 1 user thanked mkraska for this useful post.
on 06/08/2014(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#8 Posted : 06 August 2014 13:15:24(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,208
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1115 time(s) in 729 post(s)
I mean changing the value of the "Source" parameter in the form Good
Davide Carpi attached the following image(s):
2014-08-06 12_15_45-SMath Studio Desktop - [test.sm_].png
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline mkraska  
#9 Posted : 06 August 2014 13:36:19(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,511
Germany

Was thanked: 801 time(s) in 514 post(s)
I defined another matrix d, switched the input to it and don't see any problem.
mkraska attached the following image(s):
controls3.PNG
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
thanks 1 user thanked mkraska for this useful post.
on 06/08/2014(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#10 Posted : 06 August 2014 14:56:46(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,208
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1115 time(s) in 729 post(s)
Originally Posted by: mkraska Go to Quoted Post
I defined another matrix d, switched the input to it and don't see any problem.


This is good, in one hand. Good

In the other hand, like Ioan, I have noticed issues on evaluations (trigggered twice, not triggered, triggered correctly...) both on the desktop and the portable distributions.

screencasts: evaluation triggered twice , evaluation not triggered

I have Win 7 x64 (home premium) and your same framework (2.0.50727.5477) but the behaviors is not the same (both on the desktop and the portable distributions). Wallbash

Edited by user 06 August 2014 15:20:09(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 1 user thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 06/08/2014(UTC)
Offline mkraska  
#11 Posted : 06 August 2014 16:12:01(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,511
Germany

Was thanked: 801 time(s) in 514 post(s)
Originally Posted by: ioan92 Go to Quoted Post
* after recent Davide's plugins rebuilt in the context of the SMath 0.97.5329, I have no more execution crashes;
* in the new version, after each event (click or change) on a ComboBoxList, the recalculation of the file is triggered; append is a test file; is this behavior general or machine dependent ?

Observed behaviour for Ioan's file (no difference between old and new plugin version)
- I had no crashes
- I get a re-calculation only and reproducible
- when I change the value (e.g. using mouse wheel and then leave the region (mousewheel action alone does not trigger recalc)
- when I change the value by clicking.


This seems reasonable behaviour to me.
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
thanks 1 user thanked mkraska for this useful post.
on 06/08/2014(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#12 Posted : 06 August 2014 17:14:26(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,208
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1115 time(s) in 729 post(s)
Well, maybe a day we will see a targeted recalculation (just on regions related with changed values) Good
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 1 user thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 06/08/2014(UTC)
Offline mkraska  
#13 Posted : 06 August 2014 17:20:46(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,511
Germany

Was thanked: 801 time(s) in 514 post(s)
Originally Posted by: ioan92 Go to Quoted Post

The only aspect that I do not agree in your evaluation is issued from the "axiom" that: the calculation of a page must start only:
* automatically, when this option is selected;
* by explicit user command from menu.

Other reasons (control click or control change events) to start of the calculations are not normals and are annoying Sad , especially when working with big files.

Ioan,

I agree, that the control regions should obey the setting of the automatic re-calculation toggle (I normally have this "on" ). And in fact, at least the radiobutton list region does not care about the setting, even though it has a display flag which reflects the current re-calculate setting in the upper right corner.

If auto recalc is on, then I prefer getting immediate action upon changed values, e.g. if the values drive some graphics, as in my slider example. I'd vote for keeping it this way.

The bug is then that the recalc setting is not obeyed (which I can reproduce). Fixing that should help with your problem.
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
thanks 1 user thanked mkraska for this useful post.
on 06/08/2014(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#14 Posted : 07 August 2014 17:24:36(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,208
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1115 time(s) in 729 post(s)
Here there are different things...

1) Recalculations (evaluations) does not obey "Auto calculation" settings

-> this can be fixed by me with a little bit different design of the plugins, or by Andrey, with a different handling of RequestForEvaluation. Actually I have no ideas about what is the best way (except that I think that if I want to trigger an evaluation, this should be possible), but is not a problem for me to make the fix from the plugin side.

2) Exceptions on opening settings' form.

-> Martin does not experience this issue at all, I have this issues since SMath 0.97.5327 (tested with portable version made from linux package), and this is experienced also by Ioan. This was fixed recompiling the plugins, but the different behavior is really strange.
I've made a clean installation of SMath, used portable versions, used the .NET framework fix tool but nothing changes; I'm not sure if the broken verions are those where the errors are not shown or those where the errors are experienced. Crazy

3) Multiple recalculations (evaluation triggered twice)

-> Here seems (correct me if I'm wrong) that here are different behaviors on the machines. Martin does not experience this issue at all, Ioan every times with several plugins (see attachments and comments of SS-192), and me just sometimes (not in my test file but in the Ioan file just with this plugin).

4) No recalculation ( using ( ... CreateTransaction() ) not triggered)

-> This can be seen changing the data source of the region; if the region is updated without closing the form it works, otherwise is broken. This is not experienced at all by Martin, I experience this since SMath 0.97.5327 (again tested on portable version)


Wacko

P.S. the test on the 0.97.5327 was made just today, previously I have not made deep testings on that version

Edited by user 07 August 2014 17:47:41(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 1 user thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 07/08/2014(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#15 Posted : 07 August 2014 20:03:22(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,208
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1115 time(s) in 729 post(s)
Originally Posted by: w3b5urf3r_reloaded Go to Quoted Post
Here there are different things...

1) Recalculations (evaluations) does not obey "Auto calculation" settings

-> this can be fixed by me with a little bit different design of the plugins, or by Andrey, with a different handling of RequestForEvaluation. Actually I have no ideas about what is the best way (except that I think that if I want to trigger an evaluation, this should be possible), but is not a problem for me to make the fix from the plugin side.

2) Exceptions on opening settings' form.

-> Martin does not experience this issue at all, I have this issues since SMath 0.97.5327 (tested with portable version made from linux package), and this is experienced also by Ioan. This was fixed recompiling the plugins, but the different behavior is really strange.
I've made a clean installation of SMath, used portable versions, used the .NET framework fix tool but nothing changes; I'm not sure if the broken verions are those where the errors are not shown or those where the errors are experienced. Crazy

3) Multiple recalculations (evaluation triggered twice)

-> Here seems (correct me if I'm wrong) that here are different behaviors on the machines. Martin does not experience this issue at all, Ioan every times with several plugins (see attachments and comments of SS-192), and me just sometimes (not in my test file but in the Ioan file just with this plugin).

4) No recalculation ( using ( ... CreateTransaction() ) not triggered)

-> This can be seen changing the data source of the region; if the region is updated without closing the form it works, otherwise is broken. This is not experienced at all by Martin, I experience this since SMath 0.97.5327 (again tested on portable version)


Wacko

P.S. the test on the 0.97.5327 was made just today, previously I have not made deep testings on that version


Point 1 done by plugin design. No more evaluations if AutoRecalc is disabled.

I can do something also for the 4th point but requires more efforts (and will be just a workaround). Points 3 and behavior differences are in the fog, I don't understand where is the issue. Nea

Edited by user 07 August 2014 20:34:41(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#16 Posted : 08 August 2014 02:15:01(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,382
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1618 time(s) in 542 post(s)
Thank you! I will take a look at this issue.
thanks 2 users thanked Andrey Ivashov for this useful post.
on 08/08/2014(UTC),  on 08/08/2014(UTC)
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#17 Posted : 08 August 2014 02:15:02(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,382
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1618 time(s) in 542 post(s)
Thank you! I will take a look at this issue.
thanks 1 user thanked Andrey Ivashov for this useful post.
on 08/08/2014(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#18 Posted : 13 February 2016 16:25:47(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,208
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1115 time(s) in 729 post(s)
PLUGIN UPDATED SMath Studio 0.97.5346 and SMath Studio 0.97.5737

- Added Undo/Redo support;
- Plugins compiled for both the SS versions (no more crashes in SMath Studio 0.97.5346)
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline ecki91  
#19 Posted : 09 March 2016 02:28:39(UTC)
ecki91

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/03/2016(UTC)
Posts: 3
Germany
Location: Berlin

hello guys!
dear Davide Carpi,

as I've been using your very util plugin during
my tesis for the calculation of wooden joints,
I found out about a problem concerning the combined
use along with the Viewer.

It seems to me the once the Viewer loaded the file, all
the settings about the input variables for the comboboxList
are made. In the case, like you see in the example-pictures,
of multiple lists depending on their selection to decide
about the next-ones input, it comes to dificulties concerning
the update process.
The problem still consists with the newest version of SMath.

Is there a way to fix this problem?
I'd be glad aboud any advice of solution!
Thanks a lot!

Greetings,

Eckhard Bräuchler



Offline Davide Carpi  
#20 Posted : 09 March 2016 13:57:22(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,208
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1115 time(s) in 729 post(s)
Confirmed, I'll provide a fix ASAP.

Edited by moderator 09 March 2016 15:17:27(UTC)  | Reason: I deleted the post Davide requested (omorr).

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Users browsing this topic
2 Pages12>
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.