Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Raymond Reddington  
#1 Posted : 24 January 2023 15:59:51(UTC)
Raymond Reddington

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 24/01/2023(UTC)
Posts: 4
Germany
Location: South

Dear all,

I've tried to run SMath (latest stable) on Ubuntu 22.10, but it crashed. The AppImage gives me some errors in the shell, whereas the Mono Version leaves me with a coredump-file. Below I post some information on my system. Please, can anyone provide me some advice on how to get smath up and runnning, sinc eI want to use it natively on linucx, avoid running it in a virtual windows machine!

Kind Regards
George

# ldd --version
ldd (Ubuntu GLIBC 2.36-0ubuntu4) 2.36

# cat /etc/lsb-release
DISTRIB_ID=Ubuntu
DISTRIB_RELEASE=22.10
DISTRIB_CODENAME=kinetic
DISTRIB_DESCRIPTION="Ubuntu 22.10"

# mono --version
Mono JIT compiler version 6.8.0.105 (Debian 6.8.0.105+dfsg-3.2 Wed Jun 30 05:34:49 UTC 2021)
Copyright (C) 2002-2014 Novell, Inc, Xamarin Inc and Contributors. www.mono-project.com
TLS: __thread
SIGSEGV: altstack
Notifications: epoll
Architecture: amd64
Disabled: none
Misc: softdebug
Interpreter: yes
LLVM: supported, not enabled.
Suspend: hybrid
GC: sgen (concurrent by default)

Offline overlord  
#2 Posted : 24 January 2023 19:00:31(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 900
Turkey

Was thanked: 359 time(s) in 240 post(s)
Try to run with sudo.

Some mono programs, while nothing wrong with their code, don't run under debian based distros.

Actually they run without sudo, but you have to try a lot of times. When will it run, just pure coincidence.
There is no pattern to pinpoint the problem.

Regards
Offline Raymond Reddington  
#3 Posted : 24 January 2023 19:11:32(UTC)
Raymond Reddington

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 24/01/2023(UTC)
Posts: 4
Germany
Location: South

Thanks a lot @overlord!

Indeed, "sudo ./smathstudio_desktop_mono" did the job, but I'm wondering why? Is there any ressource I have to grant access for the user? Running smath as SU is a workaroung, but I would appreciate running it as normal user. Please, could you provide more information on "what" is the show-stopper here?

Kind Regards
George
Offline overlord  
#4 Posted : 24 January 2023 19:21:51(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 900
Turkey

Was thanked: 359 time(s) in 240 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Raymond Reddington Go to Quoted Post
Please, could you provide more information on "what" is the show-stopper here?

Unfortunately, it is the distro itself.
A broken X library to be particular.
All debian based distros suffer from this.
And it is not unique for SMath also.

A link to a thread for further examination

Regards
Offline Raymond Reddington  
#5 Posted : 25 January 2023 15:26:21(UTC)
Raymond Reddington

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 24/01/2023(UTC)
Posts: 4
Germany
Location: South

Ok, since I cannot figure out the problem with "broken mono package" or "permissions", I proceed with a workaround, that does the job - at least for me Wink

First I create a Dockerfile that contains...
Quote:
# START FROM FEDORA 37
#
FROM fedora:37
RUN echo "root:something!" | chpasswd
RUN yum -y update
RUN yum -y install mono-devel util-linux
RUN mkdir /opt/smath
USER root
#
# EOF

and create an image using
Quote:
docker build -t smath:2023 .


On the host machine I installed the smath-mono package at '/opt/smath' and I start the docker container using
Quote:
docker container run -ti \
--rm \
-v /opt/smath/:/opt/smath \
-v $HOME/:/root \
-w /root \
--net=host \
--env="DISPLAY" \
--volume="$HOME/.Xauthority:/root/.Xauthority:rw" \
smath:2023


Starting smath inside the container using 'cd /opt/smath && ./smathstudio_desktop_mono' does the job Clap

Hope that helps! Maybe there will be a "real" solution for the mono-package in the near future.

Cheers,
George

PS: I'm just missing one thing... inside the container I have no access to my printers, thus I cannot generate a PDF, but I'm sure I will find a solution for this also!
Offline Raymond Reddington  
#6 Posted : 25 January 2023 16:38:38(UTC)
Raymond Reddington

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 24/01/2023(UTC)
Posts: 4
Germany
Location: South

Ok, printing issue resolved by installing also cups cups-filters and cups-pdf inside the container. This enables me to use the printers of the host system!

However, I encounter some graphic problems, i.e. start writing to a new smath document, the page gets "blanked" out (completely white) after a few keystrokes. In addition, Sometimes the menus of the GUI are then transparent!?

Any idea what is the reason for that?


UPDATE: ok, I found, that the problem only occurs as soon as I type a whitespace, e.g. a string like "aaaaaaa bbbb". As soon as I type the first "b" following the whitespace, the text field is "blanked". In addition, if I left-click on the background, the whole page is "blanked". When I use "Undo" to reverse what I did, the "blanked" area and text field disappears, and the page is readable again.

Edited by user 26 January 2023 18:36:13(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline overlord  
#7 Posted : 26 January 2023 18:38:54(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 900
Turkey

Was thanked: 359 time(s) in 240 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Raymond Reddington Go to Quoted Post
As soon as I type the first "b" following the whitespace, the text field is "blanked". In addition, if I left-click on the background, the whole page is "blanked".

Is it possible that your region or smath file has been written with fonts not included in your system?
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.