Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages12>
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#1 Posted : 09 November 2022 19:43:59(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,603
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1971 time(s) in 661 post(s)

New Stable SMath Studio 1.0.8348 is available!

Tiny, but powerful mathematical program with WYSIWYG editor and complete units of measurements support.

It provides numerous computing features and rich user interface translated into about 40 different languages. Application also contains integrated mathematical reference book.

SMath Studio boxCalculation of Gravitation Acceleration exampleExample of animation on the WorksheetExtensions Manager toolOpened math Reference BookSMath Viewer output to Autocad exampleSMath Studio on iOSSMath Studio on iPad

Application can be easily extended based on your needs. Built-in Extensions Manager tool allows to get access to hundreds official and third-party resources of the following types: usage examples, plug-ins, SMath Viewer based applications, snippets, interface translations, interactive books, handbooks and tutorials.

Changes introduced in current build

Improvements

  • Calculation engine improved to support inline evaluation of the function definitions - x:=2; f(x):=x^2=4;
  • Selected values of the Insert Matrix dialog is now stored during a session;
  • Cursor in the Math Region partially works as a selection (i.e. it is now possible to copy or use Solve menu without selection);
  • Dynamic Assistance feature improved - suggestions list item shown selected only if it is explicitely selected by user, otherwise shown highlighted.

Corrections

  • Issues with Dynamic Assistance feature fixed;
  • Indefinite integral visual representation fixed;
  • Critical issue fixed happened on file opening in case of specific issue in the worksheet.

Miscellaneous

  • Extensions Manager tool improved for better support of high DPI systems;
  • Default representation of if function reverted to three arguments (if-else);
  • Support for account password in console mode is corrected: instead of reading it via an option, it is read either from keyboard or from redirected input;
  • Account form improved to show activation mode and status;
  • XMCD plug-in removed from the standard installer;
  • Viewer options dialog size corrected for better UI;
  • Commercial features (like Viewer Pro, Automation/Integration features, etc.) made more separate in UI;
  • Support of different cultures improved;
  • Interface translations updated;
  • Refactoring.

Download

Software: SMathStudioDesktop.1_0_8348.x86_64.ubuntu-22_04.glibc2.35.AppImage (Date: 2022.11.09; File size: 12.45 MB) - 1150 downloads
Software: SMathStudioDesktop.1_0_8348.x86_64.astra-orel.glibc2.24.AppImage (Date: 2022.11.09; File size: 10 MB) - 180 downloads
Software icon SMathStudioDesktop.1_0_8348.Setup.msi (Date: 2022.11.09; File size: 3.13 MB) - 47662 downloads
Software icon SMathStudioDesktop.1_0_8348.Mono.tar.gz (Date: 2022.11.09; File size: 1.98 MB) - 4123 downloads
Software: SMathStudioAndroid.1_0_8348.x86_64.apk (Date: 2022.11.09; File size: 13.11 MB) - 86 downloads
Software: SMathStudioAndroid.1_0_8348.x86.apk (Date: 2022.11.09; File size: 13.66 MB) - 60 downloads
Software: SMathStudioAndroid.1_0_8348.armeabi-v7a.apk (Date: 2022.11.09; File size: 14.26 MB) - 137 downloads
Software: SMathStudioAndroid.1_0_8348.arm64-v8a.apk (Date: 2022.11.09; File size: 12.91 MB) - 228 downloads



System requirements

  • Desktop (Windows):
    Framework: .NET Framework 2.0 or higher
  • Desktop (Linux):
    Framework: Mono 2.0 (libmono-winforms-2.0-cil package) or higher


Interface languages (37 languages)

  • [ARA] Arabic / العربي
  • [BEL] Belarusian / Беларуская
  • [BUL] Bulgarian / Български
  • [CAT] Catalan / Català
  • [CHS] Chinese (Simplified) / 简体中文
  • [CHT] Chinese (Traditional) / 簡體中文
  • [CPP] Portuguese (Brazil) / Brazil (Português)
  • [CZE] Czech / Čeština
  • [DAN] Danish / Dansk
  • [DUT] Dutch / Nederlands
  • [ENG] English / English
  • [FAS] Persian / فارسی
  • [FIN] Finnish / Suomi
  • [FRE] French / Français
  • [GER] German / Deutsch
  • [GRE] Greek / Ελληνικά
  • [HEB] Hebrew / עברית
  • [HUN] Hungarian / Magyar
  • [IND] Indonesian / Bahasa Indonesia
  • [ITA] Italian / Italiano
  • [JPN] Japanese / 日本語
  • [KOR] Korean / 한국어
  • [LAV] Latvian / Latviešu
  • [LTH] Lithuanian / Lietuvių
  • [NOR] Norwegian / Norsk
  • [POL] Polish / Polski
  • [POR] Portuguese / Português
  • [RON] Romanian / Română
  • [RUS] Russian / Русский
  • [SCC] Serbian (Latin) / Srpski
  • [SCR] Croatian / Hrvatski
  • [SLK] Slovak / Slovenčina
  • [SPA] Spanish / Español
  • [SRP] Serbian (Cyrillic) / Српски
  • [SWE] Swedish / Svenska
  • [TUR] Turkish / Türkçe
  • [UKR] Ukrainian / Українська



Tutorial

SMath Studio tutorial by Bernard Liengme.
  • SMathPrimer.pdf (Date: 11.11.2011. File size: 2.06MB) - to open in Adobe Acrobat Reader

Introduction of the use of SMath Studio by Gilberto E. Urroz, Ph.D., P.E.


Other files

SMath Studio icons () of all available sizes (16x16, 24x24, 32x32, 48x48, 64x64, 96x96, 128x128, 256x256) in PNG format.
thanks 6 users thanked Andrey Ivashov for this useful post.
on 09/11/2022(UTC),  on 09/11/2022(UTC),  on 09/11/2022(UTC),  on 09/11/2022(UTC),  on 10/11/2022(UTC),  on 11/11/2022(UTC)
Offline Alex M.  
#2 Posted : 09 November 2022 20:28:49(UTC)
Alex M.


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 03/03/2014(UTC)
Posts: 414
Canada

Was thanked: 123 time(s) in 94 post(s)
Hello Andrey,

Could you let us know about changes regarding commercial use of software?

As of today, I get a watermark "not for commercial use" on the pdf prints.

Kind regards,

Alexander

SMathCommercialUse.png
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#3 Posted : 09 November 2022 21:10:46(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,603
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1971 time(s) in 661 post(s)
You just need to activate the program. It is free.
You can use online or offline activation as you wish.
Once it is done you''ll have no any watermarks or other restrictions.

Best regards.
thanks 2 users thanked Andrey Ivashov for this useful post.
on 09/11/2022(UTC),  on 10/11/2022(UTC)
Offline Alex M.  
#4 Posted : 09 November 2022 21:18:38(UTC)
Alex M.


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 03/03/2014(UTC)
Posts: 414
Canada

Was thanked: 123 time(s) in 94 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Andrey Ivashov Go to Quoted Post
You just need to activate the program. It is free.
You can use online or offline activation as you wish.
Once it is done you''ll have no any watermarks or other restrictions.

Best regards.


Thank you for clarifying,

Andrey


I will get my colleagues to activate the software
thanks 2 users thanked Alex M. for this useful post.
on 09/11/2022(UTC),  on 10/11/2022(UTC)
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#5 Posted : 09 November 2022 21:39:30(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,603
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1971 time(s) in 661 post(s)
Thank you!

I just want to add that this small requirement to activate SMath Studio is a huge step to make this software much more powerful in the nearest future.

Why? I will try to explain: I've created a company in Russia and we have a brilliant team of 3 programmers (strong in IT, math, physics). We were able to monetize a project and working hard to make our first clients happy (licensing server, courses, planning and features for companies). We are going to finish our current activities in a Month or two and then will start improve SMath Studio itself: new graphs, stable Writer, performance of the numeric/symbolic calculation engines, new files format (modern and stable) and much more - that is what we will do in 2023.

Hope you'll enjoy the results.
I just asking to activate a program for free! Nothing more...

Best regards, Andrey Ivashov.
thanks 9 users thanked Andrey Ivashov for this useful post.
on 09/11/2022(UTC),  on 09/11/2022(UTC),  on 10/11/2022(UTC),  on 10/11/2022(UTC),  on 10/11/2022(UTC),  on 10/11/2022(UTC),  on 10/11/2022(UTC),  on 10/11/2022(UTC),  on 20/12/2022(UTC)
Offline Imran  
#6 Posted : 10 November 2022 17:23:18(UTC)
Imran

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/11/2022(UTC)
Posts: 2
United States

I wanted to point out that the ComboBoxList Region Plug-in fails to load in the new version 1.0.8348.
Offline Davide Carpi  
#7 Posted : 10 November 2022 17:38:02(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,532
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1269 time(s) in 834 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Westin Go to Quoted Post
I wanted to point out that the ComboBoxList Region Plug-in fails to load in the new version 1.0.8348.


It works for me, however I've recompiled it right now for the latest stable build. Please update the plugin and let me know if it is solved.
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline overlord  
#8 Posted : 11 November 2022 05:46:37(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 900
Turkey

Was thanked: 358 time(s) in 239 post(s)
I do see appimage links, interesting. Thanks for that.
Do appimages are official build or a third party involved?
Offline Imran  
#9 Posted : 11 November 2022 16:23:52(UTC)
Imran

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/11/2022(UTC)
Posts: 2
United States

Originally Posted by: Andrey Ivashov Go to Quoted Post
You just need to activate the program. It is free.
You can use online or offline activation as you wish.
Once it is done you''ll have no any watermarks or other restrictions.

Best regards.


In my case, I have already activated it but when I try to print from an smath.exe file I still see the watermark. The watermark isn't there when I print from the smath.sm file.
Offline Mido0  
#10 Posted : 12 November 2022 04:49:46(UTC)
Mido0


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/01/2017(UTC)
Posts: 31
Man
Canada
Location: Alberta

hi, just curious how to write ' inline evaluation of the function definitions - x:=2; f(x):=x^2=4; ' in SMath? I tried with no luck.
my understanding is that on the same line you can define / evaluate multiple functions/variables.

Also, I tried opening the one sheet I created with older version "1.0.8151.26392" and I get an error "variable and function name can't start with a number"
smath.jpg Test.sm (36kb) downloaded 1 time(s).smath2.jpg
Offline overlord  
#11 Posted : 12 November 2022 19:47:49(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 900
Turkey

Was thanked: 358 time(s) in 239 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Mido0 Go to Quoted Post
Also, I tried opening the one sheet I created with older version "1.0.8151.26392" and I get an error "variable and function name can't start with a number"

Put C.x(n) function under line. That will resolve your problem.
Actually sum() should be under line, don't know why.
Probably function stop because of a different error.
But reporting the wrong one (variable and function ...)

Regards

2022-11-12_19-43.png
Offline overlord  
#12 Posted : 12 November 2022 20:24:56(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 900
Turkey

Was thanked: 358 time(s) in 239 post(s)
Found the problem.
Just change your i definition to ii or something else, also add Clear(i).
Or all i:=1 at sum()'s in function to something else, j:=1 for example.
They are contradicting with each other.

Regards

2022-11-12_20-03.png
Offline Mido0  
#13 Posted : 12 November 2022 22:36:45(UTC)
Mido0


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/01/2017(UTC)
Posts: 31
Man
Canada
Location: Alberta

thanks overlord, actually adding the line to C(n) made it work, changing i to ii did not fix the problem.
May I ask why different versions created this problem? and is it wrong to create this kind of function of a single line without adding an actual line?
Lastly, is there a way to trace the error within a function as it runs (similar to F8 in VBA) to go step by step in calculations and see output of each line?
Thanks alot.
Offline Jean Giraud  
#14 Posted : 12 November 2022 23:32:52(UTC)
Jean Giraud

Rank: Guest

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 6,323
Canada

Was thanked: 918 time(s) in 746 post(s)
... if you attach the faulty document, it may help doctoring.
Offline overlord  
#15 Posted : 13 November 2022 11:45:43(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 900
Turkey

Was thanked: 358 time(s) in 239 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Mido0 Go to Quoted Post
thanks overlord, actually adding the line to C(n) made it work, changing i to ii did not fix the problem.

Add Clear(i) to beginning of your function, it will work.

2022-11-13_11-39.png

I can only suggest you to use different and unique naming in your functions.
That will prevent conflict of variables outside of function.

2022-11-13_11-44.png
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#16 Posted : 13 November 2022 15:18:13(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,603
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1971 time(s) in 661 post(s)
Originally Posted by: overlord Go to Quoted Post
I do see appimage links, interesting. Thanks for that.
Do appimages are official build or a third party involved?

Yes, these are official build. If it is required we will be able to support more Linux distributives in future.
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#17 Posted : 13 November 2022 15:19:45(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,603
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1971 time(s) in 661 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Imran Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Andrey Ivashov Go to Quoted Post
You just need to activate the program. It is free.
You can use online or offline activation as you wish.
Once it is done you''ll have no any watermarks or other restrictions.

Best regards.


In my case, I have already activated it but when I try to print from an smath.exe file I still see the watermark. The watermark isn't there when I print from the smath.sm file.

Please email me your login or email and I'll check why it happens.
Offline Razonar  
#18 Posted : 14 November 2022 03:36:48(UTC)
Razonar


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/08/2014(UTC)
Posts: 1,067
Uruguay

Was thanked: 599 time(s) in 382 post(s)
Originally Posted by: overlord Go to Quoted Post
Found the problem.
Just change your i definition to ii or something else, also add Clear(i). ...


Originally Posted by: Mido0 Go to Quoted Post
... and is it wrong to create this kind of function of a single line without adding an actual line? ...


My guess is that the reason is that the counter variable of the sum is not local, and if it is defined, it can generate interference. That is why the best solution is to adopt as a good practice to do a Clear(n) for the sum counters. Examples about that here and here.

Best regards.
Alvaro.
Offline Jean Giraud  
#19 Posted : 14 November 2022 04:27:52(UTC)
Jean Giraud

Rank: Guest

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 6,323
Canada

Was thanked: 918 time(s) in 746 post(s)
... as doctored native Smath 6179.

Doctored.PNG
Offline ElSid  
#20 Posted : 19 December 2022 17:19:12(UTC)
ElSid


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 05/03/2009(UTC)
Posts: 432
Man
United States
Location: USA

Was thanked: 17 time(s) in 15 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Andrey Ivashov Go to Quoted Post
SMathStudio 1.0.8348


Andrey and developers ...
Happy holidays and thank you for this fantastic software. It's been a while since I've been on, but wanted to point out a small issue on the portable version. I am NOT receiving the updates notification. I had 1.0.82XX on my drive ... started the software, and no updates. Clicked on "check update", and no updates. Came to the website, and here's an update.

Happy New Year.
Users browsing this topic
2 Pages12>
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.