Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Davide Carpi  
#1 Posted : 17 December 2013 03:01:40(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,179
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1102 time(s) in 723 post(s)
Hi all,

Here there is a plugin to have currencies and exchange rates in SMath Studio.

Infos:


Functions:
  • SetCurrencyUnits(1), SetCurrencyUnits(2): extends SMath Studio with currency units. When an internet connection is available, exchange rates are kept updated using the ECB reference rates (internet connection not required but useful);

    Quote:
    The reference rates are usually updated by 3 p.m. C.E.T. They are based on a regular daily concertation procedure between central banks across Europe and worldwide, which normally takes place at 2.15 p.m. CET.


  • GetYahooExchangeRate(2): get a wide set of exchange rates from Yahoo Finance (internet connection required); service discontinued by Yahoo


>>> PLEASE REPORT IN THIS TOPIC ANY ISSUE, MORE DETAILED AS POSSIBLE <<<

Edited by user 24 October 2018 02:07:23(UTC)  | Reason: description updated

File Attachment(s):
CurrencyUnits.sm (26kb) downloaded 144 time(s).
Davide Carpi attached the following image(s):
2013-12-17 02_08_46-SMath Studio Desktop - [Page1_].png
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 3 users thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 17/12/2013(UTC),  on 18/12/2013(UTC),  on 18/12/2013(UTC)
Offline mkraska  
#2 Posted : 17 December 2013 03:35:09(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,488
Germany

Was thanked: 789 time(s) in 504 post(s)
Nice work, Davide. However, does not work with , as decimal separator.
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline Davide Carpi  
#3 Posted : 17 December 2013 04:05:39(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,179
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1102 time(s) in 723 post(s)
Originally Posted by: mkraska Go to Quoted Post
Nice work, Davide. However, does not work with , as decimal separator.

Thank you Martin, try with the update Good
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline mkraska  
#4 Posted : 17 December 2013 10:23:36(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,488
Germany

Was thanked: 789 time(s) in 504 post(s)
Better now, but still no connectivity. I guess that is sort of firewall or proxy issue.
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline omorr  
#5 Posted : 17 December 2013 13:00:17(UTC)
omorr


Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 23/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,698
Man
Serbia

Was thanked: 300 time(s) in 257 post(s)
Unfortunately Davide, this does not work for me (Win7 x64). Plugin refuses to install properly.

Regards,
Radovan
omorr attached the following image(s):
currency.png
When Sisyphus climbed to the top of a hill, they said: "Wrong boulder!"
Offline Davide Carpi  
#6 Posted : 17 December 2013 15:07:23(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,179
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1102 time(s) in 723 post(s)
ok... as for now the password is: TEST

Originally Posted by: mkraska Go to Quoted Post
Better now, but still no connectivity. I guess that is sort of firewall or proxy issue.

Try again, I've made some changes... If doesn't work try NetTest(0) and NetTest(1) and post a screenshot Good

Originally Posted by: omorr Go to Quoted Post
Unfortunately Davide, this does not work for me (Win7 x64). Plugin refuses to install properly.

Umnik very strange... try again with this update; if doens't work got to %APPDATA%\SMath\Debug\CurrencyUnits and post the log file Search


If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline mkraska  
#7 Posted : 17 December 2013 15:41:16(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,488
Germany

Was thanked: 789 time(s) in 504 post(s)
The results were overly wide, thus i cut them.
mkraska attached the following image(s):
nettest.PNG
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline omorr  
#8 Posted : 17 December 2013 15:41:47(UTC)
omorr


Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 23/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,698
Man
Serbia

Was thanked: 300 time(s) in 257 post(s)
Failed again

Here is the log file

Regards,
Radovan
File Attachment(s):
log.txt (2kb) downloaded 40 time(s).
When Sisyphus climbed to the top of a hill, they said: "Wrong boulder!"
Offline Davide Carpi  
#9 Posted : 17 December 2013 18:09:29(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,179
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1102 time(s) in 723 post(s)
Originally Posted by: mkraska Go to Quoted Post
The results were overly wide, thus i cut them.

seems a proxy/firewall authorization problem... I suppose that NetTest("http://www.google.com"Wink and NetTest("http://www.google.de"Wink will produce the same results Sad

Originally Posted by: omorr Go to Quoted Post
Failed again

Here is the log file

Regards,
Radovan

I've made another little modification, could you try again?
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline omorr  
#10 Posted : 17 December 2013 20:31:12(UTC)
omorr


Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 23/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,698
Man
Serbia

Was thanked: 300 time(s) in 257 post(s)
It seems that this plugin is not going to install into the Martins' unofficial build. I figured out by the second line of the log file.
I tried it on the official one and it seems to be Ok

Regards,
Radovan
File Attachment(s):
log.txt (12kb) downloaded 34 time(s).
omorr attached the following image(s):
CurrencyUnits.png
When Sisyphus climbed to the top of a hill, they said: "Wrong boulder!"
thanks 1 user thanked omorr for this useful post.
on 17/12/2013(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#11 Posted : 17 December 2013 20:52:02(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,179
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1102 time(s) in 723 post(s)
Originally Posted by: omorr Go to Quoted Post
It seems that this plugin is not going to install into the Martins' unofficial build. I figured out by the second line of the log file.
I tried it on the official one and it seems to be Ok

Regards,
Radovan

thank you Radovan, now I understand Good
the plugin looks for the files in the %APPDATA% folder, I'll try to fix it Good

[EDIT] UPDATED: this version should work properly both in the official and the unofficial versions

Edited by user 17 December 2013 21:41:45(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 1 user thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 17/12/2013(UTC)
Offline omorr  
#12 Posted : 17 December 2013 22:08:09(UTC)
omorr


Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 23/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,698
Man
Serbia

Was thanked: 300 time(s) in 257 post(s)
Yes it works, thank you Good
When Sisyphus climbed to the top of a hill, they said: "Wrong boulder!"
Offline mkraska  
#13 Posted : 18 December 2013 00:30:14(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,488
Germany

Was thanked: 789 time(s) in 504 post(s)
Originally Posted by: mkraska Go to Quoted Post
Better now, but still no connectivity. I guess that is sort of firewall or proxy issue.

In our school LAN, the connectivity is broken, at home web access works (official and unofficial version). I shall include the plugin in the next release of the inofficial distribution.
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
thanks 1 user thanked mkraska for this useful post.
on 18/12/2013(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#14 Posted : 18 December 2013 05:14:35(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,179
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1102 time(s) in 723 post(s)
UPDATED

- error handling: LOGs will be placed in the relative "extensions\debug\CurrencyUnits" folder (so the portable version has a portable debug path)

- For developers only: added a log tool to output a Term[] tree representation (see the CurrencyUnits Implementer.cs).
Davide Carpi attached the following image(s):
2013-12-18 17_05_51-C__Users_Davide_AppData_Roaming_SMath_extensions_debug_CurrencyUnits_log.txt - N.png
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline Davide Carpi  
#15 Posted : 04 January 2014 03:36:49(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,179
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1102 time(s) in 723 post(s)
UPDATED

- checks for network availability before each ECB update attempt;
- LOG tools updated (session start is no longer registered)
- NetTest() removed.
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline mkraska  
#16 Posted : 05 September 2018 13:22:04(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,488
Germany

Was thanked: 789 time(s) in 504 post(s)
The yahoo download service for exchange rates has been discontinued. See their forum post.

Therefore, the function GetYahooExchangeRate() reports that the remote name could not be resolved.

I recommend to adjust the error message to "Service discontinued by Yahoo. Use function .... instead."

Perhaps some other source is available in replacement. However, I would not push this, because I rarely use it. Just cleaning up documentation.

Edit: filed as SS-3559

Edited by user 05 September 2018 13:33:24(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
thanks 1 user thanked mkraska for this useful post.
on 05/09/2018(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#17 Posted : 24 October 2018 01:59:34(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,179
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1102 time(s) in 723 post(s)
PLUGIN UPDATED SMath Studio 0.99.6839 and later

  • [SS-3560] restored unit as input argument in SetCurrencyUnits();
  • [SS-3559] since Yahoo service is discontinued now GetYahooExchangeRate() is hidden in the dynamic assistance and returns directly an error message if called;

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.