Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages12>
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#1 Posted : 20 June 2022 14:44:05(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,603
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1971 time(s) in 661 post(s)

New Beta SMath Studio 1.0.8206 is available!

Tiny, powerful, free mathematical program with WYSIWYG editor and complete units of measurements support.

It provides numerous computing features and rich user interface translated into about 40 different languages. Application also contains integrated mathematical reference book.

SMath Studio boxCalculation of Gravitation Acceleration exampleExample of animation on the WorksheetExtensions Manager toolOpened math Reference BookSMath Viewer output to Autocad exampleSMath Studio on iOSSMath Studio on iPad

Application can be easily extended based on your needs. Built-in Extensions Manager tool allows to get access to hundreds official and third-party resources of the following types: usage examples, plug-ins, SMath Viewer based applications, snippets, interface translations, interactive books, handbooks and tutorials.

Changes introduced in current build

Improvements

  • if(..) function extended to support any number of arguments more or equal to 2;
  • Approximately Equal operator implemented (Options dialog extended with an appropriate setting; button added to the Boolean toolbox);
  • Defined Integral supports units now;
  • Rendering of the text improved in program dialogs;
  • Electron-volt (k, M, G, T) unit added;
  • Sleep function added allows to suspends the current thread for the specified amount of time specified in milliseconds;
  • Proxy settings implemented.

Corrections

  • Numeric calculations with units corrected in cases when final result is equal to zero.

Miscellaneous

  • Startup of Desktop version is made faster in the environments where access to printer is slow;
  • High DPI support improved;
  • Displaying of the previews improved in Insert Function dialog;
  • Offline login logic corrected;
  • Settings dialog refactoring;
  • SMath LLC code certificate issued and included into repository.

Download

Software icon SMathStudioDesktop.1_0_8206.Setup.msi (Date: 2022.06.20; File size: 3.12 MB) - 2485 downloads
Software icon SMathStudioDesktop.1_0_8206.Mono.tar.gz (Date: 2022.06.20; File size: 1.96 MB) - 1498 downloads
thanks 6 users thanked Andrey Ivashov for this useful post.
on 20/06/2022(UTC),  on 20/06/2022(UTC),  on 20/06/2022(UTC),  on 20/06/2022(UTC),  on 20/06/2022(UTC),  on 23/06/2022(UTC)
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#2 Posted : 20 June 2022 14:56:34(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,603
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1971 time(s) in 661 post(s)
Any case of "if" statement is available now.
if_any_1.png

Approximately equal operator is available now (see Options dialog to set the accuracy):
approx_equal_1.png
thanks 9 users thanked Andrey Ivashov for this useful post.
on 20/06/2022(UTC),  on 20/06/2022(UTC),  on 20/06/2022(UTC),  on 20/06/2022(UTC),  on 20/06/2022(UTC),  on 20/06/2022(UTC),  on 20/06/2022(UTC),  on 21/06/2022(UTC),  on 22/06/2022(UTC)
Offline alyles  
#3 Posted : 20 June 2022 22:19:51(UTC)
alyles


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/03/2016(UTC)
Posts: 255
United States

Was thanked: 85 time(s) in 53 post(s)
Hi Andrey,

I see the "Approximately equal" operator accuracy varies from 0 to 15. What does this value actually represent?
Feel free to join the SMath Studio Users Discord Channel: https://discord.gg/PayZpJW
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#4 Posted : 21 June 2022 00:51:54(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,603
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1971 time(s) in 661 post(s)
Originally Posted by: alyles Go to Quoted Post
I see the "Approximately equal" operator accuracy varies from 0 to 15. What does this value actually represent?

Hi! It is an accuracy of the "Approximately equal" operator. F.e. if the accuracy is 0, then pi≈3, if 1, then pi≈3.1, if accuracy is set as 2, then pi≈3.14 etc.

Best regards.
Offline loha  
#5 Posted : 21 June 2022 08:40:14(UTC)
loha


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 13/09/2011(UTC)
Posts: 59
Location: Kolkata

Was thanked: 7 time(s) in 7 post(s)
Great to see Smath Studio is continuously improving! Clap
Offline PompelmoTell  
#6 Posted : 21 June 2022 20:56:41(UTC)
PompelmoTell


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/12/2011(UTC)
Posts: 309
Man
Italy
Location: italy

Was thanked: 106 time(s) in 90 post(s)
Hi Andrey,
considering that the "accuracy operator" parameter that regulates "approximately equal" is unique, wouldn't it be appropriate that it is defined in percentage terms?
Offline alyles  
#7 Posted : 21 June 2022 22:30:56(UTC)
alyles


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/03/2016(UTC)
Posts: 255
United States

Was thanked: 85 time(s) in 53 post(s)
It's more than just the decimal place precision.

Untitled.png

approximately.sm (5kb) downloaded 13 time(s).
Feel free to join the SMath Studio Users Discord Channel: https://discord.gg/PayZpJW
Offline alyles  
#8 Posted : 21 June 2022 23:38:46(UTC)
alyles


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/03/2016(UTC)
Posts: 255
United States

Was thanked: 85 time(s) in 53 post(s)
Originally Posted by: PompelmoTell Go to Quoted Post
Hi Andrey,
considering that the "accuracy operator" parameter that regulates "approximately equal" is unique, wouldn't it be appropriate that it is defined in percentage terms?


Regarding that.. I think "precision operator" more appropriately reflects the intended purpose.
Feel free to join the SMath Studio Users Discord Channel: https://discord.gg/PayZpJW
Offline overlord  
#9 Posted : 22 June 2022 00:56:10(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 908
Turkey

Was thanked: 359 time(s) in 240 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Andrey Ivashov Go to Quoted Post
Hi! It is an accuracy of the "Approximately equal" operator. F.e. if the accuracy is 0, then pi≈3, if 1, then pi≈3.1, if accuracy is set as 2, then pi≈3.14 etc.

Best regards.

This is a nice new feature.
Would it be possible to modify this value independent to regions?
Adding another submenu to region right-click would be awesome.
As in decimal places, exponential threshold, rounding choosing.

Regards
Offline Razonar  
#10 Posted : 22 June 2022 04:18:57(UTC)
Razonar


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/08/2014(UTC)
Posts: 1,073
Uruguay

Was thanked: 607 time(s) in 386 post(s)
Hi. About the new approximately equal operator, another way to introduce it could be introducing a general infix operator, like in Mathcad. This screen capture is from Mathcad 6 running in Windows 3.11:

Clipboard02.jpg

For work with units you just need to modify the rhs by abs( a-b ) < UnitsOf( a-b )*TOL (or maybe UoM). Notice that also can be a solution for another features requests, like this one about inline division: https://en.smath.com/for...614_Inline-division.aspx

About the "Defined Integral supports units now" it is a major improvement, and while there will be many worksheets to update, it is a substantial and very welcome improvement. I do think that some kind of special announcement should be made. Also, if you plan to also modify solve and roots to accept drives, you may want to introduce the two improvements together in a future stable beta release.

Finally, many thanks to you Andrey and to all the developers who collaborate with the plugins for this excellent program.

Best regards.
Alvaro.

Edited by user 22 June 2022 04:20:57(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline Jacques.chen  
#11 Posted : 22 June 2022 05:20:49(UTC)
Jacques.chen


Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/07/2014(UTC)
Posts: 10
China
Location: zhejiang

Originally Posted by: Andrey Ivashov Go to Quoted Post

New Beta SMath Studio 1.0.8206 is available!

Tiny, powerful, free mathematical program with WYSIWYG editor and complete units of measurements support.

It provides numerous computing features and rich user interface translated into about 40 different languages. Application also contains integrated mathematical reference book.

SMath Studio boxCalculation of Gravitation Acceleration exampleExample of animation on the WorksheetExtensions Manager toolOpened math Reference BookSMath Viewer output to Autocad exampleSMath Studio on iOSSMath Studio on iPad

Application can be easily extended based on your needs. Built-in Extensions Manager tool allows to get access to hundreds official and third-party resources of the following types: usage examples, plug-ins, SMath Viewer based applications, snippets, interface translations, interactive books, handbooks and tutorials.

Changes introduced in current build

Improvements

  • if(..) function extended to support any number of arguments more or equal to 2;
  • Approximately Equal operator implemented (Options dialog extended with an appropriate setting; button added to the Boolean toolbox);
  • Defined Integral supports units now;
  • Rendering of the text improved in program dialogs;
  • Electron-volt (k, M, G, T) unit added;
  • Sleep function added allows to suspends the current thread for the specified amount of time specified in milliseconds;
  • Proxy settings implemented.

Corrections

  • Numeric calculations with units corrected in cases when final result is equal to zero.

Miscellaneous

  • Startup of Desktop version is made faster in the environments where access to printer is slow;
  • High DPI support improved;
  • Displaying of the previews improved in Insert Function dialog;
  • Offline login logic corrected;
  • Settings dialog refactoring;
  • SMath LLC code certificate issued and included into repository.

Download

Software icon SMathStudioDesktop.1_0_8206.Setup.msi (Date: 2022.06.20; File size: 3.12 MB) - 2485 downloads
Software icon SMathStudioDesktop.1_0_8206.Mono.tar.gz (Date: 2022.06.20; File size: 1.96 MB) - 1498 downloads


how to input else if? I use SMathStudioDesktop.1_0_8206.Mono
Offline Davide Carpi  
#12 Posted : 22 June 2022 09:30:47(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,533
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1269 time(s) in 834 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jacques.chen Go to Quoted Post

how to input else if? I use SMathStudioDesktop.1_0_8206.Mono


In the placeholders of the if() function type an "argument separator" symbol (comma or semicolon, usually)

if.gif


The if without else will improve alot the readability of many scripts, thank you Andrey.

Edited by user 22 June 2022 13:54:44(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 2 users thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 22/06/2022(UTC),  on 27/06/2022(UTC)
Offline overlord  
#13 Posted : 22 June 2022 19:25:56(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 908
Turkey

Was thanked: 359 time(s) in 240 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
~=
I found no way to code double tilde Office 2000 in Win 7.
Works fine as separate utility.

Maths Round(U,n) UTILITIES.sm (15kb) downloaded 12 time(s).

This is not the right place to post samples.
Could any admin delete post above with mine?

Regards
Offline avp  
#14 Posted : 04 July 2022 17:23:53(UTC)
avp


Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 03/07/2017(UTC)
Posts: 10

Snimok ehkrana 2022-07-04 172054.pngSnimok ehkrana 2022-07-04 171920.png
Перестали вычисляться безразмерные интегралы
Offline avp  
#15 Posted : 04 July 2022 22:05:19(UTC)
avp


Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 03/07/2017(UTC)
Posts: 10

Bezymjannyjj.png

Thank you. But the problem is not because of eval(). She's somewhere deeper. My f3(x) and f4(x) limits are ainterp() of the table data.
Offline Razonar  
#16 Posted : 04 July 2022 23:22:02(UTC)
Razonar


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/08/2014(UTC)
Posts: 1,073
Uruguay

Was thanked: 607 time(s) in 386 post(s)
Originally Posted by: avp Go to Quoted Post
...
Thank you. But the problem is not because of eval(). She's somewhere deeper. My f3(x) and f4(x) limits are ainterp() of the table data.


Hi. Yes, I see that there are more than one issue with the double integration, even for some simple cases it is not sowed.

Clipboard01.jpg

Best regards.
Alvaro.
Offline avp  
#17 Posted : 05 July 2022 11:38:34(UTC)
avp


Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 03/07/2017(UTC)
Posts: 10

Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
You don't provide enough maths for attempting to doctor.
You may get inspired from the double Simpson integrator.
Please, don't hesitate ... Jean

Double Integration Forum.sm (37kb) downloaded 6 time(s).


The question is why in the stable version integrals are calculated without problems, but in the new one it gives an error in the same places?
Offline avp  
#18 Posted : 05 July 2022 11:45:21(UTC)
avp


Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 03/07/2017(UTC)
Posts: 10

Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
... more in there.

Integrate_0 Double Triple.sm (31kb) downloaded 4 time(s).


Bezymjannyjj.png
Offline avp  
#19 Posted : 05 July 2022 15:35:25(UTC)
avp


Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 03/07/2017(UTC)
Posts: 10

Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: avp Go to Quoted Post
The question is why in the stable version integrals are calculated without problems, but in the new one it gives an error in the same places ?

In other words, you declare a bug.
Designers need the document for doctoring.
... doctor since which SS version ?
1.0.8151.26932 OK
1.0.8206.25180 NFG

Yes, I'm reporting a bug. In version 1.0.8151.26932, dimensionless integrals with limits in the form of arbitrary functions are calculated correctly. In version 1.0.8206.25180, such integrals are not evaluated. The error "x/y - undefined" is returned.

Proizvol'noe sechenie.xlsx (14kb) downloaded 4 time(s). Proizvol'noe sechenie.sm (58kb) downloaded 4 time(s).

Edited by user 05 July 2022 15:39:59(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline avp  
#20 Posted : 05 July 2022 16:43:10(UTC)
avp


Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 03/07/2017(UTC)
Posts: 10

Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: avp Go to Quoted Post
Yes, I'm reporting a bug. In version 1.0.8151.26932, dimensionless integrals with limits in the form of arbitrary functions are calculated correctly. In version 1.0.8206.25180, such integrals are not evaluated. The error "x/y - undefined" is returned.

It may be the XLS import ?
Try NOT import as a stand alone system.

It doesn't matter if there is an import from Excel or not.

Proizvol'noe sechenie_no XLSX.sm (74kb) downloaded 10 time(s).
Users browsing this topic
2 Pages12>
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.