Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Jason McCool  
#1 Posted : 31 July 2021 19:10:44(UTC)
Jason McCool


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 27/05/2016(UTC)
Posts: 51
Man
United States
Location: Little Rock, Arkansas

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
I generally like SMath better than Mathcad (especially since they went to the "Prime" version), and I've even found some things that SMath will do that Mathcad Prime won't. but in trying to replicate formulas from the American National Design Standard (NDS) for wood design, I am running into more and more examples of variable names and subscript characters used in the NDS publications that aren't allowed in SMath. The biggest advantage that Mathcad seems to have over SMath at this point is in formatting (their fonts in math regions seem more legible) and in allowing more variability in variable declarations (e.g. characters not allowed in SMath, or characters combined in ways not allowed in SMath). Are there any options for workarounds in SMath that I'm not aware of? I'm teaming up with another author to write a design guide for wood design, so the formatting is more critical in this published work than it would be for my normal calcs at the office. If it were just my own calcs, I'd just use alternate notation, but I'd like to match up as closely to the national standard's notation as possible when publishing a book related to it.

Below is an example of a variable used in wood shear wall calcs where 2 values for shear modulus (Gv) and thickness (tv) have been combined into 1 tabulated value of Gvtv with the "v" in subscript. SMath doesn't allow getting in and out of subscript entry in one variable definition, as far as I know.

The vs.asd entry below that is one that neither SMath or Mathcad will accept as NDS shows it, since NDS uses "s(ASD)" in the subscript, and neither program recognizes parentheses as part of a variable name, even in a subscript. So for that one, I may just have to use a period or underscore or some other alternate notation from what the published standard uses. Another case that I see used a lot in published engineering calcs is the use of a comma in a subscript, such as "P1,y" where the 1,y" would be in subscript. I don't think either Mathcad or SMath allow that, but it is a common notation from what I've seen.
Mathcad notation.jpg
The Fc⟂ entry is one I figured out I can insert from Windows Character Map, although it comes out somewhat tilted in SMath, like it's italicized.
Perp Compr Stress.jpgPerp Compr Stress in SMath.jpg
Finally, the last picture is from Mathcad of how NDS represents the adjusted design value for allowable compressive stress perpendicular to the grain. They put the apostrophe after the subscript. But similar to the Gvtv variable, I can't leave subscript entry to put the apostrophe at the normal text level in SMath. I can put it in at that level before the subscript, but then it doesn't quite look the same. Has anyone else used SMath for published works where you wanted to match a particular formatting like this? Is there a workaround?
Perp Compr Stress Adjusted.jpg

Thanks much everyone,
Jason
Jason McCool
Robbins Engineering
Little Rock, AR, USA
Offline Razonar  
#2 Posted : 31 July 2021 21:15:45(UTC)
Razonar


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/08/2014(UTC)
Posts: 814
Uruguay

Was thanked: 433 time(s) in 282 post(s)
Hi Jason. Some notes.

Clipboard01.jpg

SomeFormats.sm (4kb) downloaded 15 time(s).

Best regards.
Alvaro.
thanks 1 user thanked Razonar for this useful post.
on 02/08/2021(UTC)
Offline Jean Giraud  
#3 Posted : 01 August 2021 02:39:32(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 5,617
Canada

Was thanked: 852 time(s) in 682 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jason McCool Go to Quoted Post
Has anyone else used SMath for published works where you wanted to match a particular formatting like this? Is there a workaround?

Smath supports decorations ... no maths execute decoration(s).
The work around is to redefine your decoration.

Decorate.PNG
Offline churichuro  
#4 Posted : 01 August 2021 03:53:40(UTC)
churichuro


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 27/03/2019(UTC)
Posts: 36
Mexico
Location: coah

Was thanked: 9 time(s) in 8 post(s)
Razonar what is ctrl+Shift+K ?

I already know what he does for the example that you gave,
but what does that trick for notation refer to or where does it come from?
Offline Razonar  
#5 Posted : 01 August 2021 05:21:03(UTC)
Razonar


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/08/2014(UTC)
Posts: 814
Uruguay

Was thanked: 433 time(s) in 282 post(s)
Originally Posted by: churichuro Go to Quoted Post
Razonar what is ctrl+Shift+K ?

I already know what he does for the example that you gave,
but what does that trick for notation refer to or where does it come from?


Hi churichuro.

It comes from mathcad, I don't know from which version or even which one is valid. It is used to use characters that are usually operators in the definition of variable names. That is, to write things like "a/b" or "a+b" as variable names, or variables with spaces "a b", and some others cases.

I suppose that somewhere here it must be documented, but I don't know where. For instance, not here: https://smath.com/wiki/Keyboard%20shortcuts.ashx . The line describing it could be:

Ctrl+Shift+K - For type characters that usually insert operators.

Best regards.
Alvaro.
thanks 3 users thanked Razonar for this useful post.
on 01/08/2021(UTC),  on 01/08/2021(UTC),  on 20/08/2021(UTC)
Offline Jean Giraud  
#6 Posted : 01 August 2021 14:54:55(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 5,617
Canada

Was thanked: 852 time(s) in 682 post(s)
Originally Posted by: churichuro Go to Quoted Post
Razonar what is ctrl Shift K ?

I already know what he does for the example that you gave,
but what does that trick for notation refer to or where does it come from?

...in Mathcad 11 [maybe 8 Pro. but not tutored]
Ctrl+Shift+K ... to open
ρ[kg/m³]
Ctrl+Shift+K ... to close
is dead text memo mostly to highlight unit(s)

Stolz.png
Offline Jean Giraud  
#7 Posted : 01 August 2021 16:14:56(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 5,617
Canada

Was thanked: 852 time(s) in 682 post(s)
... of different style, as explicit.

Stolz6179.PNG
Offline Jean Giraud  
#8 Posted : 01 August 2021 17:38:15(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 5,617
Canada

Was thanked: 852 time(s) in 682 post(s)
... otherwise never use units in Engineering document.

Stolz6179QED.PNG
Offline ElSid  
#9 Posted : 20 August 2021 21:01:34(UTC)
ElSid


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 05/03/2009(UTC)
Posts: 424
Man
United States
Location: USA

Was thanked: 15 time(s) in 13 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
... otherwise never use units in Engineering document.


Been on this horse since MathSoft Forum Good. It can help to debug, but most of us use SMath/MathCAD because it handles the units for us.
I remember asking Andrey for "Ctrl+Shift+K" many years ago ... Maybe with the new NOTEBOOK feature, this may spur him to add it. I've been out of doing CALCS for a bit but I don't see it implemented yet.

EDIT: In the features area of the forum, request "Ctrl+Shift+K" feature from Mathcad

Edited by user 20 August 2021 21:09:37(UTC)  | Reason: Put in feature request portion of forum

Offline Jason McCool  
#10 Posted : 20 August 2021 21:16:07(UTC)
Jason McCool


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 27/05/2016(UTC)
Posts: 51
Man
United States
Location: Little Rock, Arkansas

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
ElSid, Ctrl+Shift+K does already work in SMath... are you talking about just adding that to the documentation so it's not a secret anymore? It does kind of remind me of playing video games as a kid and having to discover and memorize the different undocumented "cheat codes" that each game had.

Jason
Jason McCool
Robbins Engineering
Little Rock, AR, USA
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.