Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline overlord  
#1 Posted : 09 June 2021 21:26:58(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 365
Turkey

Was thanked: 100 time(s) in 74 post(s)
Update of statement:
solve(), roots(), FindRoot() doesn't like if() function.
However, they can solve when cases() used instead of if().

Regards

2021-06-10_04-36.png

Edited by user 13 June 2021 12:32:17(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline overlord  
#2 Posted : 11 June 2021 05:36:37(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 365
Turkey

Was thanked: 100 time(s) in 74 post(s)
I have diagnosed the symptoms with solve bug.
Made a page about this and tried to explain with detail.

Regards

somebugs.sm (55kb) downloaded 6 time(s).
somebugs.pdf (523kb) downloaded 3 time(s).

somebugs.png
thanks 2 users thanked overlord for this useful post.
on 11/06/2021(UTC),  on 12/06/2021(UTC)
Offline Jean Giraud  
#3 Posted : 11 June 2021 15:21:57(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 5,430
Canada

Was thanked: 845 time(s) in 675 post(s)
Originally Posted by: overlord Go to Quoted Post
solve(), roots(), FindRoot() doesn't like if statement.
However, they can solve when cases() used instead of if().

if/else was reported SS 5346.
Davide added if/otherwise SS 6179
Often, the solve bloc is ~ exact, sometimes exact
At worst 4/5 decimals.
Always start true Bolean #≤# ...
often won't complain incomplete #<#
From recollection, only DeBoor needs incomplete.

SolveSolve.PNG
Online Razonar  
#4 Posted : 12 June 2021 17:39:19(UTC)
Razonar


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/08/2014(UTC)
Posts: 748
Uruguay

Was thanked: 400 time(s) in 256 post(s)
Originally Posted by: overlord Go to Quoted Post
Update of statement:
solve(), roots(), FindRoot() doesn't like if statement.
However, they can solve when cases() used instead of if().

Regards



Here some notes about my opinion of how to work with piecewise continuous functions.

Piecewise.sm (46kb) downloaded 7 time(s).
Piecewise.pdf (185kb) downloaded 6 time(s).

Best regards.
Alvaro
Offline Jean Giraud  
#5 Posted : 12 June 2021 21:24:02(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 5,430
Canada

Was thanked: 845 time(s) in 675 post(s)
IMHO, its logical solving piece wise discontinuous,
solve piece wise as well for productive classroom.

Page3 Solve Discontinuous.sm (6kb) downloaded 3 time(s).
Offline overlord  
#6 Posted : 12 June 2021 23:12:38(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 365
Turkey

Was thanked: 100 time(s) in 74 post(s)
There are other bugs too.

otherbugs.sm (14kb) downloaded 7 time(s).

otherbugs.png

Edited by user 12 June 2021 23:14:19(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.