Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login. New Registrations are disabled.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

2 Pages12>
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Jason McCool  
#1 Posted : 23 March 2021 20:54:09(UTC)
Jason McCool

Groups: Registered
Man
United States

Was thanked: 9 time(s) in 7 post(s)
I've been using SMath for several years, but have always had to use it set to Metric for default units even though I work in the US with Imperial units. It's never worked as expected with Imperial units, so for every worksheet I write, I manually convert every single entry from meters to inches, megapascals to ksi, etc. I tried setting it to Imperial units as a default again to see if it worked any better now. But as you can see below, it still has some issues. The formula below works fine when set to metric, but not, ironically, to Imperial. I've had similar issues in the past every time I tried using Imperial. Are there any workarounds or ways to fix this going forward? I normally just deal with the manual line by line conversion, but the "Ceil" function that I want to use on the resulting decimal column size didn't work even with it set to metric (it just rounded 26.453 inches up to 1m, or 39.37 inches, instead of the correct 27 inches), so my typical approach of using Metric doesn't work here either. Any ideas (or a fix) to make Imperial units work correctly would be much appreciated.
SMath Imp Units Error.png
Jason McCool
Robbins Engineering
Little Rock, AR, USA

Wanna join the discussion?! Login to your SMath Studio Forum forum account. New Registrations are disabled.

Offline wb.c  
#2 Posted : 23 March 2021 23:15:51(UTC)
wb.c

United States

Was thanked: 22 time(s) in 19 post(s)
Some people have modified the units.xml file located in the entries folder of the install files so that the default units are US. If you know enough of what to do you can modify the units to work how you want, but make sure you know what you're doing.