Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline netsonicyxf  
#1 Posted : 20 February 2021 09:17:40(UTC)
netsonicyxf


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/03/2020(UTC)
Posts: 34

Even if the variable have been defined.

E.g. how to get x=(a+b)(a-b)even if a=1, b=2
2.png1.png

Edited by user 20 February 2021 09:20:20(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline Jean Giraud  
#2 Posted : 20 February 2021 15:39:43(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 5,163
Canada

Was thanked: 818 time(s) in 650 post(s)
Algebra.PNG
Offline netsonicyxf  
#3 Posted : 20 February 2021 16:20:42(UTC)
netsonicyxf


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/03/2020(UTC)
Posts: 34

Thanks, but I want to know how to get U=(a+b )*(a-b ), even if a=1, b=2 is on the top

Edited by user 20 February 2021 16:29:23(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline Jean Giraud  
#4 Posted : 20 February 2021 18:01:23(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 5,163
Canada

Was thanked: 818 time(s) in 650 post(s)
Originally Posted by: netsonicyxf Go to Quoted Post
Thanks, but I want to know how to get U=(a b )*(a-b ), even if a=1, b=2 is on the top

I simply don't understand your request.
Read Martin handbook, to learn using Smath.

Algebra-Algo.PNG
Offline MarB  
#5 Posted : 20 February 2021 19:02:11(UTC)
MarB


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 21/10/2016(UTC)
Posts: 61

Was thanked: 12 time(s) in 12 post(s)
I think the only way is to delete the defintions by using Clear(a;Cool= .
Offline Jean Giraud  
#6 Posted : 20 February 2021 19:15:24(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 5,163
Canada

Was thanked: 818 time(s) in 650 post(s)
Originally Posted by: MarB Go to Quoted Post
I think the only way is to delete the definitions by using Clear(a;= .

No need, algo is self clearing.
Offline Jean Giraud  
#7 Posted : 20 February 2021 23:18:06(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 5,163
Canada

Was thanked: 818 time(s) in 650 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
No need, algo is self clearing.


Algo_Algebra.PNG

Offline Razonar  
#8 Posted : 21 February 2021 07:25:56(UTC)
Razonar


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/08/2014(UTC)
Posts: 647
Uruguay

Was thanked: 348 time(s) in 226 post(s)
Originally Posted by: netsonicyxf Go to Quoted Post
Even if the variable have been defined.

E.g. how to get x=(a+b)(a-b)even if a=1, b=2


Hi. As MarB says, only with Clear(a , b ) in SMath. However, it is true that in Mathcad you can hide the numeric values for a symbolic evaluation:

Clipboard01.jpg

Best regards.
Alvaro.
Offline netsonicyxf  
#9 Posted : 21 February 2021 15:24:07(UTC)
netsonicyxf


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/03/2020(UTC)
Posts: 34

Originally Posted by: MarB Go to Quoted Post
I think the only way is to delete the defintions by using Clear(a;Cool= .


1.png

Originally Posted by: Razonar Go to Quoted Post

Hi. As MarB says, only with Clear(a , b ) in SMath. However, it is true that in Mathcad you can hide the numeric values for a symbolic evaluation:


really wish Smath can perform like MathCAD
Offline Jean Giraud  
#10 Posted : 21 February 2021 17:00:13(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 5,163
Canada

Was thanked: 818 time(s) in 650 post(s)
Originally Posted by: netsonicyxf Go to Quoted Post
really wish Smath can perform like MathCAD


Clear(a,b).PNG

Offline netsonicyxf  
#11 Posted : 21 February 2021 17:10:37(UTC)
netsonicyxf


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/03/2020(UTC)
Posts: 34

Thanks Jean.

BTW, MathCAD doesn't need to do clearance.
Offline Jean Giraud  
#12 Posted : 21 February 2021 18:00:32(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 5,163
Canada

Was thanked: 818 time(s) in 650 post(s)
Originally Posted by: netsonicyxf Go to Quoted Post
BTW, MathCAD doesn't need to do clearance.

True for that little example. More advanced stuff needs be cleared as well.
The symbolic arrow was demanded but not implemented.
Offline Davide Carpi  
#13 Posted : 21 February 2021 19:27:04(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,329
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1173 time(s) in 772 post(s)
The only way is to define the variables after the expression, then you can show the expression using Clear. The other way doesn't works because when values are set before the expression, the values are stored in memory, not the variable names.
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline Razonar  
#14 Posted : 21 February 2021 19:28:15(UTC)
Razonar


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/08/2014(UTC)
Posts: 647
Uruguay

Was thanked: 348 time(s) in 226 post(s)
Originally Posted by: netsonicyxf Go to Quoted Post
Thanks Jean.

BTW, MathCAD doesn't need to do clearance.


Hi. It needs. That is the mean for a:=a and b:=b, which clear a and b only for symbolics, but not for numerics. If you want to show the symbilic value stored in x cleaning a and b after you define x, you can use line() in the definitions:

Clipboard01.jpg

Also notice that you need to eval Clear(a, b ) = 1, if not SMath not recognize that as an instruction.

Best regards.
Alvaro.
thanks 1 user thanked Razonar for this useful post.
on 22/02/2021(UTC)
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.