Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages<12
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline mkraska  
#21 Posted : 28 September 2020 13:35:55(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,689
Germany

Was thanked: 930 time(s) in 588 post(s)
If you want to de-activate formulas just because you want to document them but not execute, you can use the text region with embedded math and place the regions side by side with equal signs in the text between the math regions. This is more convenient than placing multiple regions on the canvas, because the overall text region takes care of vertical alignment automatically.

Note, however, that using embedded math isn't yet well supported in the GUI. You have to press Alt-+ followed by ESC to enter math mode and Enter to leave the embedded formula. More important: you can't copy-paste such embedded regions.

2020-09-27 17_06_15-SMath Studio - [Documento1_].png
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
thanks 2 users thanked mkraska for this useful post.
on 28/09/2020(UTC),  on 28/09/2020(UTC)
Offline genf  
#22 Posted : 28 September 2020 15:23:22(UTC)
genf


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/06/2013(UTC)
Posts: 50
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)
Originally Posted by: mkraska Go to Quoted Post
You have to press Alt-+ followed by ESC to enter math mode and Enter to leave the embedded formula.

2020-09-27 17_06_15-SMath Studio - [Documento1_].png


А можно gif, а еще лучше видео как это делать (предварительно выбирать объекты нужно, одновременно ли нажимать Alt-+ ?) ... как бы я не пытался так, как у Вас не получилось сделать.

Edited by user 29 September 2020 16:32:24(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

thanks 1 user thanked genf for this useful post.
on 29/09/2020(UTC)
Online Jean Giraud  
#23 Posted : 28 September 2020 17:48:23(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 5,605
Canada

Was thanked: 852 time(s) in 682 post(s)
I don't understand what you are trying to do.
SQRT(,) is hard wired embedded in the chip from an approximation.
If you just want to estimate, code it as a user function... ?
Maybe I don't understand that a square is square ?
Offline mkraska  
#24 Posted : 28 September 2020 18:48:14(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,689
Germany

Was thanked: 930 time(s) in 588 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
I don't understand what you are trying to do.
SQRT(,) is hard wired embedded in the chip from an approximation.
If you just want to estimate, code it as a user function... ?
Maybe I don't understand that a square is square ?


I am trying to explain how to compute square roots mentally/by hand. Just as a demo for using text regions for documentation of calculations without actually performing them.
Why should one do this? You are asking for this (presentation at a didactics conference)

2019 12 11 Handcalc.pdf (1,687kb) downloaded 44 time(s).


Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
thanks 8 users thanked mkraska for this useful post.
on 28/09/2020(UTC),  on 28/09/2020(UTC),  on 29/09/2020(UTC),  on 29/09/2020(UTC),  on 29/09/2020(UTC),  on 30/09/2020(UTC),  on 30/09/2020(UTC),  on 01/10/2020(UTC)
Online Jean Giraud  
#25 Posted : 29 September 2020 16:03:05(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 5,605
Canada

Was thanked: 852 time(s) in 682 post(s)
Originally Posted by: mkraska Go to Quoted Post
I am trying to explain how to compute square roots mentally/by hand.

Heron suite in there.

Maths Sqrt(x) Heron Suite.sm (13kb) downloaded 24 time(s).

Offline ElSid  
#26 Posted : 29 September 2020 23:35:32(UTC)
ElSid


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 05/03/2009(UTC)
Posts: 424
Man
United States
Location: USA

Was thanked: 15 time(s) in 13 post(s)
Martin,
I thought this was a US issue with the "NEW" math (struggling with my kids). This is an eye opener for me! I would be interested in your revised document and permission to distribute/use it.

Edited by user 30 September 2020 20:17:11(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline mkraska  
#27 Posted : 30 September 2020 00:47:55(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,689
Germany

Was thanked: 930 time(s) in 588 post(s)
Originally Posted by: ElSid Go to Quoted Post
Martin,
I thought this was a US issue with the "NEW" math (struggling with my kids). This is an eye opener for me! I would be interested in your revised document and permission to distribute/use it.

Feel free to distribute and use it. I didn't systematically study the topic, these are just my observations from teaching Engineering Mechanics. Currently, I am focussing on homework assignments with automatic feedback (based on Moodle and STACK). Unfortunately, this is not related to SMath Studio, even though it could be a good frontend for entering math expressions, the cloud version is proof of this.

Thank you for the hint on New Math, I wasn't aware of this. In the past I observed, that my son had a lot of subjects in his math textbook (in particular advanced statistics) which I hardly ever heard of (in the east German school system). There is a huge mismatch between ambitious content and unwillingness to insist on even basic skills. This is at times justified by the claim that low requirements imply more chances for the weaker students. In my opinion this just spoils their chances. Think of sports: how will low requirements increase your chances in the competition? If you don't sweat in the gym, is it worth the money?

It is always fun for me to let the students discover the handiness of my eastern (=evil) way to solve "Verhältnisgleichungen" (proportions) instead of the western obscure "Dreisatz" (rule of three) they now learn at school.

The good thing is that no matter how bad is the school system, it can't keep down everyone all the time.

Edited by user 30 September 2020 00:50:34(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
thanks 1 user thanked mkraska for this useful post.
on 30/09/2020(UTC)
Offline loha  
#28 Posted : 30 September 2020 14:25:35(UTC)
loha


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 13/09/2011(UTC)
Posts: 34
Location: Kolkata

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
This is a very nice, very interesting document!
Do you also teach your students graphic statics by hand?
I did a lot, before turning first to excel, then geogebra and now smath...
Now I am lazy, I don't do any hand graphic statics anymore...
However, maybe I can "afford" to avoid hand work at my age, after having worked by hand most of my professional life.
Your stand for engineering exams without calculators is really interesting and thought-provoking!
Laurent

Originally Posted by: mkraska Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
I don't understand what you are trying to do.
SQRT(,) is hard wired embedded in the chip from an approximation.
If you just want to estimate, code it as a user function... ?
Maybe I don't understand that a square is square ?


I am trying to explain how to compute square roots mentally/by hand. Just as a demo for using text regions for documentation of calculations without actually performing them.
Why should one do this? You are asking for this (presentation at a didactics conference)

2019 12 11 Handcalc.pdf (1,687kb) downloaded 44 time(s).




Offline ElSid  
#29 Posted : 30 September 2020 20:18:16(UTC)
ElSid


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 05/03/2009(UTC)
Posts: 424
Man
United States
Location: USA

Was thanked: 15 time(s) in 13 post(s)
Andrey,
Back on topic. Please explain how to use
COUNT and PAGENUM fields improved to allow setting up an offset for the output number

This was one of my recent questions and I have not been able to figure out how to get the offsets to work
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#30 Posted : 01 October 2020 02:15:27(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,570
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1871 time(s) in 634 post(s)
Originally Posted by: ElSid Go to Quoted Post
Andrey,
Back on topic. Please explain how to use
COUNT and PAGENUM fields improved to allow setting up an offset for the output number

This was one of my recent questions and I have not been able to figure out how to get the offsets to work

Please use Format field to set a shift. In the example field you will immediately see the result.
pagenum_1.jpg

One day I will improve Insert Field dialog to make this functionality obvious.

Best regards.
thanks 1 user thanked Andrey Ivashov for this useful post.
on 01/10/2020(UTC)
Offline ElSid  
#31 Posted : 01 October 2020 02:56:40(UTC)
ElSid


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 05/03/2009(UTC)
Posts: 424
Man
United States
Location: USA

Was thanked: 15 time(s) in 13 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Andrey Ivashov Go to Quoted Post
Please use Format field to set a shift. In the example field you will immediately see the result.

Actually, a balloon or note under "FORMAT" would help. I clicked on "FORMAT" and all I saw was 0-->00-->000. I was looking for an "offset" or some other box. I didn't think to use the "FORMAT" dialog box as the drop down box shows only only number of places.
THANK YOU for this little feature

Edited by user 01 October 2020 23:30:42(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Users browsing this topic
2 Pages<12
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.