Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline SMKa  
#1 Posted : 24 May 2020 10:32:39(UTC)
SMKa

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 24/05/2020(UTC)
Posts: 1

Missing_symbols_SMath.png
The missing symbols

I tried to:
See if i have everything enabled in Extensions Manager (yes)
install all sorts of font packages (Libre Office Math shows everything)
reboot
search for missing files
walk backwards on full moon
reboot again
search if anyone else had same problems (could not find any)
etc.

what could cause the problem and how to fix it?

Ubuntu 20.04 LTS
Downloaded the SMathStudioDesktop.0_99_7030.Mono.tar.gz
I have installed mono-complete using these instructions: https://www.mono-project...oad/stable/#download-lin


Only errors I got were:
Installing mono (in the installation phase "sudo apt update" ) gave this error:
Skipping acquire of configured file 'main/binary-i386/Packages' as repository 'https://download.mono-project.com/repo/ubuntu stable-focal InRelease' doesn't support architecture 'i386'

"Could not set X locale modifiers" when launching SMath on terminal
fixed it with
rm -Rf ~/.config/.mono (https://github.com/mono/mono/issues/18238)
Both, before and after, the symbols were missing.

SMath_files.png

SMath_plugins.png
The "plugins" folder

Edited by user 24 May 2020 11:01:29(UTC)  | Reason: edits for readability, and forgot to add things I'v checked

Offline Davide Carpi  
#2 Posted : 24 May 2020 17:08:27(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,274
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1153 time(s) in 757 post(s)
Thank you for reporting the issue. The problem is about drawing images rather than displaying fonts (the missing buttons are all images), therefore I think the problem is about some missing dependancy or the mono version
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline Eric Myers  
#3 Posted : 30 May 2020 23:58:57(UTC)
Eric Myers

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 03/10/2018(UTC)
Posts: 8
United States

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
If anyone finds a fix for this, could you please post it here? I have the same issue, it would be nice to see the missing button images. Thanks!
Offline Nicacio  
#4 Posted : 21 June 2020 17:30:02(UTC)
Nicacio

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 21/06/2020(UTC)
Posts: 3
Brazil
Location: Campina Grande, Paraíba

I'm facing the same problem on Fedora 32. This is my mono:

mono --version
Mono JIT compiler version 6.6.0.161 (tarball Wed Feb 5 07:34:41 UTC 2020)
Copyright (C) 2002-2014 Novell, Inc, Xamarin Inc and Contributors. www.mono-project.com
TLS: __thread
SIGSEGV: altstack
Notifications: epoll
Architecture: amd64
Disabled: none
Misc: softdebug
Interpreter: yes
LLVM: supported, not enabled.
Suspend: hybrid
GC: sgen (concurrent by default)

smathprint.png
Offline odusbav  
#5 Posted : 23 June 2020 20:55:51(UTC)
odusbav

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/06/2020(UTC)
Posts: 4
Venezuela
Location: ccs

I an using linux mint 19.3 and are facing the very same isuue
i found out that older versions do show the symbols, 0_98_6179 shows almost all the symbols with only a few missing in the matrices toolbar, the next stable release (0_98_6484) didnt show the symbols

smath_6179.png
Offline Nicacio  
#6 Posted : 30 June 2020 02:20:43(UTC)
Nicacio

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 21/06/2020(UTC)
Posts: 3
Brazil
Location: Campina Grande, Paraíba

I could not install that old version, because the site is not working, when you click any version, it downloads the last stable.

I'm going back to use the Windows version on VirtualBox because that Linux version using Mono just does not work!
Offline Jean Giraud  
#7 Posted : 30 June 2020 03:53:04(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 4,676
Canada

Was thanked: 792 time(s) in 628 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Nicacio Go to Quoted Post
I could not install that old version, because the site is not working, when you click any version, it downloads the last stable.

Are you saying you can't download/install SS 6179 ?

Offline Davide Carpi  
#8 Posted : 30 June 2020 08:28:24(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,274
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1153 time(s) in 757 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Nicacio Go to Quoted Post
I could not install that old version, because the site is not working, when you click any version, it downloads the last stable.


That's by design. You have to click on the "requested file version" tab on the top of the box.
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline Nicacio  
#9 Posted : 01 July 2020 01:09:14(UTC)
Nicacio

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 21/06/2020(UTC)
Posts: 3
Brazil
Location: Campina Grande, Paraíba

I have found a solution for those who can't use SMath on Linux distros or it's not working for some reason.

Steps:

(Just use Docker)

I follow this tutorial: https://github.com/bkjaya2020/smathstudio-docker

As a Fedora 32 user, I just did:

1. sudo dnf install docker
2. systemctl start docker
3. sudo docker create -t -p 8008:8080 --name smath --privileged=true bkjaya1952/smathstudio-docker (it would take some minutes)
4. sudo docker start smath
5. in the browser, go to http://localhost:8008/ Clap

That's it =)
SMath will show there fully functional!
Offline odusbav  
#10 Posted : 02 July 2020 00:09:51(UTC)
odusbav

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/06/2020(UTC)
Posts: 4
Venezuela
Location: ccs

I am trying Nicacio docker based solution and its making me download a lot of data, will report back if i am able to run it, but i dont think this is the most efficient solution, there is something weird happening on smath that even on the .msi version tunning through wine the symbols dont show
smath1.jpg
Offline kamienna.gora  
#11 Posted : 18 July 2020 16:30:27(UTC)
kamienna.gora

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 18/07/2020(UTC)
Posts: 1

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Hi Everybody,
I solved problem with wine...
...
1. sudo apt-get install mono-complete
2. sudo apt-get install winetricks
3. winetricks dotnet45
4. copy smath installation from windows (whole directory) to linux (kubuntu)
5. wine /home/user_1/smath_99_7030_wine/SMathStudio_Desktop.exe
...
result - all symbols in side panel.
...

thanks 1 user thanked kamienna.gora for this useful post.
on 20/07/2020(UTC)
Offline odusbav  
#12 Posted : 28 July 2020 00:04:02(UTC)
odusbav

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/06/2020(UTC)
Posts: 4
Venezuela
Location: ccs

Kamienna method works!!! I had to play a little bit with my wine config since first instalation didnt work but it works nowClap

obviusly since its running through wine performance is not as good as the mono version (Some lag is happening in my fairly old machine) so it would be fine to try to find a workaround in the mono version

Edited by user 28 July 2020 00:11:35(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.