Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline hawe  
#1 Posted : 30 March 2020 21:22:22(UTC)
hawe


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 30/03/2020(UTC)
Posts: 31
Germany
Location: KU

Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Hallo zusammen,

After installing maxima plugin
<Settings>
<PathToMaxima.bat>..\Maxima-5.28.0-2\bin\maxima.bat</PathToMaxima.bat>
<ID>13</ID>
<Version Major="1" Minor="98" Build="7004" Revision="26866">1.98.7004.26866</Version>
</Settings>


smath hang and died - must be killed by Taskmanager

Any idea what is going wrong?
Offline mkraska  
#2 Posted : 31 March 2020 17:40:30(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,577
Germany

Was thanked: 853 time(s) in 542 post(s)
Originally Posted by: hawe Go to Quoted Post
Hallo zusammen,

After installing maxima plugin
<Settings>
<PathToMaxima.bat>..\Maxima-5.28.0-2\bin\maxima.bat</PathToMaxima.bat>
<ID>13</ID>
<Version Major="1" Minor="98" Build="7004" Revision="26866">1.98.7004.26866</Version>
</Settings>


smath hang and died - must be killed by Taskmanager

Any idea what is going wrong?


Looks like you have a very old maxima version.
The plugin sets the lisp compiler to sbcl (Steel Bank Common Lisp) because that can handle unicode strings in contrast to CLISP.
Older versions can't handle this.
Possibly this can be an issue.
Normally there should be no reason for messing with maxima.xml except you want to implement custom translations.
If the path shown was stored from the settings dialog, then this should not be the problem.

So please install the newest official release of Maxima and retry.
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline hawe  
#3 Posted : 31 March 2020 21:11:17(UTC)
hawe


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 30/03/2020(UTC)
Posts: 31
Germany
Location: KU

Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Thanks,
I only took the xml extract to show my data.
I wrote a bib for wxmaxima a few years ago about analytical geometry (what's the technical term in English) - the maxima installation comes from it - I will update it.

I didn't get very far on this topic with SMath alone.
BTW: do I need a plugin for at() (chapter 6.6.5)?
The function list shows nothing...

---
Danke,
Den xml-Auszug hab ich nur genommen, um meine Daten anzugeben.
Ich hab für wxmaxima vor einigen Jahren eine Bib zur analytischen Geometrie (wie heißt der Fachausdruck in English) geschrieben - die maxima Installation stammt daher - werde ich updaten.

Zu dem Thema bin ich mit SMath alleine nicht weit gekommen.
BTW: braucht man für at() (Kap 6.6.5) ein Plugin?
Die Funktionlist zeigt nix an...

Edited by user 31 March 2020 21:13:08(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline mkraska  
#4 Posted : 01 April 2020 10:32:34(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,577
Germany

Was thanked: 853 time(s) in 542 post(s)
Originally Posted by: hawe Go to Quoted Post

BTW: do I need a plugin for at() (chapter 6.6.5)?
The function list shows nothing...


Yes, it is from custom functions (definition) and custom glyphs (formatting). The handbuch assumes that you install the preconfigured distribution with plugins already on board, see section 2.2.
Therefore usually the dependencies aren't listed. You can also use the interactive handbook, which will ask for downloading the appropriate plugins upon use.

BTW, when trying to run the COMA library (controller optimization with maxima) then the major problem was how to tell the wxplot functions to output image files in a given resolution with a given format and name.
Any idea about that?
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline hawe  
#5 Posted : 01 April 2020 18:57:17(UTC)
hawe


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 30/03/2020(UTC)
Posts: 31
Germany
Location: KU

Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Ok, Danke dafür...

About COMA
I am for sure you have contact to Mario Riotorto?
We had a lot of discussion to my project ( er liest ja ganz gut Deutsch und spricht gut Englich ;-)
He maintains Maxima-Gnuplot/VTK interface and when he has no idea...?


BTW:
what about the 3D Axes seems to show not the right hand
Clipboard_2020-04-01_17-36-57.jpg
Window_2020-04-01_17-54-02.jpg
Offline Jean Giraud  
#6 Posted : 01 April 2020 22:15:31(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 4,589
Canada

Was thanked: 778 time(s) in 618 post(s)
Originally Posted by: hawe Go to Quoted Post
BTW:
what about the 3D Axes seems to show not the right hand

There are 24 ways of representing XYZ system.
Mathcad up to MCD 11 is ≠ Mathematica 4.0
Have you tried Geogebra from Steen Groode [former Mathsoft collaboratory].
Offline mkraska  
#7 Posted : 02 April 2020 20:48:44(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,577
Germany

Was thanked: 853 time(s) in 542 post(s)
Originally Posted by: hawe Go to Quoted Post
Ok, Danke dafür...

About COMA
I am for sure you have contact to Mario Riotorto?
We had a lot of discussion to my project ( er liest ja ganz gut Deutsch und spricht gut Englich ;-)
He maintains Maxima-Gnuplot/VTK interface and when he has no idea...?


BTW:
what about the 3D Axes seems to show not the right hand


As to COMA, some years ago I had some discussion with Wilhelm Haager, who pointed me to some bug fixing in the draw package. There was some subsequent discussion in the maxima user list. For me, having COMA working under SMath was kind of nice to have, so I didn't keep track on that. Whenever I'll have time for substantial work on the Maxima plugin (would include getting used to VS and C# again), the focus would be on bug fixing and refactoring for better maintainability.
I never really went into the details of the draw package. Thank you for pointing me to Mario, in fact, I never had contact with him (there was another Mario in the maxima list...).

As to 3D axes, see section G.4 in the appendix of the handbook. Built-in 3D plot has several bugs, leftiness of the triade is just one of them.

Martin
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline Jean Giraud  
#8 Posted : 03 April 2020 01:51:26(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 4,589
Canada

Was thanked: 778 time(s) in 618 post(s)
Originally Posted by: mkraska Go to Quoted Post
As to 3D axes, see section G.4 in the appendix of the handbook. Built-in 3D plot has several bugs, leftiness of the triade is just one of them.

1. Can't find appendix G.4 from today download
2. What is triade bug ?
........................

1. Native Smath 3D surface plot does not save settings,
reported, not attended, forget for ever.
2. Native Smath 3D [from CreateMesh] missing axes set-up
or alternately display as plotted axes system, for reproducible.
Cheers Martin ... Jean
Offline mkraska  
#9 Posted : 03 April 2020 10:47:29(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,577
Germany

Was thanked: 853 time(s) in 542 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: mkraska Go to Quoted Post
As to 3D axes, see section G.4 in the appendix of the handbook. Built-in 3D plot has several bugs, leftiness of the triade is just one of them.

1. Can't find appendix G.4 from today download
2. What is triade bug ?


1. I refer to this handbook.
2. The co-ordinate axes (indicated by a triade of lines) are left-handed.
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.