Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages12>
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline uni  
#1 Posted : 15 August 2019 19:58:22(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 957
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 871 time(s) in 490 post(s)
MicroOffice [ β ]

SMath Viewer compatibility mono compatibility Sources


Implementation started.

I don't know how, but I think it is possible to show office documents as images. For editing we can open Word, Excel or Visio as external editors. Documents can be embedded to worksheet.

2019-08-15_21-52-55.png

Edited by user 24 August 2019 06:29:28(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
💰 Support me for plugins development: https://money.yandex.ru/to/410013245578758/100
thanks 2 users thanked uni for this useful post.
on 16/08/2019(UTC),  on 16/08/2019(UTC)
Offline uni  
#2 Posted : 16 August 2019 00:27:29(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 957
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 871 time(s) in 490 post(s)
Using this technique it is possible to use the Plotly.js library to draw graphs. Basically, this method allows you to access the usual form, but with limited interaction.

2019-08-16_02-24-45.png

Edited by user 16 August 2019 00:32:12(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
💰 Support me for plugins development: https://money.yandex.ru/to/410013245578758/100
Offline overlord  
#3 Posted : 29 September 2019 21:02:47(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 105
Turkey

Was thanked: 33 time(s) in 22 post(s)
This will be a good plugin I think.
Is there any way to show the office document as objects, not as images?
In mathcad when I paste an excel table it is imported as an object.
It can be edited with right click and externally edited as you mentioned for your implementation.
But it is also shown as object and pdf-friendly.

smath.pdf (65kb) downloaded 35 time(s).
mathcad.pdf (285kb) downloaded 29 time(s).

Regards
Offline Jean Giraud  
#4 Posted : 29 September 2019 23:04:42(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 3,976
Canada

Was thanked: 709 time(s) in 555 post(s)
If you want that Excel data table in Smath, easy:
1. capture the Execl, select, crop image
2. copy image, paste in Smath.
The tool is freeware WinGrab.
Offline overlord  
#5 Posted : 29 September 2019 23:44:14(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 105
Turkey

Was thanked: 33 time(s) in 22 post(s)
Jean, it is obvious you didn't check the pdf files. You really wouldn't need to tell me about how to crop images if you did, I already did that.
Problem is not how to do it, problem is font render quality. Smath copies excel tables as images, which has no font so no print quality.

1. there is undeniable quality difference between cropped image version (smath), which you mentioned, and font version (mathcad).
2. windows has its own screen capture program that works perfectly. no need to install or keep additional software for this purpose.
3. you actually don't need any software to copy image of excel tables, Ctrl+C is enough. than you can paste it as an image in smath.
But if you make pdf from smath file which has image copied excel table, quality is a disaster.

Regards
Offline Jean Giraud  
#6 Posted : 30 September 2019 01:48:04(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 3,976
Canada

Was thanked: 709 time(s) in 555 post(s)
Originally Posted by: overlord Go to Quoted Post
But if you make pdf from smath file which has image copied Excel table, quality is a disaster.

The two PDf look same [I checked both]
That's why I suggested NOT use Microsoft.
If I make an Smath PDF as captured, PDF is 1/1
My PDF is CutePDF freeware, NOT Smath PDF.

Offline Jean Giraud  
#7 Posted : 30 September 2019 02:07:19(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 3,976
Canada

Was thanked: 709 time(s) in 555 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
If I make an Smath PDF as captured, PDF is 1/1
My PDF is CutePDF freeware, NOT Smath PDF.

...open with Adobe Reader [the freeware]
Images captured/crop as described earlier,
pasted in Smath, Smath => CutePDF

Type T_J.pdf (400kb) downloaded 16 time(s).
Offline Jean Giraud  
#8 Posted : 30 September 2019 03:19:40(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 3,976
Canada

Was thanked: 709 time(s) in 555 post(s)
... so simple, so perfect for publishing Smath *.PDF

CosmosPDF.pdf (121kb) downloaded 24 time(s).
Offline overlord  
#9 Posted : 30 September 2019 15:24:13(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 105
Turkey

Was thanked: 33 time(s) in 22 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post

The two PDf look same [I checked both]
That's why I suggested NOT use Microsoft.
If I make an Smath PDF as captured, PDF is 1/1
My PDF is CutePDF freeware, NOT Smath PDF.



Please zoom in both pdf. You will see they are not same.
Your last example has the same diseas, if you zoom in to your cosmos.pdf you will see.
Texts in cropped images are not looking good at pdf and paper.
Offline uni  
#10 Posted : 30 September 2019 16:16:06(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 957
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 871 time(s) in 490 post(s)
Originally Posted by: overlord Go to Quoted Post
Is there any way to show the office document as objects, not as images?

Unfortunately, no. As I know for good quality you must use .Net graphic library and there is no simple way to translate graphics from another application. In such projects, I try to find ways to use the existing code to expand the functionality of the program even if the quality of the document decreases. There are so many components that are based on the Control class, it would be great to use at least some of them. Because writing a useful plugin from scratch is very difficult.

Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
💰 Support me for plugins development: https://money.yandex.ru/to/410013245578758/100
thanks 1 user thanked uni for this useful post.
on 30/09/2019(UTC)
Offline Jean Giraud  
#11 Posted : 30 September 2019 17:10:48(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 3,976
Canada

Was thanked: 709 time(s) in 555 post(s)
Originally Posted by: overlord Go to Quoted Post
Please zoom in both pdf. You will see they are not same.
Your last example has the same diseas, if you zoom in to your cosmos.pdf you will see.
Texts in cropped images are not looking good at pdf and paper.

At right is the original in Smath document.
At left is the 100% Adobe, copied/pasted.

CosmosPDF.PNG
Offline Jean Giraud  
#12 Posted : 30 September 2019 17:18:02(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 3,976
Canada

Was thanked: 709 time(s) in 555 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
At right is the original in Smath document.
At left is the 100% Adobe, copied/pasted.

Smath document.

PDF Cosmos Test.sm (712kb) downloaded 13 time(s).

After this post, I will re-download check.
Offline Jean Giraud  
#13 Posted : 30 September 2019 17:30:01(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 3,976
Canada

Was thanked: 709 time(s) in 555 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
After this post, I will re-download check.

... re-download sanity checked confirmed 1/1.
Conclusion:
1. NO need for Microsoft for Smath *.PDF
2. Go by the procedure explained above.
3. Procedure presumably applicable to Smath past SS 6179.
4. Check [3] on latest SS.

Cheers ... Jean
Offline Jean Giraud  
#14 Posted : 30 September 2019 17:57:54(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 3,976
Canada

Was thanked: 709 time(s) in 555 post(s)
Simply, I don't understand what Microsoft has to do wrt Smath
I used only Paint in my Win 7, a damned poor Paint vs XP Home.
Offline overlord  
#15 Posted : 30 September 2019 21:22:41(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 105
Turkey

Was thanked: 33 time(s) in 22 post(s)
Originally Posted by: uni Go to Quoted Post

Unfortunately, no. As I know for good quality you must use .Net graphic library and there is no simple way to translate graphics from another application. In such projects, I try to find ways to use the existing code to expand the functionality of the program even if the quality of the document decreases. There are so many components that are based on the Control class, it would be great to use at least some of them. Because writing a useful plugin from scratch is very difficult.


Thank you for your kind and explanatory reply. So I have to get on with images.
Offline Jean Giraud  
#16 Posted : 30 September 2019 21:49:33(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 3,976
Canada

Was thanked: 709 time(s) in 555 post(s)
Originally Posted by: overlord Go to Quoted Post
So I have to get on with images.

Have you tried: select the Excel table, copy/paste in IrfanView.
Does not => f..k Microsoft Office.
Since Mathcad 8 Pro. select math regions [including table]
copy/paste in IrfanView ... bingo as an image,
copy image, paste in Smath [PDF Cosmos].
I asked for same feature in Smath, apparently was to be
added in SS 6179 < SS Newer.
The alternate captured procedure offered ... few more clicks.
Offline Davide Carpi  
#17 Posted : 30 September 2019 23:21:51(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,200
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1113 time(s) in 727 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
Since Mathcad 8 Pro. select math regions [including table]
copy/paste in IrfanView ... bingo as an image,
copy image, paste in Smath [PDF Cosmos].
I asked for same feature in Smath, apparently was to be
added in SS 6179 < SS Newer.

It is available since version 0.98.6523 Good

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline Jean Giraud  
#18 Posted : 01 October 2019 00:27:50(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 3,976
Canada

Was thanked: 709 time(s) in 555 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Davide Carpi Go to Quoted Post
It is available since version 0.98.6523
.
... then Collab Overlord should try.
Thanks Davide.

Offline Alex M.  
#19 Posted : 02 October 2019 21:43:06(UTC)
Alex M.


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 03/03/2014(UTC)
Posts: 402
Canada

Was thanked: 119 time(s) in 92 post(s)
Originally Posted by: overlord Go to Quoted Post
Jean, it is obvious you didn't check the pdf files. You really wouldn't need to tell me about how to crop images if you did, I already did that.
Problem is not how to do it, problem is font render quality. Smath copies excel tables as images, which has no font so no print quality.

1. there is undeniable quality difference between cropped image version (smath), which you mentioned, and font version (mathcad).
2. windows has its own screen capture program that works perfectly. no need to install or keep additional software for this purpose.
3. you actually don't need any software to copy image of excel tables, Ctrl+C is enough. than you can paste it as an image in smath.
But if you make pdf from smath file which has image copied excel table, quality is a disaster.

Regards


EXCEL I/O plugin will plot regions of excel for you without quality loss by using excel_EMF(#) function
https://en.smath.com/for...n-and-export-to-PNG.aspx

A sample of a Plot produced by combination of excel_EMF function and Image Region inside the SMath workbook.
The example was borrowed from one of the calculations by Jean Giraud.

Note the difference of as-printed quality between X-Y Plot output and excel_EMF output.

moody.pdf (93kb) downloaded 51 time(s). Inst_Colebrook MOODY_excelPlot.sm (21kb) downloaded 50 time(s). moody_plot.xlsx (32kb) downloaded 45 time(s).
moody_comp.png

Edited by user 02 October 2019 21:56:44(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

thanks 1 user thanked Alex M. for this useful post.
on 03/10/2019(UTC)
Offline overlord  
#20 Posted : 03 October 2019 00:36:35(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 105
Turkey

Was thanked: 33 time(s) in 22 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Alex M. Go to Quoted Post
EXCEL I/O plugin will plot regions of excel for you without quality loss by using excel_EMF(#) function
https://en.smath.com/for...n-and-export-to-PNG.aspx

A sample of a Plot produced by combination of excel_EMF function and Image Region inside the SMath workbook.
The example was borrowed from one of the calculations by Jean Giraud.

Note the difference of as-printed quality between X-Y Plot output and excel_EMF output.

This has much more render quality than I expected, actually there is no quality loss. Thank you very much.
If combination of excel_IO and image plugin can do this, there should be no reason MicroOffice plugins can't imho.
Smath can even store excel data embedded in *.sm file and it can be viewed without quality loss like your example.
So there won't be any need for an excel file (as a source) for viewing.


Users browsing this topic
2 Pages12>
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.