Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Michael2718  
#1 Posted : 11 July 2019 10:04:50(UTC)
Michael2718

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 11/07/2019(UTC)
Posts: 3
Australia

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Hello,
I am getting installation errors when attempting to install SMath Studio (from SMathStudioDesktop.0_99_7030.Setup.msi) on a Surface Pro 6 running Windows 10 Home. Two pop-up boxes appear, "Called RunScript when not marked in progress."; and "Called InstallFinalize when no install in progress."
I can install from the Microsoft Store but its version does not include the menus (there is another topic related to this).
I can install SMath Studio on a different PC running Windows 10 Pro.
Screen-shots and DXdiag output is attached.
smath_install_error1a.png
smath_install_error2a.png
smath_install_error3a.png

Regards,
Michael

DxDiag_surface.txt (89kb) downloaded 6 time(s).
Offline Davide Carpi  
#2 Posted : 11 July 2019 14:31:40(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,182
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1102 time(s) in 723 post(s)
Please try if this helps. There and in other internet threads seems a problem about permissions.
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline Jean Giraud  
#3 Posted : 11 July 2019 15:22:56(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 3,705
Canada

Was thanked: 686 time(s) in 535 post(s)
Have you tried disable AV's, FireWall's ?
Would it install on a virgin Win 10 Home ?
Offline Michael2718  
#4 Posted : 12 July 2019 06:23:23(UTC)
Michael2718

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 11/07/2019(UTC)
Posts: 3
Australia

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Davide - The date and time are accurate, I am using an administrator account and also tried reapplying permissions and copying the installation file to a folder with full access to everyone. I'll do a bit more digging on this topic, though.

Jean - I tried disabling real-time control for Windows Defender with no change. However, that is a point of difference with my desktop, which is running ESET. My Surface Pro is pretty close to 'virgin', I haven't done much with it.

Thanks so far,
Michael
Offline Michael2718  
#5 Posted : 12 July 2019 07:53:51(UTC)
Michael2718

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 11/07/2019(UTC)
Posts: 3
Australia

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 1 post(s)
I found running the MSI as an administrator via "run as administrator" context menu was successful. This menu option does not normally appear if you are an administrator, see How To Run MSI File As Administrator From Command Prompt In Windows for instructions. I used the MSI run as administrator option (second on the page) because running from the command prompt did not create shortcuts or make the application visible to the Windows uninstaller.

Thanks to Davide for the direction.

Regards,
Michael

Edited by moderator 12 July 2019 09:07:58(UTC)  | Reason: Marked as solved

thanks 2 users thanked Michael2718 for this useful post.
on 12/07/2019(UTC),  on 12/07/2019(UTC)
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.