Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline sinneD  
#1 Posted : 14 March 2019 19:27:21(UTC)
sinneD


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/03/2011(UTC)
Posts: 99
Location: Chicago

Was thanked: 16 time(s) in 7 post(s)
I am encountering an odd error with the newest version- it seems that SMATH is taking part of the path as a unicode formatting for a character.
In my case, 7568 is being read in as a Chinese character. It did not do this before.

I am not sure if this is also throwing of my include statements. I can not read in files I used to be able to.

unicode-include-error2.PNG
Join the SMath Studio Users Discord Channel: https://discord.gg/PayZpJW
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#2 Posted : 14 March 2019 20:34:47(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,430
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1682 time(s) in 567 post(s)
I am aware about this issue. Will require change of unicode symbols pattern in SS and automatic worksheet correction on opening.
Will be fixed in future SMath Studio versions.

Thank you!
Offline sinneD  
#3 Posted : 14 March 2019 23:05:58(UTC)
sinneD


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/03/2011(UTC)
Posts: 99
Location: Chicago

Was thanked: 16 time(s) in 7 post(s)
Include_7005-2.png (614kb) downloaded 13 time(s).So is the include error related or a whole other issue? I tried to simplify the file and file location, see the results below.

I rolled back to build 6894. The include statements work fine in that version.

In 7005, it just can not find the files.

I tried to include the version numbers for program and plugin in the screens.

EDIT: The images were not showing up right. I put them and the attachements inline.

6894 worksheet

7005 include error

Include_7005-2.png (614kb) downloaded 13 time(s).

Not to sound ungrateful, but many of my worksheets are broken. I will admit to becoming complacent and comfortable in SMath's stability and accuracy. I am in the middle of this perfect storm since i organize things by number and tried to organize my work to point to central library's of files.

I am finding it hard to believe that after a week and ~38k downloads, I am the one who is discovering it. Again, not complaining, but I know that there are many other more capable programmers and users out there.

Dennis

Edited by user 14 March 2019 23:11:18(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Join the SMath Studio Users Discord Channel: https://discord.gg/PayZpJW
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#4 Posted : 15 March 2019 00:49:39(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,430
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1682 time(s) in 567 post(s)
Reproduced. Looks like something broken in Include plug-in. Checking...
thanks 1 user thanked Andrey Ivashov for this useful post.
on 15/03/2019(UTC)
Offline sinneD  
#5 Posted : 15 March 2019 00:54:43(UTC)
sinneD


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/03/2011(UTC)
Posts: 99
Location: Chicago

Was thanked: 16 time(s) in 7 post(s)
thanks for checking, i don't mean to be difficult.
so these are two separate issues then?
Join the SMath Studio Users Discord Channel: https://discord.gg/PayZpJW
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#6 Posted : 15 March 2019 00:59:37(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,430
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1682 time(s) in 567 post(s)
Fixed. Please update Include plug-in using Extensions Manager.

Best regards.

Edited by user 15 March 2019 01:01:51(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

thanks 2 users thanked Andrey Ivashov for this useful post.
on 15/03/2019(UTC),  on 15/03/2019(UTC)
Offline PvdG  
#7 Posted : 08 June 2020 11:01:59(UTC)
PvdG

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 08/06/2020(UTC)
Posts: 4

Hi there,

I am encountering the same problem in Smath build 7030, include version 0.2.7013.1762: SmathVersion.PNGIncludeVersion.PNG.

I have a path that has "\2020\" in it, which turns into the unicode character U+2020 => dagger. Also when I simply type path := "\2020\", the character pops up, so without using the include function. I need the path for exportXLSX.

I was wondering if there are any new updates on how to solve this problem.

Thankyou!

Offline Davide Carpi  
#8 Posted : 08 June 2020 13:09:37(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,297
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1164 time(s) in 766 post(s)
Hello

Originally Posted by: PvdG Go to Quoted Post
I was wondering if there are any new updates on how to solve this problem.


as workaround you might input the path using forward slashes (/) instead of backslashes (\). This should mitigate the issue at least (the framework accept both formats as valid OS path).

Edited by user 08 June 2020 13:20:58(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline PvdG  
#9 Posted : 08 June 2020 17:49:42(UTC)
PvdG

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 08/06/2020(UTC)
Posts: 4

Originally Posted by: Davide Carpi Go to Quoted Post
as workaround you might input the path using forward slashes (/) instead of backslashes (\). This should mitigate the issue at least (the framework accept both formats as valid OS path).


Thankyou for your response Davide! I am currently using this workaround, which is fine for my own use of the program. However, for sharing the calculations it would be much easier to use DocumentDirectory() or even allowing others to copy their paths from windows file explorer. This saves having to explain it to them, as in both cases, a string with backslashes results and the unicode characters appear.

Offline Davide Carpi  
#10 Posted : 08 June 2020 18:23:56(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,297
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1164 time(s) in 766 post(s)
I know... the special characters feature has several implications, that's why there isn't an easy fix.

Following the forward slash path workaround, you can use path picker region to import easily the path and then apply a filter to automate the change.



(the backslash before the filename is intended, you can mix the slashes and it still works... not nice to see but it works)

Edited by user 09 June 2020 11:22:46(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline PvdG  
#11 Posted : 09 June 2020 10:32:40(UTC)
PvdG

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 08/06/2020(UTC)
Posts: 4

That would solve my problem, thanks for the advice! The only problem that remains is that I cannot find the path picker region in the extensions manager, any idea why this could be the case?
Offline Davide Carpi  
#12 Posted : 09 June 2020 11:26:53(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,297
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1164 time(s) in 766 post(s)
Originally Posted by: PvdG Go to Quoted Post
That would solve my problem, thanks for the advice! The only problem that remains is that I cannot find the path picker region in the extensions manager, any idea why this could be the case?


It might be not available or available only as beta depending on your program version (in the latter case you have to enable beta versions).

Nevermind however, I see the plugin has the same issue as the manual input while the 4 digits folder is in amid of the path. Confusion
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline PvdG  
#13 Posted : 09 June 2020 15:04:26(UTC)
PvdG

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 08/06/2020(UTC)
Posts: 4

Ah okay, too bad. Thanks anyway!
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.