Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

6 Pages«<456
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Davide Carpi  
#101 Posted : 09 November 2017 02:04:30(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,344
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1180 time(s) in 776 post(s)
Thank you Alex, it's the same issue reported here, I'll try to fix it tomorrow Good
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline Davide Carpi  
#102 Posted : 09 November 2017 14:45:09(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,344
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1180 time(s) in 776 post(s)
Fix committed for the latest SS BETA; I'm aware there are still some drawing issues with cases due to something in SMath Studio itself.
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline mkraska  
#103 Posted : 29 October 2019 13:50:37(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,658
Germany

Was thanked: 917 time(s) in 576 post(s)
There is a problem with at() in build 7219:

It seems that the function at() isn't executed.
2019-10-29 11_39_22-SMath Studio - [Page1_].png
Materials E7-6.sm (11kb) downloaded 23 time(s).

Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline Davide Carpi  
#104 Posted : 29 October 2019 19:27:07(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,344
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1180 time(s) in 776 post(s)
Thank you Martin, I will look at it as soon as I can.


edit: fixed in later versions SS

Edited by user 16 May 2020 15:33:00(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline mkraska  
#105 Posted : 03 November 2019 15:18:28(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,658
Germany

Was thanked: 917 time(s) in 576 post(s)
In the attached sheet, the conversion of solution results into definitions is demonstrated in two ways:
1. Usage of Assign(), a function made for this purpose in the Maxima plugin.
2. Usage of the substitution function at() from custom functions plugin, which by syntax should be good for the purpose.

It turns out that it makes a difference whether the Solve function is inside a line block or not. In the latter case, at() comes up with a strange error message.

Solve-3.png
Solve-3.sm (21kb) downloaded 28 time(s).
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline Davide Carpi  
#106 Posted : 16 May 2020 15:24:11(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,344
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1180 time(s) in 776 post(s)
PLUGIN UPDATED SMath Studio 0.99.7251 Nightly Build and later Beta

- Unknowns() improved to don't match integration variable of int(4);

Unknowns.sm (19kb) downloaded 19 time(s).

Edited by user 16 May 2020 15:26:02(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline Davide Carpi  
#107 Posted : 06 March 2021 18:29:00(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,344
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1180 time(s) in 776 post(s)
PLUGIN UPDATED SMath Studio 0.99.7691 Nightly Build and later

- [SS-4651] at() assignment improved to avoid unexpected substitutions when variables are given as replacements;


EDIT

either this should works correctly now:

Originally Posted by: mkraska Go to Quoted Post
In the attached sheet, the conversion of solution results into definitions is demonstrated in two ways:
1. Usage of Assign(), a function made for this purpose in the Maxima plugin.
2. Usage of the substitution function at() from custom functions plugin, which by syntax should be good for the purpose.

It turns out that it makes a difference whether the Solve function is inside a line block or not. In the latter case, at() comes up with a strange error message.

Edited by user 12 March 2021 12:52:09(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 2 users thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 06/03/2021(UTC),  on 06/03/2021(UTC)
Offline Jason McCool  
#108 Posted : 24 March 2021 16:00:36(UTC)
Jason McCool


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 27/05/2016(UTC)
Posts: 46
Man
United States
Location: Little Rock, Arkansas

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
Davide, thanks for developing this plugin; I use several function in here regularly. One that I just tried using that could be very useful for me is the Ceil function. In engineering we often want to always round up, so this would fit that bill well. However, it seems to only round up with respect to the base unit instead of the unit actually used. So instead of rounding a result up to the next inch (or millimeter), it rounds to the next foot (or meter). Would it be possible to account for the unit in that evaluation somehow?
Thanks,
Jason
SMath Ceil Function.png
Jason McCool
Robbins Engineering
Little Rock, AR, USA
Offline mkraska  
#109 Posted : 24 March 2021 17:49:52(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,658
Germany

Was thanked: 917 time(s) in 576 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jason McCool Go to Quoted Post
Davide, thanks for developing this plugin; I use several function in here regularly. One that I just tried using that could be very useful for me is the Ceil function. In engineering we often want to always round up, so this would fit that bill well. However, it seems to only round up with respect to the base unit instead of the unit actually used. So instead of rounding a result up to the next inch (or millimeter), it rounds to the next foot (or meter). Would it be possible to account for the unit in that evaluation somehow?
Thanks,
Jason

Such a function would definitely need the target unit as input. In order to use this for display automatically, the plugin would need to suppress back-simplification to SI, which might require "Optimization None" on user side. A comprehensible operator form might put a placeholder for the unit at the index position to the lower left

ceil2.png
ceil2.sm (4kb) downloaded 10 time(s).
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline Jason McCool  
#110 Posted : 24 March 2021 18:12:26(UTC)
Jason McCool


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 27/05/2016(UTC)
Posts: 46
Man
United States
Location: Little Rock, Arkansas

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
Yes, that looks like it will do what I need. Good idea, Martin. Thanks!
And I like the idea of being able to define the output unit in the index position. That seems clear and streamlined as well.
SMath Ceil2 Function.png
Jason McCool
Robbins Engineering
Little Rock, AR, USA
Offline Davide Carpi  
#111 Posted : 25 March 2021 15:56:13(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,344
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1180 time(s) in 776 post(s)
Originally Posted by: mkraska Go to Quoted Post
ceil2.png


useful, consistant, I like it... agreed. I'll add it in the next plugin update.

Edited by user 27 March 2021 18:51:55(UTC)  | Reason: typo

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 1 user thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 25/03/2021(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#112 Posted : 27 March 2021 18:42:00(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,344
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1180 time(s) in 776 post(s)
PLUGIN UPDATED SMath Studio 0.99.7739 Nightly Build and later

  • added Ceil(2);
  • added Floor(2);


2021-03-27 16_29_53-Window.png
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 4 users thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 27/03/2021(UTC),  on 27/03/2021(UTC),  on 28/03/2021(UTC),  on 29/03/2021(UTC)
Offline ElSid  
#113 Posted : 09 April 2021 16:42:14(UTC)
ElSid


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 05/03/2009(UTC)
Posts: 412
Man
United States
Location: USA

Was thanked: 12 time(s) in 11 post(s)
Davide,
Since you are using a specialized output with the brackets and unit subscript, I would like to suggest ceil2 using a superscript for the unit. floor2 keeps the current subscript. Visually, this will help us "SEE" what was used in context to the equation/function
Offline Davide Carpi  
#114 Posted : 14 April 2021 16:07:31(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,344
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1180 time(s) in 776 post(s)
Originally Posted by: ElSid Go to Quoted Post
Davide,
Since you are using a specialized output with the brackets and unit subscript, I would like to suggest ceil2 using a superscript for the unit. floor2 keeps the current subscript. Visually, this will help us "SEE" what was used in context to the equation/function


I get the point but seems to me that might be confusing when exponentiations are involved Umnik


ceil2_a_.png

ceil2_b_.png

Also, the "base" could be a variable, or a simple number

2mm.png

2.png

Edited by user 15 April 2021 13:04:35(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Users browsing this topic
Similar Topics
[Custom Functions plugin] cases SS6179 (Bugs & Problems)
by PompelmoTell 07/02/2017 19:14:23(UTC)
6 Pages«<456
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.