Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

6 Pages«<3456>
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline bdrunagle  
#81 Posted : 10 June 2016 10:51:55(UTC)
bdrunagle


Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 18/05/2010(UTC)
Posts: 26
Man
United Kingdom

Was thanked: 12 time(s) in 5 post(s)
Thank you Alvaro, thank you Davide.

I must have tried a semicolon (my separator) before because I recognise what happens after the first press:
cases(■;■;■;■)
but didn't try pressing a second time!

It works for me now! Biggrin

Thanks again

Brian
Offline Jean Giraud  
#82 Posted : 10 June 2016 17:14:59(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 4,104
Canada

Was thanked: 719 time(s) in 562 post(s)
Hello Brian,

Visit this great apllication, if it works for you.
It does not work anymore for me in the UNofficial 5346 relaese.
I concluded from multiple observations that the UNofficial
release came with a TimeStamp of so long duration so that past
the "date" it does not work anymore. In Smath 5346, this work sheet
did work properly for several days in multiple PC ON/OFF, but not
anymore to my disatisfaction. I observed that one from Davide
and many more from Martin.

Jean

Convolution RC [Cases, Davide].sm (110kb) downloaded 62 time(s).
Offline bdrunagle  
#83 Posted : 10 June 2016 18:42:58(UTC)
bdrunagle


Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 18/05/2010(UTC)
Posts: 26
Man
United Kingdom

Was thanked: 12 time(s) in 5 post(s)
Thanks for that Jean

I had a quick look at the "T - not defined" issue. There's a workaround for SMath 0.98.5997 by including the T variable in the h(t) definition, rather than in the plot (I think I've got the '-' signs right).
Convolution_RC update.sm (11kb) downloaded 66 time(s).

The formula in the plot doesn't look quite as you'd expect, but I think the answer's right.

Cheers

Brian
Offline Jean Giraud  
#84 Posted : 10 June 2016 19:40:57(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 4,104
Canada

Was thanked: 719 time(s) in 562 post(s)
Oh ! Brian: you must complete the project.

Forum Convolution Brian.gif

Offline Davide Carpi  
#85 Posted : 11 June 2016 13:41:22(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,214
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1120 time(s) in 731 post(s)
I have no issues in 0.97.5346; I don't think there are timestamps, 99% is something wrong in the plugins (missing or wrong for that SMath Studio version, or some conflict between plugins). cases() in the "unofficial portable" as it is when you download it is in the plugin Functions' Extensions 0.0.5261.2193; even updating Custom Functions to the latest available for 5346 I can run the worksheet correctly (this contains cases too, so there might be conflicts in some cases?).

In latest nightly build instead:
- I need the Brian's workaround to make it working the first plot (might be something in the 2D plot itself, since T is defined on the canvas);
- f(t) doesn't work anymore... I guess it might be something related to the "isUndefinedArgumetnSupported" af latest APIs, but seems there isn't a way to enable it for functions with an undefined number of arguments.... Umnik

About Levemberg-Marquardt, you have to install NonlinearSolvers plugin manully form the extensions manager: http://screencast-o-matic.com/watch/cD1X6giD2p

Edited by user 11 June 2016 13:49:18(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#86 Posted : 11 June 2016 15:44:19(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,382
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1619 time(s) in 542 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Davide Carpi Go to Quoted Post
might be something related to the "isUndefinedArgumetnSupported" af latest APIs, but seems there isn't a way to enable it for functions with an undefined number of arguments.... Umnik


undefined_for_all.png
thanks 1 user thanked Andrey Ivashov for this useful post.
on 11/06/2016(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#87 Posted : 11 June 2016 17:33:26(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,214
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1120 time(s) in 731 post(s)
Thank you Andrey!

Unfortunately doesn't fix the issue... Sad
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline Davide Carpi  
#88 Posted : 13 September 2016 17:37:09(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,214
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1120 time(s) in 731 post(s)
PLUGIN UPDATED SMath Studio 0.98.6096 Nightly Build only Beta

- cases() inner logic refactored (now acts in the same way both for numerical and symbolical evaluation);
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 4 users thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 13/09/2016(UTC),  on 13/09/2016(UTC),  on 13/09/2016(UTC),  on 02/12/2016(UTC)
Offline frapuano  
#89 Posted : 03 December 2016 18:46:30(UTC)
frapuano


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 01/08/2010(UTC)
Posts: 115
Man
Italy
Location: Rome

Was thanked: 13 time(s) in 13 post(s)
Hi Davide,

I am trying to use the at(2) to try to evaluate a formula with several variables in one step.
OK this makes quite no sense ...but is in an attempt much more difficult to use a same symbolical equation obtained through a solve in different parts of a documents with different values of the variables without using each time the technique of the disable evaluation ( at least is the only way I have found to address this issue ... it doesn't exist a command that allow to reuse a symbolical equation after some assignment have been done to the values of the variables referenced in it ).

However in doing this I have seen a strange behaviour of the at(2) as herewith reported:

sshot-1.jpg

See my comments in the screenshot.

Best regards

Franco
Offline Davide Carpi  
#90 Posted : 03 December 2016 20:39:56(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,214
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1120 time(s) in 731 post(s)
Hi Franco Good

Originally Posted by: frapuano Go to Quoted Post
but is in an attempt much more difficult to use a same symbolical equation obtained through a solve in different parts of a documents with different values of the variables without using each time the technique of the disable evaluation ( at least is the only way I have found to address this issue ... it doesn't exist a command that allow to reuse a symbolical equation after some assignment have been done to the values of the variables referenced in it ).

Once the variables are unknown at the definition of eta, you can reuse it any times you need, just define again the variables' values (search it in the Dynamic Assistant, you see that no numeric values are stored); use Clear(...) if you need to show again the unknown names.

2016-12-03 18_28_58-SMath Studio - [frapuano_at.sm_].png

Originally Posted by: frapuano Go to Quoted Post
However in doing this I have seen a strange behaviour of the at(2) as herewith reported:

This is because in the second argument of at() you are using variables already defined, therefore at() reads "7700*'kg/{'m^3}≡7700*'kg/{'m^3}" instead of "ρ_sfera≡7700*'kg/{'m^3}" -> currently you have to use Clear(ρ_sfera); I plan to improve at() with progressive preprocessing, to reduce these kind of problems (and the error message too).

2016-12-03 18_38_50-SMath Studio - [frapuano_at.sm].png

Edited by user 03 December 2016 20:41:35(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 1 user thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 03/12/2016(UTC)
Offline Jean Giraud  
#91 Posted : 04 December 2016 05:08:01(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 4,104
Canada

Was thanked: 719 time(s) in 562 post(s)
If you set your formula "mathematically"
[in this case as an implicit expression],
you will solve anywhere in the document
for any of the variable.

Solve Maple Multivar.gif
Offline frapuano  
#92 Posted : 04 December 2016 15:30:10(UTC)
frapuano


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 01/08/2010(UTC)
Posts: 115
Man
Italy
Location: Rome

Was thanked: 13 time(s) in 13 post(s)
The problem Joan was not to get a formula using the solve command but use the result of the solve in several places on a worksheet ( always the same equation obviously ) as happens in a book when you are explaining something using always the same expression but applying different values on the RHS variables.
I was worried that after using the 1st time an expression it was no more "live" for further usage with different values.
This till the explanation of Davide I was using the trick of the "Disable evaluation" ..but this is not very elegant and useful.
( to tell the truth I have used the clear ..but probably positioning it in an incorrect way because the result was not like the one shown by Davide )

Best regards

Franco
Offline Jean Giraud  
#93 Posted : 06 December 2016 01:33:48(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 4,104
Canada

Was thanked: 719 time(s) in 562 post(s)
In mathematics, there is solving & solving. Smath is generous
by itself and in Maple companionship, quite convenient for
teaching/publishing/engineering.
Visit some "solving" applications attached. Report what does
work or not clear.

Jean

Solve Maple Implict Expr.sm (49kb) downloaded 56 time(s).
thanks 1 user thanked Jean Giraud for this useful post.
on 06/12/2016(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#94 Posted : 13 March 2017 13:40:12(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,214
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1120 time(s) in 731 post(s)
PLUGIN UPDATED

- Abs() now is hidden from dynamic assistance and Functions dialog; consider this function deprecated and use vectorize(abs(...)) or a classic loop instead.

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline Jean Giraud  
#95 Posted : 14 March 2017 00:59:51(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 4,104
Canada

Was thanked: 719 time(s) in 562 post(s)
Originally Posted by: frapuano Go to Quoted Post
I was worried that after using the 1st time an expression it was no more "live" for further usage with different values.


Not very clear as well as the remaining of your comment.
Smath functions are infinitely usable, including the solvers. Taking into account
what comes with the new demand and taking into account of that you are not repluging
something in a bloc that has turned red first
. Generally a failed solve bloc can't be
repaired, depending upon the kind of failure.
Smath as well as Mathematica, Mathcad suffers "shadow in the context" page 7.
A bit of MicMac in long work sheets collectors type.

Jean

SolveGEN.sm (103kb) downloaded 48 time(s).

Offline Davide Carpi  
#96 Posted : 28 April 2017 13:12:12(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,214
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1120 time(s) in 731 post(s)
PLUGIN UPDATED SMath Studio 0.98.6325 and later

  • Clear(...) removed (built-in and more powerful since SMath Studio 0.98.6325);

Edited by user 28 April 2017 13:35:42(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 1 user thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 28/04/2017(UTC)
Offline Jean Giraud  
#97 Posted : 28 April 2017 17:09:42(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 4,104
Canada

Was thanked: 719 time(s) in 562 post(s)
Tanks Davide,

The big question is if new version will allow
updating 6179 via downloading 'patches' ?

Jean
Offline Davide Carpi  
#98 Posted : 28 April 2017 19:33:42(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,214
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1120 time(s) in 731 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
The big question is if new version will allow
updating 6179 via downloading 'patches' ?


It is up to Andrey's choice. In theory built-in Clear(...) is coded inside SpecialFunctions.dll, so this plugin in particular could be compiled and shared thorough the extension manager for older versions, providing the core of the target version is still compatible. In practice this might introduce some problems at several levels; due to the progress in the core some built-in plugins might be more back-compatible than others or not at all (therefore some plugin might be able to go back up to version 0.97.xxxx and other to some more reccent 0.98.yyyy). This will raise other problems, such as solving bugs for multiple core+plugins combinations (community side it makes harder to help to identify and solve problems, dev side this drains time to develop and fix bugs for further versions) Umnik
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline Davide Carpi  
#99 Posted : 16 August 2017 20:56:38(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,214
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1120 time(s) in 731 post(s)
PLUGIN UPDATED SMath Studio 0.98.6398 Nightly Build only

- added rgb2image(...) rgb2image.sm (15kb) downloaded 38 time(s).;
- image2rgb(...) speed improvements;
- refactoring;
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline Alex M.  
#100 Posted : 08 November 2017 23:15:10(UTC)
Alex M.


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 03/03/2014(UTC)
Posts: 402
Canada

Was thanked: 119 time(s) in 92 post(s)
Hi Davide, ran across this error...

CustRg.png
Users browsing this topic
Similar Topics
[Custom Functions plugin] cases SS6179 (Bugs & Problems)
by PompelmoTell 07/02/2017 19:14:23(UTC)
6 Pages«<3456>
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.