Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#1 Posted : 11 October 2018 01:54:46(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,286
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1415 time(s) in 482 post(s)

New Beta SMath Studio 0.99.6858 is available!

Tiny, powerful, free mathematical program with WYSIWYG editor and complete units of measurements support.

It provides numerous computing features and rich user interface translated into about 40 different languages. Application also contains integrated mathematical reference book.

SMath Studio boxCalculation of Gravitation Acceleration exampleExample of animation on the WorksheetExtensions Manager toolOpened math Reference BookSMath Viewer output to Autocad exampleSMath Studio on iOSSMath Studio on iPad

Application can be easily extended based on your needs. Built-in Extensions Manager tool allows to get access to hundreds official and third-party resources of the following types: usage examples, plug-ins, SMath Viewer based applications, snippets, interface translations, interactive books, handbooks and tutorials.

Changes introduced in current build

Improvements

  • Added support for Header/Footer (see Insert > Header/Footer menu items or use doubleclick on Header/Footer area to activate editing; press ESC or doubleclick on page content to return back);
  • Implemented support for Fields (auto-fields) inside MathRegion (see Insert > Field... dialog);
  • Added ability to Fill background image to the page bounds;
  • Background image can now be shown in full page size;
  • MathRegions consists with single variable name contains special symbols automatically switches cursor to Special Chars mode on focus.

Corrections

  • Fixed issue happens on drawing cursor after space symbol in MathRegion;
  • Incorrect pages numbers used in Insert Background dialog fixed for Pages layout mode;
  • Fixed observation happens on inserting operator inside of the variable name which contains special symbols;
  • SS-3567: Saving of worksheets with protected collapsed Areas fixed.

Miscellaneous

  • Refactoring.

Download

Software icon SMathStudioDesktop.0_99_6858.Setup.msi (Date: 2018.10.11; File size: 2.22 MB) - 977 downloads
Software icon SMathStudioDesktop.0_99_6858.Mono.tar.gz (Date: 2018.10.11; File size: 1.35 MB) - 178 downloads
thanks 9 users thanked Andrey Ivashov for this useful post.
on 11/10/2018(UTC),  on 11/10/2018(UTC),  on 11/10/2018(UTC),  on 11/10/2018(UTC),  on 11/10/2018(UTC),  on 11/10/2018(UTC),  on 12/10/2018(UTC),  on 16/10/2018(UTC),  on 18/10/2018(UTC)
Offline overlord  
#2 Posted : 12 October 2018 19:38:12(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 62
Turkey

Was thanked: 14 time(s) in 11 post(s)
New header-footer option is awesome. This will help me to reduce file sizes a lot.
By the way I noticed the linux and windows versions have layout difference.
Same file opened in SMath (6853) via "Arch Linux" an "Windows 10" has misaligned regions.
Regions under Linux are wider and pictures regions are bigger I guess.
I use cups-pdf to preview under Linux if it will help and I just noticed I can't print to pdf. But I can preview it.

Regards.

Edited by user 12 October 2018 19:50:25(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline ianlh  
#3 Posted : 14 October 2018 12:28:42(UTC)
ianlh

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 18/12/2014(UTC)
Posts: 1

On this latest version (mono), when selecting the units, the box only fills with the first. when required to use a different unit you can move down, but nothing is shown apart from the help/hint box.The Linux version i am using is Mint 18.3.

missing units 1.pngmissing unit 2.png
Offline mkraska  
#4 Posted : 15 October 2018 22:01:30(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,439
Germany

Was thanked: 759 time(s) in 486 post(s)
There is no "Field" entry in the Text_Eng.lang file (for Insert> Field).
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline Alex M.  
#5 Posted : 17 October 2018 20:42:38(UTC)
Alex M.


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 03/03/2014(UTC)
Posts: 397
Canada

Was thanked: 118 time(s) in 91 post(s)
Thank you for great formatting updates!

May I place a request please? It is often useful to record a date calculation page was created on. Is it possible to have a date field that is updated only when it is created or copy pasted instead of being continiously updated when file is opened or reloaded?

Thanks!
Offline alyles  
#6 Posted : 18 October 2018 00:14:08(UTC)
alyles


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/03/2016(UTC)
Posts: 125
United States

Was thanked: 40 time(s) in 26 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Alex M. Go to Quoted Post
Thank you for great formatting updates!

May I place a request please? It is often useful to record a date calculation page was created on. Is it possible to have a date field that is updated only when it is created or copy pasted instead of being continiously updated when file is opened or reloaded?

Thanks!


In the meantime, You could manually achieve this by right-clicking date field and choosing "disable evaluation" after the file is created the first time. Re-enable, reevaluate sheet, then disable anytime you recopy file or want to update the field. .
thanks 1 user thanked alyles for this useful post.
on 18/10/2018(UTC)
Offline Jean Giraud  
#7 Posted : 19 October 2018 00:00:08(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 3,152
Canada

Was thanked: 608 time(s) in 471 post(s)
Originally Posted by: alyles Go to Quoted Post
May I place a request please? It is often useful to record a date calculation page was created on. Is it possible to have a date field that is updated only when it is created or copy pasted instead of being continuously updated when file is opened or reloaded?


Interesting request, but between the moment a work sheet is first created
and the last saving [dozen and dozen times saved], the first time saved
has no more meaning: is it ?
Windows timestamp [hover on sheet name] is the last saved.
Print preview page header is the actual time
Offline Farja  
#8 Posted : 19 October 2018 18:46:24(UTC)
Farja

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 05/01/2018(UTC)
Posts: 3
Chile
Location: Zzz

Hi,

I know the limitations for importing Mathcad files. I have used it in the last couple of months without much trouble to partially import old mathcad sheets.

But, i get this error with the latest version: "Object reference not set to an instance of an object."

ss_001.png

Thanks!
Offline Mustafa_K  
#9 Posted : 21 October 2018 15:06:25(UTC)
Mustafa_K

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 16/10/2018(UTC)
Posts: 2
Germany
Location: Siegen

I observed the same error with the same Smath Studio version on Windows 8.1 (German). The message appears in German:
"Der Objektverweis wurde nicht auf eine Objektinstanz festgelegt".

Should I try to reinstall version 0.99.6839 - Stable (released at 2018-09-22) - recommended?

Thanks for the help in advance.

Regards,
Mustafa
Offline Mustafa_K  
#10 Posted : 21 October 2018 15:15:00(UTC)
Mustafa_K

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 16/10/2018(UTC)
Posts: 2
Germany
Location: Siegen

Just an update to the above error message. I uninstalled the latest beta version and installed the last stable version 0.99.6839. The problem was solved. I can open/import Mathcad files (.xmcd).
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#11 Posted : 26 October 2018 20:55:58(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,286
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1415 time(s) in 482 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Farja Go to Quoted Post
Hi,

I know the limitations for importing Mathcad files. I have used it in the last couple of months without much trouble to partially import old mathcad sheets.

But, i get this error with the latest version: "Object reference not set to an instance of an object."

ss_001.png

Thanks!


Thank you for the report. Issue is fixed now. Fix will be available into the next beta release.

Best regards!
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.