Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline 007.000  
#1 Posted : 22 May 2018 12:13:20(UTC)
007.000


Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 22/05/2018(UTC)
Posts: 25
Man
United States
Location: California

Although lcm() works in Maxima... it won't work for me in Smath using Maxima(lcm())
I'm a noob but researched for hours and am non-the-wiser... Any help is much appreciated.

The only result when searching the forum is a Matlab plugin which I couldn't work... plus I'm not sure lcm() is included with that plugin anyway.
https://en.smath.info/forum/yaf_...tlab-C-Math-Library.aspx

lcm.sm (3kb) downloaded 31 time(s).

Edited by moderator 22 May 2018 13:14:53(UTC)  | Reason: added Maxima tag

Offline mkraska  
#2 Posted : 22 May 2018 14:58:17(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,576
Germany

Was thanked: 853 time(s) in 542 post(s)
You need to load the "functs" package in Maxima first. Seems that wxMaxima does that on startup. I could also load this package automatically if required.
You can add this locally to your maxima.xml in the plugin directory (search for this file to find the directory).

2018-05-22 13_54_34-SMath Studio - [lcm.sm_].png


Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline 007.000  
#3 Posted : 23 May 2018 10:31:44(UTC)
007.000


Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 22/05/2018(UTC)
Posts: 25
Man
United States
Location: California

Thank you Mr. Kraska...

I found a Japanese page where others had to load it on their Maxima first as well.
http://web.sfc.keio.ac.jp/~yama/nos/?p=3505

Also this third party Maxima manual tells users to do so as well.
http://www.delorie.com/gnu/docs/maxima/maxima_95.html

Which turned out to actually be the instructions for SMath not Maxima.
Now I suppose I'll need to write a loop in order to use the function with more than two numbers.
Somewhat curious since Maxima has an ezgcd() function which accepts more than two inputs. Anyhow, I will click thanks on your profile Sir.

update: When I click thank on your post an error occurs.

Edited by user 23 May 2018 10:47:19(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.