Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#1 Posted : 22 March 2018 00:47:14(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,286
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1415 time(s) in 482 post(s)

New Beta SMath Studio 0.99.6654 is available!

Tiny, powerful, free mathematical program with WYSIWYG editor and complete units of measurements support.

It provides numerous computing features and rich user interface translated into about 40 different languages. Application also contains integrated mathematical reference book.

SMath Studio boxCalculation of Gravitation Acceleration exampleExample of animation on the WorksheetExtensions Manager toolOpened math Reference BookSMath Viewer output to Autocad exampleSMath Studio on iOSSMath Studio on iPad

Application can be easily extended based on your needs. Built-in Extensions Manager tool allows to get access to hundreds official and third-party resources of the following types: usage examples, plug-ins, SMath Viewer based applications, snippets, interface translations, interactive books, handbooks and tutorials.

Changes introduced in current build

Improvements

  • Added ability to install plug-in using drag'n'drop of downloaded zip-archive into SMath Studio window.

Corrections

  • Fixed unwanted scrolling on copying Region using Ctrl+Move by mouse taking Region by it's border;
  • SS-3517: Setting of matrix elements using linear indexing fixed;
  • SS-3519: German units names translations updated.

Miscellaneous

  • Loading speed of the program increased;
  • Interface translations updated;
  • Refactoring.

Download

Software icon SMathStudioDesktop.0_99_6654.Setup.msi (Date: 2018.03.22; File size: 2.16 MB) - 347 downloads
Software icon SMathStudioDesktop.0_99_6654.Mono.tar.gz (Date: 2018.03.22; File size: 1.29 MB) - 81 downloads
thanks 6 users thanked Andrey Ivashov for this useful post.
on 22/03/2018(UTC),  on 22/03/2018(UTC),  on 22/03/2018(UTC),  on 22/03/2018(UTC),  on 22/03/2018(UTC),  on 23/03/2018(UTC)
Offline mkraska  
#2 Posted : 26 March 2018 23:41:04(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,439
Germany

Was thanked: 759 time(s) in 486 post(s)
The behaviour of loops with second value seems to have improved. Is this generally fixed or just by chance?

2018-03-26 22_29_20-SMath Studio - [Matrices.sm_].png
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
thanks 1 user thanked mkraska for this useful post.
on 28/03/2018(UTC)
Offline MarB  
#3 Posted : 27 March 2018 09:16:09(UTC)
MarB


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 21/10/2016(UTC)
Posts: 36

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)
Discovered following behaviour concerning pagebrakes with very long blocks:
(scroll to right if necessary)

Pagebrake.PNG

The red marked block is so long, that it reaches the top of following page.
As you can see in the preview window, the sheet content is not printed.
Page 2 starts after the page brake with "Biegedrillknicken" when "Printing Bounds" is used.
While using "Pages view", the first printed page looks the same (mostly white) but the second page starts with the skipped content "System l=5,00m..."

Setting the font size only of the large block to something smaller so the bottom of it doesn't reach the page brake solves this issue.
Offline MarB  
#4 Posted : 27 March 2018 12:52:36(UTC)
MarB


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 21/10/2016(UTC)
Posts: 36

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)
Found another issue, while editing the description of a 2D plot:

When you put the cursor in the description and edit the text, a matching variable in the input data is edited simultaneously.
Screenshot: description is edited -> a second cursor appears in input data

cursor.PNG
Offline Jean Giraud  
#5 Posted : 27 March 2018 15:29:54(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 3,152
Canada

Was thanked: 608 time(s) in 471 post(s)
Originally Posted by: MarB Go to Quoted Post
Found another issue, while editing the description of a 2D plot:


Not clear w/o the document.
Offline Jean Giraud  
#6 Posted : 27 March 2018 15:36:59(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 3,152
Canada

Was thanked: 608 time(s) in 471 post(s)
Originally Posted by: MarB Go to Quoted Post
Discovered following behaviour concerning page brakes with very long blocks:


Maybe the problem is the construction ?
Document would surely help volunteers.
Offline MarB  
#7 Posted : 27 March 2018 15:59:31(UTC)
MarB


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 21/10/2016(UTC)
Posts: 36

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: MarB Go to Quoted Post
Found another issue, while editing the description of a 2D plot:


Not clear w/o the document.


Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: MarB Go to Quoted Post
Discovered following behaviour concerning page brakes with very long blocks:


Maybe the problem is the construction ?
Document would surely help volunteers.


Here you are:

Pagebrake.sm (71kb) downloaded 31 time(s).

Offline Jean Giraud  
#8 Posted : 27 March 2018 16:39:37(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 3,152
Canada

Was thanked: 608 time(s) in 471 post(s)
Originally Posted by: MarB Go to Quoted Post
Here you are:


The long page brakes are not in the attachment !
sin(x0 something => no problem Smath 6179

something.PNG


Offline MarB  
#9 Posted : 27 March 2018 17:16:10(UTC)
MarB


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 21/10/2016(UTC)
Posts: 36

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: MarB Go to Quoted Post
Here you are:

sin(x0 something => no problem Smath 6179

We are here in the "RC2: 0.99.6654"-thread.
So I thought it would be clearly that I refer to 0.99.6654.
Take a look at the video (screen capture) if you don't believe what I am writing.

SMath Studio - [Pagebrake.sm] 27.03.2018 15_58_31.mp4 (2,913kb) downloaded 23 time(s).


Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: MarB Go to Quoted Post
Here you are:

The long page brakes are not in the attachment !


Sure they are (I uploaded a simplified example):

pb1.PNG

thanks 1 user thanked MarB for this useful post.
on 27/03/2018(UTC)
Offline Jean Giraud  
#10 Posted : 27 March 2018 20:32:10(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 3,152
Canada

Was thanked: 608 time(s) in 471 post(s)
Originally Posted by: MarB Go to Quoted Post
Found another issue, while editing the description of a 2D plot:

When you put the cursor in the description and edit the text, a matching variable in the input data is edited simultaneously.
Screenshot: description is edited -


Your screen shot is explicit enough, but the document would help
more collab to check that particular issue or similar problem.
Nobody reported this bug, if it is an Smath bug.

Offline MarB  
#11 Posted : 27 March 2018 21:00:06(UTC)
MarB


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 21/10/2016(UTC)
Posts: 36

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: MarB Go to Quoted Post
Found another issue, while editing the description of a 2D plot: ...


Your screen shot is explicit enough, but the document would help
...


The document is linked in post #7. And the screen capture in post #9.
Offline alyles  
#12 Posted : 27 March 2018 21:22:30(UTC)
alyles


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/03/2016(UTC)
Posts: 125
United States

Was thanked: 40 time(s) in 26 post(s)
Originally Posted by: MarB Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: MarB Go to Quoted Post
Found another issue, while editing the description of a 2D plot:


Not clear w/o the document.


Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: MarB Go to Quoted Post
Discovered following behaviour concerning page brakes with very long blocks:


Maybe the problem is the construction ?
Document would surely help volunteers.


Here you are:

Pagebrake.sm (71kb) downloaded 31 time(s).



Can repeat both bugs with the provided file on 6654. Oddly enough I was able to enter a description sometimes without effecting the data field if I first clicked within the data field, then immediately clicked the description field. This only worked occasionally and seemed dependent on where I clicked within the data field.
thanks 2 users thanked alyles for this useful post.
on 27/03/2018(UTC),  on 27/03/2018(UTC)
Offline Jean Giraud  
#13 Posted : 28 March 2018 00:32:05(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 3,152
Canada

Was thanked: 608 time(s) in 471 post(s)
Originally Posted by: alyles Go to Quoted Post
Can repeat both bugs with the provided file on 6654. Oddly enough I was able to enter a description sometimes without effecting the data field if I first clicked within the data field, then immediately clicked the description field. This only worked occasionally and seemed dependent on where I clicked within the data field.


Bug/NObug ... pretty strange, whatever.
The document attached does not contain
the live Smath part in snippet # 3
There is one known shadow in context
You can't define a function starting with 'if'
if(a,b,x):=fnct(a,b,x) ... if NOT allowed.

Quick tip to get rid of "sometimes without effecting the data field"
1. in the description, type few letters not common to data field
2. once finished the description, zap the fake letters.
Offline MarB  
#14 Posted : 28 March 2018 09:08:09(UTC)
MarB


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 21/10/2016(UTC)
Posts: 36

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
The document attached does not contain the live Smath part in snippet # 3
There is one known shadow in context

To avoid "shadow in the context" I uploaded a very clean sheet (#7) which shows exactly the behaviour I described.

Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post

You can't define a function starting with 'if'
if(a,b,x):=fnct(a,b,x) ... if NOT allowed.

Really don't know why I should want to define 'if' myself.
Offline Jean Giraud  
#15 Posted : 28 March 2018 15:47:11(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 3,152
Canada

Was thanked: 608 time(s) in 471 post(s)
Originally Posted by: MarB Go to Quoted Post
To avoid "shadow in the context" I uploaded a very clean sheet (#7) which shows exactly the behaviour I described.

No bug from [#7], nobody else reported.
can't explain the non-explainable.

sin(x)bug.PNG

Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#16 Posted : 28 March 2018 18:42:23(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,286
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1415 time(s) in 482 post(s)
Originally Posted by: MarB Go to Quoted Post
Here you are:

Pagebrake.sm (71kb) downloaded 31 time(s).


Thank you! Both issues are reproduced and will be fixed asap.
thanks 2 users thanked Andrey Ivashov for this useful post.
on 28/03/2018(UTC),  on 28/03/2018(UTC)
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#17 Posted : 28 March 2018 18:43:47(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,286
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1415 time(s) in 482 post(s)
Originally Posted by: mkraska Go to Quoted Post
The behaviour of loops with second value seems to have improved. Is this generally fixed or just by chance?

2018-03-26 22_29_20-SMath Studio - [Matrices.sm_].png


Was not my goal. Looks like some refactoring might helped.
Offline Jean Giraud  
#18 Posted : 28 March 2018 19:27:49(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 3,152
Canada

Was thanked: 608 time(s) in 471 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Andrey Ivashov Go to Quoted Post
Was not my goal. Looks like some refactoring might helped.


It has some interest,
but needs be distinguished by some invention.

matrixweird.PNG
Offline ElSid  
#19 Posted : 28 March 2018 21:24:13(UTC)
ElSid


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 05/03/2009(UTC)
Posts: 275
Man
United States
Location: USA

Was thanked: 9 time(s) in 8 post(s)
Originally Posted by: ElSid Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
Are you doing something wrong or bug wrt your Smath version?

My sheet has the app version. I'm on 0.99.6654. Looks like that may be the problem

https://en.smath.info/fo...ot-Region.aspx#post47680

Jean confirmed similar issue with Maxima plugin too https://en.smath.info/fo...ot-Region.aspx#post47682
Offline ElSid  
#20 Posted : 28 March 2018 23:46:37(UTC)
ElSid


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 05/03/2009(UTC)
Posts: 275
Man
United States
Location: USA

Was thanked: 9 time(s) in 8 post(s)
"0.99.6661" fixed the x-y plugin problem
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.