Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline CBG  
#1 Posted : 07 March 2018 20:21:01(UTC)
CBG


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 14/10/2015(UTC)
Posts: 266

Was thanked: 65 time(s) in 47 post(s)
Will it be possible?


Table_Units.png


Table_Units.sm (10kb) downloaded 50 time(s).


Best Regards

Carlos
Offline mkraska  
#2 Posted : 07 March 2018 20:41:34(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,694
Germany

Was thanked: 933 time(s) in 589 post(s)
Tne solution isn't smart at all but it is possible. Would be half the trouble, if one could store and use the unit in the unit summary vector "us" as they are defined (prevent symbolic processing, which even can't be suppressed when setting optimization to none).

Table_Units_Kr.sm (12kb) downloaded 44 time(s).
table1.png
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
thanks 1 user thanked mkraska for this useful post.
on 07/03/2018(UTC)
Offline CBG  
#3 Posted : 07 March 2018 21:11:23(UTC)
CBG


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 14/10/2015(UTC)
Posts: 266

Was thanked: 65 time(s) in 47 post(s)
Thank you very much Martin,

But now how do I include the header?
since it does not appear as an option in the heading list.

Table_JHeader.png


Best regards

Carlos
Offline mkraska  
#4 Posted : 07 March 2018 22:31:35(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,694
Germany

Was thanked: 933 time(s) in 589 post(s)
Originally Posted by: CBG Go to Quoted Post
Thank you very much Martin,

But now how do I include the header?
since it does not appear as an option in the heading list.


Best regards

Carlos


The header can only be specified for the columns of the data matrix, thus only single column objects are listed as choices for header variable. I don't know of options to fill the fields above the left and right row titles.
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline Jean Giraud  
#5 Posted : 08 March 2018 03:35:17(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 5,695
Canada

Was thanked: 855 time(s) in 685 post(s)
Originally Posted by: CBG Go to Quoted Post
Will it be possible?


Unit system [base SI in Smath] is desperately too circular.

Table_Units(1).sm (10kb) downloaded 45 time(s).

UnitTable.PNG
Offline CBG  
#6 Posted : 08 March 2018 19:55:13(UTC)
CBG


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 14/10/2015(UTC)
Posts: 266

Was thanked: 65 time(s) in 47 post(s)
Many thanks to Martin and Jean


I think that the Table Region plugin should be
improved to include the possibility of incorporating
headers in the left and right columns.

Best regards

Carlos
Offline Jean Giraud  
#7 Posted : 08 March 2018 21:37:38(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 5,695
Canada

Was thanked: 855 time(s) in 685 post(s)
Originally Posted by: CBG Go to Quoted Post
I think that the Table Region plugin should be
improved to include the possibility of incorporating
headers in the left and right columns.


... some +++ from brain storming, will make it convenient.
Would be a great tool to collect all my fluids wrt their specifics.

Jean
Offline wb.c  
#8 Posted : 19 June 2018 03:21:58(UTC)
wb.c


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 02/04/2018(UTC)
Posts: 84
United States

Was thanked: 16 time(s) in 15 post(s)
Hello,

on the topic of units within the table, would the following be possible:

a:= ft
b:= in

matrix:=[a "-" b]

table:= matrix

Show a and b in a table with their corresponding units (ft and inches respectively)
Right now, a and b are shown as default unit only. Both are the same unit.

Why you may ask? This is an attempt at showing mixed units as a single output result in sheet. Often lengths are specified in feet + fractional inches.
Offline CBG  
#9 Posted : 19 June 2018 04:30:22(UTC)
CBG


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 14/10/2015(UTC)
Posts: 266

Was thanked: 65 time(s) in 47 post(s)
Something like this?

Table_Matrix.png


Table_Matrix.sm (9kb) downloaded 38 time(s).


Best Regrads

Carlos
Offline ElSid  
#10 Posted : 19 June 2018 17:39:56(UTC)
ElSid


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 05/03/2009(UTC)
Posts: 424
Man
United States
Location: USA

Was thanked: 16 time(s) in 14 post(s)
Carlos,
Some Jedi magic I don't understand in your sheet.
1) Where did you get the "S colon" {S:} as part of the variable? I don't remember seeing this command/function and don't understand it's use
2) How did you display Matrix (Table)? Most Matrices use the augment command to generate the table. It's not like you typed in Matrix= ... Found this answer, never used it Ctrl+Shift+T
3) Is this a true matrix that was created? Looks like just a data display table. Cannot use the values short of using the variables a or b

Thank you

Edited by user 19 June 2018 17:48:08(UTC)  | Reason: Found answer for item 2 on my own

Offline wb.c  
#11 Posted : 19 June 2018 19:11:25(UTC)
wb.c


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 02/04/2018(UTC)
Posts: 84
United States

Was thanked: 16 time(s) in 15 post(s)
CBG, The idea is to show mixed units as single linear output.

Units-Table.PNG

Mixed Units Ideas - Table.sm (26kb) downloaded 28 time(s).
Offline CBG  
#12 Posted : 19 June 2018 19:39:04(UTC)
CBG


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 14/10/2015(UTC)
Posts: 266

Was thanked: 65 time(s) in 47 post(s)
Table_Units_R1.png

Mixed Units Ideas - Table_R1.sm (39kb) downloaded 30 time(s).


Best Regards

Carlos
Offline wb.c  
#13 Posted : 19 June 2018 19:48:06(UTC)
wb.c


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 02/04/2018(UTC)
Posts: 84
United States

Was thanked: 16 time(s) in 15 post(s)
Carlos,

Adding the "S:" makes it look much better.
Maybe at some point, the table region will allow for mixed units. For the time being this solution will work well.
thanks for the input.

Wes
Offline CBG  
#14 Posted : 19 June 2018 23:20:36(UTC)
CBG


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 14/10/2015(UTC)
Posts: 266

Was thanked: 65 time(s) in 47 post(s)
Hello ElSid

1).-The "S: '" is to be displayed as a unit in blue, and I learned it from Martin Kraska.

3).-It is the table region, which calls the variable matrix with the name.


Best Regards

Carlos
Offline wb.c  
#15 Posted : 27 June 2018 19:22:20(UTC)
wb.c


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 02/04/2018(UTC)
Posts: 84
United States

Was thanked: 16 time(s) in 15 post(s)
Carlos,

The "unit summary" function of the table region will actually perform the unit conversions for you.
Note that this is only for direct scalar multiplier conversions. It does not work for temp units...

This way you don't have to cancel out units in the matrix going into the table. The "units summary" will do that for you.

Note that the "unit summary" is selected but NOT displayed. There is also a proof with variables.

This idea comes from user ndtma on the Table Region topic, at least that's where i saw it first, maybe someone else did it first?

Table - Unit Conversion 1.PNG
Offline Jean Giraud  
#16 Posted : 27 June 2018 20:09:34(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 5,695
Canada

Was thanked: 855 time(s) in 685 post(s)
Originally Posted by: wb.c Go to Quoted Post
It does not work for temp units...


... doctored for °C. Very convenient for me, up2next !

Table6179Doctored.PNG

Table Region Carlos.sm (11kb) downloaded 34 time(s).
Offline wb.c  
#17 Posted : 27 June 2018 20:31:56(UTC)
wb.c


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 02/04/2018(UTC)
Posts: 84
United States

Was thanked: 16 time(s) in 15 post(s)
Jean,

"S:'L/s" should be "S:'L/'s". Note the added "'" in order to show "s" as blue unit.
Offline Jean Giraud  
#18 Posted : 28 June 2018 01:47:27(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 5,695
Canada

Was thanked: 855 time(s) in 685 post(s)
Originally Posted by: wb.c Go to Quoted Post
Jean,

"S:'L/s" should be "S:'L/'s". Note the added "'" in order to show "s" as blue unit.


Thanks for that one wb.c ... corrected !

Jean
Offline CBG  
#19 Posted : 29 June 2018 05:57:51(UTC)
CBG


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 14/10/2015(UTC)
Posts: 266

Was thanked: 65 time(s) in 47 post(s)
Originally Posted by: wb.c Go to Quoted Post
The "unit summary" function of the table region will actually perform the unit conversions for you.
Note that this is only for direct scalar multiplier conversions. It does not work for temp units...
This way you don't have to cancel out units in the matrix going into the table. The "units summary" will do that for you.
Note that the "unit summary" is selected but NOT displayed. There is also a proof with variables.
This idea comes from user ndtma on the Table Region topic, at least that's where i saw it first, maybe someone else did it first?






Hello wb.c

I know what you say, but it has the disadvantage that you can not put a header in the table. On the other hand,
it is very easy to make a copy of the table and delete in a single stroke the left part corresponding to the Units


Hi Jean:

A very simple solution for the problem of the conversion of the temperature in Celsius Degrees, is that you define
your own unit of degrees Celsius.


Table_Region_Grados_C.png


Table Region Carlos_Jean_R1.sm (12kb) downloaded 34 time(s).


thanks 2 users thanked CBG for this useful post.
on 29/06/2018(UTC),  on 29/06/2018(UTC)
Offline Jean Giraud  
#20 Posted : 29 June 2018 14:32:39(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 5,695
Canada

Was thanked: 855 time(s) in 685 post(s)
Originally Posted by: CBG Go to Quoted Post
Hi Jean:

A very simple solution for the problem of the conversion of the temperature in Celsius Degrees, is that you define
your own unit of degrees Celsius.


Thanks Carlos for that one.
Thanks to all Doctors ... Nice for publishing.

Jean

Table Region Carlos.sm (13kb) downloaded 42 time(s).

TableRegion.PNG

Users browsing this topic
Similar Topics
Show the Orignal Units in Table Region (Questions)
by CBG 21/03/2018 22:01:53(UTC)
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.