Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

22 Pages«<45678>»
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline uni  
#101 Posted : 05 May 2013 00:38:36(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,336
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1169 time(s) in 675 post(s)
Updated.

Maple doesn't support the expression of a subscript in the form of text. So you can't use such an expression. Dot (comma) between the identifier and other identifier (or number) is ignored. It reminds me a Lisp.



Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
Offline mkraska  
#102 Posted : 05 May 2013 00:59:57(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,757
Germany

Was thanked: 967 time(s) in 615 post(s)


Perhaps an option to support text indices is to change the dot to underscore and vice versa in the interface. Maple can handle that, it the way it is done in latex and in SMath there is no reason for ugly variable names with underscores (except for compatibility with Mathcad Wink ) If variables with underscores are esential, then replace the dot by two underscores or something else that hardly is expected to be used.

However, I have no idea, how essential that is for the users and if that is easy to do in the current interface concept. In general, I appreciate the plugins supporting the base features of SMath. OK, I am not expecting unit support to come soon...

mkraska attached the following image(s):
maple.PNG
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline uni  
#103 Posted : 05 May 2013 14:04:40(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,336
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1169 time(s) in 675 post(s)
Originally Posted by: mkraska Go to Quoted Post
However, I have no idea, how essential that is for the users and if that is easy to do in the current interface concept. In general, I appreciate the plugins supporting the base features of SMath. OK, I am not expecting unit support to come soon...


Updated. I think I found a way. As for the units, I do not understand what you mean.

Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
thanks 1 user thanked uni for this useful post.
on 05/05/2013(UTC)
Offline mkraska  
#104 Posted : 05 May 2013 14:46:20(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,757
Germany

Was thanked: 967 time(s) in 615 post(s)
Again, great work, lots of thanks!

Now аll errors (mainly with parse and map) have gone.

The method for text indices that you found seems to be stable and cannot be tricked by numbers.

maple(diff((x.1^3+x.2^3),x.1))=3*x.1^2@#


However, same procedure...
I found another localization issue. When function style is set to european, that makes trouble. I think it would be sensible if internally there was always the same representation, regardless of local settings. Then the plugin providers would not be forced to handle that on their own and could focus on the added features. However, it is as it is.

maple(series(sh(x),x)) results in "empty stack"

As for the units: for purely symbolical calculations that is not required. This is more of an issue for numeric procedures like definite integration, ode and equations solving. These work in SMath only for unit-free integration variable or unknown variable. An example for better unit handling is the NonLinearSolvers plugin. You can specify initial values or limits with units and get results with units at the price of that you have to think about the dimensions of error tolerances.



Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline uni  
#105 Posted : 05 May 2013 18:13:07(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,336
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1169 time(s) in 675 post(s)
Updated. Added support for trigonometric functions.

It is should be done so:

uni attached the following image(s):
MapleWrapper_screen9.png
Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
Offline mkraska  
#106 Posted : 05 May 2013 21:05:28(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,757
Germany

Was thanked: 967 time(s) in 615 post(s)
Thanks again for the update. Your examples work.

I've made a scanner for the series expansion example. It is, however, not entirely equivalent to direct non-optimized maple calls. What it can show, however, is that the function style settings sometimes work with "world" and sometimes with "europe" (the latter with arcsin, arccos). Perhaps maple names are a mix of both. Anyways, the scanner is demo for the power of the maplewrapper plugin combined with animation.

Edited by user 05 May 2013 21:10:04(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

File Attachment(s):
Seriestest.sm (10kb) downloaded 62 time(s).
mkraska attached the following image(s):
scanner.PNG
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline uni  
#107 Posted : 05 May 2013 21:36:27(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,336
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1169 time(s) in 675 post(s)
Maple names. They will always work (in maple()), but the result will depend on the settings of the program. We need to use a Help to both programs to achieve adequate results.

Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
thanks 2 users thanked uni for this useful post.
on 05/05/2013(UTC),  on 05/05/2013(UTC)
Offline kaka  
#108 Posted : 15 May 2013 02:47:56(UTC)
kaka


Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 18/04/2013(UTC)
Posts: 25

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Hi uni,

the expand function doesn't work

expand((x+1)*(x-1));

should be x^2-1 as in maple dos

but in SMath maple it gives me (-1+x)*(1+x)

could you have a look, thank you.
thanks 1 user thanked kaka for this useful post.
on 15/05/2013(UTC)
Offline uni  
#109 Posted : 15 May 2013 03:02:51(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,336
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1169 time(s) in 675 post(s)
Originally Posted by: kaka Go to Quoted Post
Hi uni,

the expand function doesn't work

expand((x+1)*(x-1));

should be x^2-1 as in maple dos

but in SMath maple it gives me (-1+x)*(1+x)

could you have a look, thank you.

Updated. Fixed. It seems that there is an internal function expand().

Edited by user 15 May 2013 03:05:03(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
Offline uni  
#110 Posted : 24 May 2013 08:34:13(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,336
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1169 time(s) in 675 post(s)
Updated. Added experimental option to display 3D graphs (Maple Plot in the Insert list items).

Edited by user 24 May 2013 09:20:04(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
Offline omorr  
#111 Posted : 24 May 2013 10:23:43(UTC)
omorr


Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 23/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,740
Man
Serbia

Was thanked: 318 time(s) in 268 post(s)
I could not read your MaplePlot.Example-1.sm. Nothing appeared

I could get the plots by myself Good . The slight inconvenience is that as soon as I choose the Insert|Maple Plot I must insert something into the plot placeholder. If I just click outside the empty plot, SMath crashes (Win7(64))

Regards,
Radovan


omorr attached the following image(s):
MaplePlot.png
When Sisyphus climbed to the top of a hill, they said: "Wrong boulder!"
Offline sija  
#112 Posted : 24 May 2013 17:43:41(UTC)
sija


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 19/04/2013(UTC)
Posts: 46
Man
Poland
Location: Podkarpackie, Poland

Was thanked: 7 time(s) in 7 post(s)
Hi Uni!

Thank you for the splendid MapleWrapper plugin. It is particularly useful because SMath Studio does not have yet it's own engine to symbolic calculations. Thank you once again.

However I have a small problem which I cannot dissolve. Below there are two images. First pictures is the situation before the record of the file - calculations were performed, and second one after the disk recording and the renewed opening of the file in SMath Studio. As it is visible after the renewed opening of the file calculation were not executed. Unfortunately I do not know why? I tried to reproduce this situation on many files and different calculations. Unfortunately always with the same result. Probably there is something wrong with the command "desolve"?

Heartily please all for the help in solution of this problem. From above thank you and I greet you very much.

P.S.

Maybe somebody would be able to place on the forum the example-file *.sm on how the use of commands "plot" and "plot3d" in MapleWrapper? Thank you.

No error before recording

Error after recording and the renewed opening .sm file

Edited by user 24 May 2013 18:19:28(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline mkraska  
#113 Posted : 24 May 2013 20:19:06(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,757
Germany

Was thanked: 967 time(s) in 615 post(s)
maple() seems to have problems with matrix expressions. Direct usage of SMath expressions can give wrong results. Translation using maple's matrix operations fails as well (perhaps just a problem with multiply() ).

Edited by user 24 May 2013 20:21:24(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

File Attachment(s):
Matrix.sm (10kb) downloaded 47 time(s).
mkraska attached the following image(s):
maplebug.PNG
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
thanks 2 users thanked mkraska for this useful post.
on 24/05/2013(UTC),  on 24/05/2013(UTC)
Offline omorr  
#114 Posted : 24 May 2013 20:54:33(UTC)
omorr


Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 23/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,740
Man
Serbia

Was thanked: 318 time(s) in 268 post(s)
Hello,
Originally Posted by: sija Go to Quoted Post
Hi Uni!...Probably there is something wrong with the command "desolve"?

I could reproduce this.

By the way, it seems you do not have to use maple() for the assignments - uni told me that Good . See the first picture please.

I think the problem here is the two equal signs. If you recalculate page, or save the file and reopen, this will get lost. In the case of recalculation, the region will be messed up (see the second picture). If you try to select it and move it a bit - it will reappear but without the symbolical result. Just do the calculation manually again (CTRL+.).
It seems that the problem is in this particular recalculation of maple() SMath region with two equal signs.

Regards,
Radovan
omorr attached the following image(s):
maple-proba1.png
maple-proba2.png
When Sisyphus climbed to the top of a hill, they said: "Wrong boulder!"
thanks 1 user thanked omorr for this useful post.
on 24/05/2013(UTC)
Offline sija  
#115 Posted : 24 May 2013 21:30:54(UTC)
sija


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 19/04/2013(UTC)
Posts: 46
Man
Poland
Location: Podkarpackie, Poland

Was thanked: 7 time(s) in 7 post(s)
Hi Radovan!

Heartily thank you for your detailed explanation. I greet heartily.

Regards,
Janusz
Offline uni  
#116 Posted : 24 May 2013 21:46:42(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,336
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1169 time(s) in 675 post(s)
Updated. Yes, Radovan rights. You must manually retrieve the desired result.


File Attachment(s):
Maple. Example 1.sm (5kb) downloaded 53 time(s).
Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
Offline sija  
#117 Posted : 24 May 2013 21:51:57(UTC)
sija


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 19/04/2013(UTC)
Posts: 46
Man
Poland
Location: Podkarpackie, Poland

Was thanked: 7 time(s) in 7 post(s)
Hello,

I do another example:

No error in this example

In this case after the renewed opening of the file calculation were executed. Why?

Regards,
Janusz
Offline sija  
#118 Posted : 24 May 2013 21:59:26(UTC)
sija


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 19/04/2013(UTC)
Posts: 46
Man
Poland
Location: Podkarpackie, Poland

Was thanked: 7 time(s) in 7 post(s)
Hello Uni,

Thank you for new update.

Regards,
Janusz
Offline uni  
#119 Posted : 24 May 2013 22:00:29(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,336
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1169 time(s) in 675 post(s)
Originally Posted by: sija Go to Quoted Post
Hello,

I do another example:

No error in this example

In this case after the renewed opening of the file calculation were executed. Why?

Regards,
Janusz

Try this with newer version.

Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
Offline sija  
#120 Posted : 24 May 2013 22:04:40(UTC)
sija


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 19/04/2013(UTC)
Posts: 46
Man
Poland
Location: Podkarpackie, Poland

Was thanked: 7 time(s) in 7 post(s)
Uni,

Thank you for your answer. OK I will do.

Regards,
Janusz

Edited by user 24 May 2013 22:09:45(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Users browsing this topic
22 Pages«<45678>»
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.