Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

23 Pages<12345>»
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline mkraska  
#41 Posted : 30 April 2013 19:32:13(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,685
Germany

Was thanked: 928 time(s) in 586 post(s)
Originally Posted by: uni Go to Quoted Post
...when you need to share files between countries with different regional standards...


I guess that's what we do all the time in the forum...

localization is important for me, as I use SMath for teaching and I want the students to stick to national standards (or international ones and that includes writing in english, which most of them feel not comfortable with - that's why the handbook is in german).

Due to the central location of settings it is not easy to maintain uptodate installations with different settings for testing. I feel much relieved by using the portable ("linux" ) version with plugins, that allows installation of plugins on the fly without being asked for admin rights. However, this version does not have any settings file in the install dir.

Another issue:
I get problems with co-existing plot regions from the plugin and smath internal. See attached file. The first image is generated by save as and seems to be ok, the display however, is buggy (second image).

This does not happen with the example by Ber7.

Edited by user 30 April 2013 19:38:28(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

File Attachment(s):
demo2.sm (6kb) downloaded 88 time(s).
mkraska attached the following image(s):
demo2.png
demo2sc.PNG
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline uni  
#42 Posted : 30 April 2013 19:41:30(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,155
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1004 time(s) in 581 post(s)
Originally Posted by: mkraska Go to Quoted Post

Another issue:
I get problems with co-existing plot regions from the plugin and smath internal. See attached file. This does not happen with the example by Ber7.

Yes, I noticed that. Also, when recalculating the document a lot of times artifacts appear and region disappear. I don't know what's happening.
Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
💰 Support me for plugins development: https://yoomoney.ru/to/410013245578758
Offline uni  
#43 Posted : 30 April 2013 20:48:19(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,155
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1004 time(s) in 581 post(s)
Update: + Expand/Collapse All in formatting form context menu.
Let's look again. Create each of you a simple sm-file (not smz) with one X-Y Plot and attach it to your message.
Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
💰 Support me for plugins development: https://yoomoney.ru/to/410013245578758
Offline omorr  
#44 Posted : 30 April 2013 21:30:34(UTC)
omorr


Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 23/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,740
Man
Serbia

Was thanked: 318 time(s) in 268 post(s)
Hello uni,

I managed to open your example file for the first time Good - find attached (just made a small correction in the title)

As you asked, I attached a new simple plot (find attached please)

If you need anything else, just let us know.

By the way, I do not quite understand the Add, Remove under Traces|Members (Chart2Dlib.DataSeries). Add will issue an error, Remove will remove formatting. I suppose this option is under development.

Regards,
Radovan
File Attachment(s):
XY Plot. Example 1-omorr.sm (5kb) downloaded 92 time(s).
XYPlot.omorr.sm (4kb) downloaded 83 time(s).
When Sisyphus climbed to the top of a hill, they said: "Wrong boulder!"
thanks 1 user thanked omorr for this useful post.
on 30/04/2013(UTC)
Offline mkraska  
#45 Posted : 30 April 2013 22:00:30(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,685
Germany

Was thanked: 928 time(s) in 586 post(s)
Here is my test file.

- formatting problem persists,
- undefined values (ln for negative x) add a spurious dataset and disable plotting.
- wrong position of (x-2)^2 curve and matrix in the plugin demo EDIT: they belong to y2, I did not guess that from the plot and failed to check prior to complaining...)

Some of the properties can be changed with the mousewheel. Some of them seem to loose mouse focus after a change, such that the mousewheel does not have any effect until the cell is clicked again (e.g. in the line color tab )

I would suggest to make the user colors default tab in the line color property. The 2D color chooser is much more convenient than the huge lists (web, system)

Could the dataseries properties be directly exposed in the main screen?

Edited by user 30 April 2013 22:23:09(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

File Attachment(s):
demo4.sm (6kb) downloaded 107 time(s).
mkraska attached the following image(s):
xy2.PNG
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
thanks 1 user thanked mkraska for this useful post.
on 30/04/2013(UTC)
Offline uni  
#46 Posted : 30 April 2013 22:03:42(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,155
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1004 time(s) in 581 post(s)
Originally Posted by: omorr Go to Quoted Post
Hello uni,

I managed to open your example file for the first time Good - find attached (just made a small correction in the title)

As you asked, I attached a new simple plot (find attached please)

If you need anything else, just let us know.

By the way, I do not quite understand the Add, Remove under Traces|Members (Chart2Dlib.DataSeries). Add will issue an error, Remove will remove formatting. I suppose this option is under development.

Regards,
Radovan

Ok, now I can open your files (but for the second file StatisticalTools plugin require). As for the Add, Remove under Traces|Members (Chart2Dlib.DataSeries) - do not use this feature (it should not be there).
Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
💰 Support me for plugins development: https://yoomoney.ru/to/410013245578758
Offline uni  
#47 Posted : 30 April 2013 22:06:33(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,155
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1004 time(s) in 581 post(s)
Quote:
wrong position of (x-2)^2 curve and matrix in the plugin demo

And what about y2 axis? [IsY2Data = true] for these curves.

P.S.
Quote:
- formatting problem persists,
- undefined values (ln for negative x) add a spurious dataset and disable plotting.

Working on it.

As for the formatting form I use standart propertyGrid control. It works fully automaticaly and really hard for me change it behavior for now. May be in future.
These examples I can open too.

Edited by user 30 April 2013 22:24:24(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
💰 Support me for plugins development: https://yoomoney.ru/to/410013245578758
Offline mkraska  
#48 Posted : 30 April 2013 22:21:06(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,685
Germany

Was thanked: 928 time(s) in 586 post(s)
Originally Posted by: uni Go to Quoted Post
Quote:
wrong position of (x-2)^2 curve and matrix in the plugin demo

And what about y2 axis? [IsY2Data = true] for these curves.


Oh, yes, you are right. Should have taken some more time to understand the picture.

Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline omorr  
#49 Posted : 30 April 2013 23:27:10(UTC)
omorr


Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 23/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,740
Man
Serbia

Was thanked: 318 time(s) in 268 post(s)
I tried it in Xubuntu. It seema to work pretty well, in spite of Mono problems reported earlier.
I managed to save the file this time (Xubuntu upgraded to 13.04).

Regards,
Radovan




File Attachment(s):
XY Plot. Example-xubuntu.sm (7kb) downloaded 68 time(s).
When Sisyphus climbed to the top of a hill, they said: "Wrong boulder!"
thanks 1 user thanked omorr for this useful post.
on 01/05/2013(UTC)
Offline uni  
#50 Posted : 01 May 2013 06:02:20(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,155
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1004 time(s) in 581 post(s)
Updated: Fixed a display error. Small changes in the format again (I hope they last).

Edited by user 01 May 2013 06:27:03(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

File Attachment(s):
X-Y Plot. Hilbert Curve.sm (11kb) downloaded 80 time(s).
Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
💰 Support me for plugins development: https://yoomoney.ru/to/410013245578758
thanks 2 users thanked uni for this useful post.
on 01/05/2013(UTC),  on 03/05/2013(UTC)
Offline mkraska  
#51 Posted : 01 May 2013 11:54:21(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,685
Germany

Was thanked: 928 time(s) in 586 post(s)
Originally Posted by: uni Go to Quoted Post
Updated: Fixed a display error. Small changes in the format again (I hope they last).



I had no problems to read files from the previous version. However, in one case, the commas (decimal delimiters) from the axes limit values had gone. Once corrected, they persist upon save and open.

I confirm that the problem of co-existing plots (internal and plugin) is fixed.

Remaining issues so far:
- Tick value formatting
- Tick origin (might be a feature, which I would request to change)
- Unhandled NaN values (in the internal plot region, a convenient way to limit a curve in x-direction is to divide by corresponding boolean expressions)

Would you recommend to start serious work (like Handbook examples...) based on the current file format? That would imply the hope that future versions shall be downward compatible w.r.t. file format.
File Attachment(s):
demo4.sm (6kb) downloaded 72 time(s).
mkraska attached the following image(s):
demo4.png
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline omorr  
#52 Posted : 01 May 2013 13:10:07(UTC)
omorr


Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 23/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,740
Man
Serbia

Was thanked: 318 time(s) in 268 post(s)
I experienced SMath crashes when accidentally put zero or negative values for X-Axis|XTick, Y-Axis|YTick . I think this is not so important at the moment.

Regards,
Radovan
When Sisyphus climbed to the top of a hill, they said: "Wrong boulder!"
Offline uni  
#53 Posted : 01 May 2013 20:36:46(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,155
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1004 time(s) in 581 post(s)
Originally Posted by: mkraska Go to Quoted Post
Could global variables be an option?

The user might define or display values of settings like
XYPlot.xmin:0
XYPlot.xmax:3'm -> this would give the independent variable a unit
XYPlot.ymin:0
XYPlot.ymax:"auto" (auto-scaling)
XYPlot.xaxis:"log" or "lin"
XYPlot.title:num2str(n)
XYPlot.xtics:0,5*'m

etc. This would be quite transparent and readable, but could be hidden in collapsable regions if required.
Settings in the context menu might change or override the variable values or restore them to defaults.
Units could be automatically added to the default axis label if appropriate. You could, however, leave proper annotation in the user's responsibility.

Sticking to some naming convention (e.g. gnuplot) would facilitate the usage.


Updated.

Something like this? As for serious use, it's still early.

To use this feature: Properties Source->SourceType = Sheet, Index = n, n - index in limit vector (XLimMin, XLimMax, ...).

Edited by user 01 May 2013 20:46:47(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

File Attachment(s):
LimitsDemo1.sm (7kb) downloaded 115 time(s).
Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
💰 Support me for plugins development: https://yoomoney.ru/to/410013245578758
Offline mkraska  
#54 Posted : 01 May 2013 22:44:03(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,685
Germany

Was thanked: 928 time(s) in 586 post(s)
Originally Posted by: uni Go to Quoted Post


Updated.

Something like this? As for serious use, it's still early.

To use this feature: Properties Source->SourceType = Sheet, Index = n, n - index in limit vector (XLimMin, XLimMax, ...).


Yes, this could be great. Good solution how to control multiple plots with different settings. Unfortunately, your example does not work for me. I can see the setting in the properties form. They, however, do not have any effect. Or was that meant just as a feature preview?

Do you plan to have an axis ratio setting or locking option?
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline uni  
#55 Posted : 01 May 2013 23:48:36(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,155
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1004 time(s) in 581 post(s)
XYPlotRegion_20130501r3

You should see a few more options. If they are not there it is strange.

Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
💰 Support me for plugins development: https://yoomoney.ru/to/410013245578758
Offline Basile  
#56 Posted : 02 May 2013 07:42:21(UTC)
Basile


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 13/10/2010(UTC)
Posts: 155
Location: USA

Was thanked: 7 time(s) in 6 post(s)
Hello,

I cannot download the r3.

Basile
Offline omorr  
#57 Posted : 02 May 2013 10:08:05(UTC)
omorr


Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 23/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,740
Man
Serbia

Was thanked: 318 time(s) in 268 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Basile Go to Quoted Post
Hello,

I cannot download the r3.

Basile

It seems that depends on the uni's ftp server. If the server is down, you can not download the plugin. Just try some later

Regards,
Radovan
When Sisyphus climbed to the top of a hill, they said: "Wrong boulder!"
Offline mkraska  
#58 Posted : 03 May 2013 01:48:36(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,685
Germany

Was thanked: 928 time(s) in 586 post(s)
Originally Posted by: uni Go to Quoted Post
XYPlotRegion_20130501r3

You should see a few more options. If they are not there it is strange.



I just downloaded and installed r3 again. Still the same: Property source is set to sheet with correct index but changes in the values outside the plot do not have any effect.
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline kaka  
#59 Posted : 03 May 2013 15:32:11(UTC)
kaka


Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 18/04/2013(UTC)
Posts: 25

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
It will be great if this can be used for bode plot?
Offline oscampo  
#60 Posted : 03 May 2013 16:38:51(UTC)
oscampo


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/12/2009(UTC)
Posts: 149
Man
Location: Cali, Colombia

Was thanked: 46 time(s) in 33 post(s)
Originally Posted by: kaka Go to Quoted Post
It will be great if this can be used for bode plot?


You can see an aplication of this plugin and Bode plot here

Also you can find another examples to system dynamics here

Regards,

Oscar
thanks 1 user thanked oscampo for this useful post.
on 03/05/2013(UTC)
Users browsing this topic
Similar Topics
X-Y Plot Region Plugin (Extensions)
by ndtma 24/06/2018 06:00:49(UTC)
X-Y Plot Region Plugin Problem (Questions)
by ndtma 20/06/2018 19:38:44(UTC)
23 Pages<12345>»
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.