Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login. New Registrations are disabled.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Laurie  
#1 Posted : 28 January 2023 09:21:54(UTC)
Laurie

Groups: Registered
Australia

Smath Buckling Attempt Rev1.png

Hi,
Absolute Newbie to SMath - not a mathematician and not an engineer - just someone trying in retirement to gain a better understanding about buckling of steel members.

I requested help on the LibreCalc forum with a buckling equation. The help was received but the person who provided the solution suggested I perform that type of calculation with SMath. He also sent me a screenshot example of how to go about it - attached.

I have tried to reproduce the sheet with a different steel member but perhaps not surprisingly come up against a few problems. A second screenshot and the file is also attached.

I would like to understand:-

1. how he managed to convert the variables A and I from mm^2 to m^2 & m^4.
2. Why my units don't match.

EDIT - I have applied mpa unit to the Sy value - with no effect

I am on an MX Linux OS but have installed SMath with the Wine application. It seesm to be working OK- my lack of expertise is obviously the problem.

All help and advice will be greatly appreciated - I think I can derive much pleasure from the software.

Thank - Laurie

Smath Buckling Attempt.pngSmath Buckling Example.png Chord Buckling - Load Case 1.sm (7kb) downloaded 6 time(s).

Edited by user 04 February 2023 05:40:56(UTC)  | Reason: Solved

Wanna join the discussion?! Login to your SMath Studio Forum forum account. New Registrations are disabled.

Offline Davide Carpi  
#2 Posted : 28 January 2023 13:01:53(UTC)
Davide Carpi

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Man
Italy

Was thanked: 1323 time(s) in 873 post(s)
Hello and welcome here.