Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login. New Registrations are disabled.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Jason McCool  
#1 Posted : 30 October 2022 18:05:38(UTC)
Jason McCool

Groups: Registered
Man
United States

Was thanked: 9 time(s) in 7 post(s)
I've been using SMath for several years now, and I generally like it. But one shortcoming compared to Mathcad has always been the units for the US, even though consistent and automatic unit conversion is SMath's most helpful ability compared to something like Excel for engineering calcs. Most of the time, I can just go through the extra steps of typing in the units I actually want every time SMath displays the results in metric units. But I can't do that in matrices. If everything in the matrix is the same unit, then I can type in my USCS units outside the matrix and everythign is good. But sometimes I have mixed units like with stiffness matrices, and I end up with results like below with no way to force them to display correctly. Even these are the result of an extensive workaround earlier in the worksheet where I basically made all my inputs dimensionless and had to keep track of units manually, as some of my stiffness matrices will have various elements in kips, kips/in, and kip-inches, all in the same matrix and not segregated by row or column. I've tried using the "Imperial" option in the user settings file several times over the years, but that is worse than leaving it metric and manually changing every unit in every formula. I've tried editing the Units.xml file, but I'm not sure how to go about that. Is there any guidance on how to edit that? Long story short, I would really request a better ability to define default units, especially when dealing with matrices. They need to be able to have certain units on a per-element basis.
SMath deficiency.png
Jason McCool
Robbins Engineering
Little Rock, AR, USA