Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login. New Registrations are disabled.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Ante021  
#1 Posted : 03 August 2022 14:27:48(UTC)
Ante021

Groups: Registered
Croatia

Dear all, 1st off - I am new to SM and experienced this problem with simple structural stress equation (stress due to bending) that I am unable to resolve - see attached. Solver returns error "No real roots".
I know there is as solution but I am unable to accomplish it.
Q1: Please advise - what am I doing wrong?
Q2: What is a best way to solve this as a system of equations (instead of substitution in order to arrive to a single eqn presented)?
5-6-14.sm (93kb) downloaded 18 time(s).StressSolver.png
Thanks!

Wanna join the discussion?! Login to your SMath Studio Forum forum account. New Registrations are disabled.

Offline alyles  
#2 Posted : 03 August 2022 16:52:12(UTC)
alyles

United States

Was thanked: 91 time(s) in 57 post(s)
You can use units. Don't listen to Jean on this point.

One solution - use maxima.

Untitled.png
5-6-14.sm (96kb) downloaded 18 time(s).
5-6-14.pdf (564kb) downloaded 6 time(s).
Feel free to join the SMath Studio Users Discord Channel: https://discord.gg/PayZpJW
Offline PompelmoTell  
#3 Posted : 03 August 2022 17:18:37(UTC)
PompelmoTell

Man
Italy

Was thanked: 109 time(s) in 93 post(s)
Considering the internal solutors of Smath, the only one who contains the units of measurement is "FindRoot". Otherwise there are all the solutors of the plugins (something has already been proposed to you for Maxima).
Also careful not to fix "b" with a value, otherwise it is no longer an unknown for the solutor (For this, Clear ( b ) was used in the example with Maxima).
5-6-14-ser.sm (89kb) downloaded 22 time(s).
sergio

Edited by user 03 August 2022 17:22:31(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline Razonar  
#4 Posted : 03 August 2022 18:11:21(UTC)
Razonar

Uruguay