 Rank: Newbie
Groups: Registered
Joined: 17/01/2021(UTC) Posts: 7  Location: Heredia Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
|
Hi! I have recently update Smath Studio to version 1.0.8151 and now I'm getting some errors on Draw2D() plot: See attached file. Ejemplo Maxima 2D Draw rectangles.sm (7kb) downloaded 22 time(s).Apparently, now there is an error on labels, but in older versions of Smath it worked just fine. The issue seems to be that now Draw2D() function doesn't support special characters and instead replaced them with UNICODE text... Can anyone help me please!!?
|
|
|
|
  Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC) Posts: 1,944  Was thanked: 1103 time(s) in 704 post(s)
|
This is due to a change in string encoding on SMath side. I haven't had time to adjust the string handling on Maxima side. I see two workarounds for now:
1. use an older version of SMath (I don't remember at which version the change was implemented). 2. add a custom translation rule in maxima.xml in the plugin directory. The procedure is described in section 7.6 of the SMath Handbuch (the section is in English).
You might try to replace "\\0020\\" by " ".
Note that custom changes to maxima.xml aren't conveyed with the .sm file, so this is not portable. |
|
|
|
|
 Rank: Newbie
Groups: Registered
Joined: 17/01/2021(UTC) Posts: 7  Location: Heredia Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
|
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud  Originally Posted by: DiegoV  Can anyone help me please!!? Make it native brute force.  The issue is with special characters like ".", " ", "_", "/", etc.
|
|
|
|
  Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC) Posts: 1,944  Was thanked: 1103 time(s) in 704 post(s)
|
I confirm that there seems to be a problem with custom translations in maxima.xml. Sorry for guiding you into a dead end.
Possibly, this also has been broken at some version of SMath Studio. I'll ad that to the bug tracking system just as the string handling. |
|
|
|
|
  Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Registered, Advanced Member Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC) Posts: 1,473   Was thanked: 1259 time(s) in 734 post(s)
|
Originally Posted by: mkraska  I'll ad that to the bug tracking system just as the string handling. ConvertToMaxima.cs: Code:
public static string PrepareStringsForMaxima(string text)
{
// text = ConvertTrigonometricFunctionsFromSMathToMaxima(text);
text = TermsConverter.DecodeText( text ).Replace("\"$", "");
text = text.Replace("$\"", "");
//foreach (var pair in CharactersToAscii) text = (new Regex(pair.Key).Replace(text, pair.Value));
//foreach (var pair in letters) text = (new Regex(pair.Key).Replace(text, pair.Value));
//foreach (var pair in symbolsToMaxima) text = (new Regex(pair.Key)).Replace(text, pair.Value);
text = text.Replace("\\", "\\\\"); // convert backslash
return text;
}
You need to add TermsConverter.DecodeText( text )Edited by user 15 June 2022 19:03:17(UTC)
| Reason: Not specified |
Russia ☭ forever Viacheslav N. Mezentsev |
 1 user thanked uni for this useful post.
|
|
|
 Rank: Newbie
Groups: Registered
Joined: 17/01/2021(UTC) Posts: 7  Location: Heredia Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
|
Originally Posted by: uni  Originally Posted by: mkraska  I'll ad that to the bug tracking system just as the string handling. ConvertToMaxima.cs: Code:
public static string PrepareStringsForMaxima(string text)
{
// text = ConvertTrigonometricFunctionsFromSMathToMaxima(text);
text = TermsConverter.DecodeText( text ).Replace("\"$", "");
text = text.Replace("$\"", "");
//foreach (var pair in CharactersToAscii) text = (new Regex(pair.Key).Replace(text, pair.Value));
//foreach (var pair in letters) text = (new Regex(pair.Key).Replace(text, pair.Value));
//foreach (var pair in symbolsToMaxima) text = (new Regex(pair.Key)).Replace(text, pair.Value);
text = text.Replace("\\", "\\\\"); // convert backslash
return text;
}
You need to add TermsConverter.DecodeText( text ) Hi Thanks!, but I'm not sure how to do that, can you guide me?
|
 1 user thanked DiegoV for this useful post.
|
|
|
  Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Registered, Advanced Member Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC) Posts: 1,473   Was thanked: 1259 time(s) in 734 post(s)
|
Originally Posted by: DiegoV  Hi Thanks!, but I'm not sure how to do that, can you guide me? This is a hint for the plugin developer who needs to make changes to the source files in order to fix the problem: ConvertToMaxima.cs |
Russia ☭ forever Viacheslav N. Mezentsev |
|
|
|
  Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Registered, Advanced Member Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC) Posts: 2,618   Location: Italy Was thanked: 1322 time(s) in 872 post(s)
|
I've applied the fix proposed by Viacheslav, please try the updated plugin and check if it works. |
If you like my plugins consider to support SMath Studio buying a plan; to offer me a coffee: paypal.me/dcprojects |
 2 users thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
|
on 17/06/2022(UTC), on 17/06/2022(UTC)
|
|
  Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC) Posts: 1,944  Was thanked: 1103 time(s) in 704 post(s)
|
Originally Posted by: Davide Carpi  I've applied the fix proposed by Viacheslav, please try the updated plugin and check if it works. Thanks, Viacheslav and Davide. I confirm that the fix works with version 8151. It is, however, not available for older version (tested with 7921). EDIT: Tried again, works with 7921. Edited by user 18 June 2022 00:18:33(UTC)
| Reason: Not specified |
|
|
|
|
  Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Registered, Advanced Member Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC) Posts: 2,618   Location: Italy Was thanked: 1322 time(s) in 872 post(s)
|
Hi Martin, thank you for the feedback, I wasn't able to test it myself. I've published the current code for every stable SMath Studio since 0.99.7579, so it should be available in the extensions Manager for a wide user base. Edited by user 18 June 2022 15:53:49(UTC)
| Reason: Fixed |
If you like my plugins consider to support SMath Studio buying a plan; to offer me a coffee: paypal.me/dcprojects |
|
|
|
 Rank: Newbie
Groups: Registered
Joined: 17/01/2021(UTC) Posts: 7  Location: Heredia Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
|
Originally Posted by: Davide Carpi  I've applied the fix proposed by Viacheslav, please try the updated plugin and check if it works. It works! thanks!! ur the best! 
|
|
|
|
  Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC) Posts: 1,944  Was thanked: 1103 time(s) in 704 post(s)
|
Originally Posted by: Davide Carpi  Hi Martin, thank you for the feedback, I wasn't able to test it myself. I've published the current code for every stable SMath Studio since 0.99.7579, so it should be available in the extensions Manager for a wide user base. Tried again, works now with 7921. Don't know what went wrong at the first try. Thanks again for fixing the problem. |
|
|
|
|
Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.