Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login. New Registrations are disabled.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login


2 Pages12>
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline leopold  
#1 Posted : 25 January 2022 17:56:46(UTC)
leopold


Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 17/03/2013(UTC)
Posts: 12
Austria

Tried it in Ubuntu 20.04 and Manjaro as well: smath can only be started by doing it as root via executing as sudo? Any hints how to fix it?

Wanna join the discussion?! Login to your SMath Studio Forum forum account. New Registrations are disabled.

Offline overlord  
#2 Posted : 25 January 2022 18:29:55(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 1,133
Turkey

Was thanked: 515 time(s) in 344 post(s)
Originally Posted by: leopold Go to Quoted Post
Tried it in Ubuntu 20.04 and Manjaro as well: smath can only be started by doing it as root via executing as sudo? Any hints how to fix it?

Switch to another distro (swh)
Beside the joke, all ubuntu or debian based distros have this problem.
This is not SMath's bug, it is caused by not properly updated lts mono libraries.
And this bug is not caused by user, their repositories have this problem.
Contrary to popular belief, LTS releases creates more issues sometimes.

Arch, Fedora, Void, Solus, etc don't need root to run.

Regards
Offline leopold  
#3 Posted : 25 January 2022 19:08:56(UTC)
leopold


Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 17/03/2013(UTC)
Posts: 12
Austria

Thanks. But Manjaro is arch-based.

regards

P.S.: My initial post was no complaint about smath's behaviour itself. It was a simple question, if anybody knows a solution - maybe by fixing some os-specific libraries.

Edited by user 25 January 2022 19:12:44(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline overlord  
#4 Posted : 25 January 2022 19:13:05(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 1,133
Turkey

Was thanked: 515 time(s) in 344 post(s)
Originally Posted by: leopold Go to Quoted Post
Thanks. But Manjaro is arch-based.regards

Yes, but it doesn't use arch repositories.
I used to know it updates from their own repos.
If this is not changed recently.

Originally Posted by: leopold Go to Quoted Post
P.S.: My initial post was no complaint about smath's behaviour itself. It was a simple question, if anybody knows a solution - maybe by fixing some os-specific libraries.

Try to update Mono libraries, from another source or from arch repository.
Maybe this would help to make mono work as it should be, maybe not.
I will download latest Manjaro XFCE iso and try to pinpoint a solution for your issue.

Regards

Edited by user 25 January 2022 19:18:56(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline leopold  
#5 Posted : 25 January 2022 19:28:42(UTC)
leopold


Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 17/03/2013(UTC)
Posts: 12
Austria

Originally Posted by: overlord Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: leopold Go to Quoted Post
Thanks. But Manjaro is arch-based.regards

Yes, but it doesn't use arch repositories.
I used to know it updates from their own repos.
If this is not changed recently.

Originally Posted by: leopold Go to Quoted Post
P.S.: My initial post was no complaint about smath's behaviour itself. It was a simple question, if anybody knows a solution - maybe by fixing some os-specific libraries.

Try to update Mono libraries, from another source or from arch repository.
Maybe this would help to make mono work as it should be, maybe not.
I will download latest Manjaro XFCE iso and try to pinpoint a solution for your issue.

Regards


Dear overlord, I would be much more glad about a solution fpr Ubuntu. Because Manjaro runs as virtual machine. And until a week ago smath worked in there.
Offline overlord  
#6 Posted : 25 January 2022 21:30:52(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 1,133
Turkey

Was thanked: 515 time(s) in 344 post(s)
Manjaro livecd can run SMath without sudo when started on hardware.
I just installed mono with sudo pacman -Sy mono, nothing more done.
No need to be root for Manjaro when PC started from livecd installed on usb.

I will burn Ubuntu 20.04 iso to usb and try with it now.
I shall post how it went after I try it.

Click to Enlarge

Edited by user 25 January 2022 22:05:40(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

thanks 1 user thanked overlord for this useful post.
on 27/01/2022(UTC)
Offline overlord  
#7 Posted : 25 January 2022 23:45:20(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 1,133
Turkey

Was thanked: 515 time(s) in 344 post(s)
I tried Ubuntu 20.04 with qemu.
Followed instructions on mono website.
Installed mono, tried to run SMath.

At first it run perfectly, I installed some plugins too.
Second time, it didn't. Gave the _XRead error.
I didn't understand what happened.
Then tried to re-run, same thing.

After entering ./smathstudio_desktop_mono couple of times, it run again.
I did all this process without using sudo.

SMath apparently can run without sudo, but mono gives error most time.
I will try to dig further what is going on.

Regards

Click to Enlarge
thanks 3 users thanked overlord for this useful post.
on 25/01/2022(UTC),  on 26/01/2022(UTC),  on 26/01/2022(UTC)
Offline leopold  
#8 Posted : 26 January 2022 16:35:43(UTC)
leopold


Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 17/03/2013(UTC)
Posts: 12
Austria

Dear overloard,

a solution would be great! Thanks for your investigation and work! If I can support you in any way - let me know!

greetings Leopold
Offline Paulo Malta  
#9 Posted : 06 March 2022 17:37:08(UTC)
Paulo Malta

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/02/2022(UTC)
Posts: 2
Location: São Paulo, Brazil

I use Smath in Win10 without any problem but I am migrating to Linux
I am running Linux Mint 20.3 with mono-complete version 6.12.0.122-0xamain1+ubuntu2004b1
When I try to open SMathStudio_Desktop.exe with Mono Runtime (right mouse button) it crashes during loading, when I execute it as Administrator, it opens an extra window, Terminal (sudo) but runs.
I already tried to remove and intall again Smath and Mono but remain the same Sad Sad Sad
Offline overlord  
#10 Posted : 07 March 2022 01:22:53(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 1,133
Turkey

Was thanked: 515 time(s) in 344 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Paulo Malta Go to Quoted Post
I use Smath in Win10 without any problem but I am migrating to Linux
I am running Linux Mint 20.3 with mono-complete version 6.12.0.122-0xamain1+ubuntu2004b1
When I try to open SMathStudio_Desktop.exe with Mono Runtime (right mouse button) it crashes during loading, when I execute it as Administrator, it opens an extra window, Terminal (sudo) but runs.
I already tried to remove and intall again Smath and Mono but remain the same Sad Sad Sad

This can occur on some other non-smath mono programs too.
I found this crash error on SMath can be overcome with sudo.
And I have read the solution about a different software, not smath.

Mint is Ubuntu based, Ubuntu is a Debian based linux distro as you would know.
All Debian based including pure Debian (both stable and testing) has this bug.
I know because I have tried majority of them to find how to run SMath on a Debian-based distro.
And I have failed, partially.

It runs without sudo, as I have mentioned in post#7.
You have to try to run it relentlessly if it fails to run.
Sometimes after 5-10 try it runs, but sometimes 20-30 trial fails.
Most of time it gives error, _xread error to be specific.
And this behavior is not caused by smath itself.
Debug says it is caused by a broken X extension library.
Errors are mostly on libc.so and libpthread.so.
Which are an essential package of system, libc6.
Maybe recompiling them from source code could corrects the bug.
But probably it will break the whole system.
So I wouldn't recommend it.

What I would humbly suggest is to try another distro family.
Arch or Manjaro, Fedora, Solus, Void can be candidates.

Regards

Edited by user 07 March 2022 06:12:53(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline Int16  
#11 Posted : 15 June 2022 21:24:45(UTC)
Int16

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/10/2020(UTC)
Posts: 9

Offline ioncube  
#12 Posted : 30 November 2023 09:17:09(UTC)
ioncube


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/12/2017(UTC)
Posts: 61
Man
Pakistan

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Distributor ID: Pop
Description: Pop!_OS 22.04 LTS
Release: 22.04
Codename: jammy


I got this error while running AppImage

Error: "unable to find gdb or lldb"

I installed gdb & lsb but it still didnt work beyond start screen


Offline overlord  
#13 Posted : 30 November 2023 09:21:33(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 1,133
Turkey

Was thanked: 515 time(s) in 344 post(s)
Try to run with sudo.
If it runs, it is the mono runtime bug of debian based distros.
Offline ioncube  
#14 Posted : 30 November 2023 15:51:42(UTC)
ioncube


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/12/2017(UTC)
Posts: 61
Man
Pakistan

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
It runs in sudo mod & I installed some plugins. After I ran it one of the plugin fail to load. Now i don't know where APPImage (if run in sudo) stores data?

Edited by user 30 November 2023 15:59:58(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline ioncube  
#15 Posted : 01 December 2023 06:37:19(UTC)
ioncube


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/12/2017(UTC)
Posts: 61
Man
Pakistan

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
I cannot find where APPIMAGE when ran in sudo store persistent settings so I followed this from APPIMAGE devs

Create x2 folders & 1 .sh file in the same location as APPIMAGE [these will store all downloaded plugins / settings which are persistent]
Code:
SMathStudioDesktop.1_0_8348.x86_64.ubuntu-22_04.glibc2.35.AppImage.config
SMathStudioDesktop.1_0_8348.x86_64.ubuntu-22_04.glibc2.35.AppImage.home
launcher.sh


.sh file contents
Code:

sh -c "zenity --password --title=\"sudo password prompt\" --timeout=10 2>/dev/null | sudo -S -H ~/Binaries/SMathStudioDesktop.1_0_8348.x86_64.ubuntu-22_04.glibc2.35.AppImage"



Create .desktop file with following contents. Place this is ~/.local/share/applications
Code:

[Desktop Entry]
Name=SMath
Comment=symbolic and numeric calculations
Exec=/home/ukhan/Binaries/Smath_launcher.sh
Icon=/home/ukhan/Binaries/smath.png
Type=Application
Terminal=false
Categories=Education;Math;Science;
Keywords=maths;cas;algebra;education;engineering;physics;
Offline overlord  
#16 Posted : 01 December 2023 06:59:49(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 1,133
Turkey

Was thanked: 515 time(s) in 344 post(s)
Plugins and settings are stored in $HOME/.config/SMath
Offline overlord  
#17 Posted : 02 December 2023 15:16:02(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 1,133
Turkey

Was thanked: 515 time(s) in 344 post(s)
Originally Posted by: ioncube Go to Quoted Post
I cannot find where APPIMAGE when ran in sudo store persistent settings

Since you ran smath with sudo, setting are stored in root home folder.
It should be in /root/.config/SMath for most linux distributions.
Offline grelkin2  
#18 Posted : 14 December 2023 06:39:01(UTC)
grelkin2


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/12/2020(UTC)
Posts: 35

Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 3 post(s)
Originally Posted by: leopold Go to Quoted Post
Tried it in Ubuntu 20.04 and Manjaro as well: smath can only be started by doing it as root via executing as sudo? Any hints how to fix it?

use
export MONO_WINFORMS_XIM_STYLE=disabled;./SMathStudioDesktop.1_0_8348.x86_64.ubuntu-22_04.glibc2.35.AppImage
thanks 1 user thanked grelkin2 for this useful post.
on 15/12/2023(UTC)
Offline ioncube  
#19 Posted : 15 December 2023 10:57:03(UTC)
ioncube


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/12/2017(UTC)
Posts: 61
Man
Pakistan

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
There are some font missing on Linux system. Also is it possible to increase the side pane size. Its very small for my eyesight
smath.jpg
Offline overlord  
#20 Posted : 15 December 2023 14:23:04(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 1,133
Turkey

Was thanked: 515 time(s) in 344 post(s)
Originally Posted by: ioncube Go to Quoted Post
There are some font missing on Linux system. Also is it possible to increase the side pane size. Its very small for my eyesight

You do need Courier New font, Microsoft version.
It can be found under this post.

Regards

https://en.smath.com/forum/yaf_postsm66281_Missing-symbols-on-Ubuntu-20-mono.aspx#post66281
Users browsing this topic
2 Pages12>
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.