Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#1 Posted : 25 August 2020 02:24:09(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,477
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1744 time(s) in 591 post(s)

New Beta SMath Studio 0.99.7542 is available!

Tiny, powerful, free mathematical program with WYSIWYG editor and complete units of measurements support.

It provides numerous computing features and rich user interface translated into about 40 different languages. Application also contains integrated mathematical reference book.

SMath Studio boxCalculation of Gravitation Acceleration exampleExample of animation on the WorksheetExtensions Manager toolOpened math Reference BookSMath Viewer output to Autocad exampleSMath Studio on iOSSMath Studio on iPad

Application can be easily extended based on your needs. Built-in Extensions Manager tool allows to get access to hundreds official and third-party resources of the following types: usage examples, plug-ins, SMath Viewer based applications, snippets, interface translations, interactive books, handbooks and tutorials.

Changes introduced in current build

Improvements

  • COUNT and PAGENUM fields improved to allow setting up an offset for the output number;
  • Alignment context menu item added to TextRegion;
  • TextRegion improved to support changing Line spacing using context menu.

Corrections

  • trunc() function does not accept units in the argument anymore;
  • Empty Heder/Footer supported now;
  • Basic behaviors of the TextRegion improved (text selections);
  • SS-4612 Line wrapping significantly improved in TextRegion;
  • Fixed "There is no xml start tag" issue happens when self-closed tag of the Region was included into *.sm(z) file;
  • Functionality of the " " (space) key fixed in case when no plug-in for Text Region is available;
  • equrep() function supports variables/functions replacements now.

Miscellaneous

  • Support for .Net Core 3.1 implemented (app is still released supporting .Net 2.0 for now);
  • Refactoring.

Download

Software icon SMathStudioDesktop.0_99_7542.Setup.msi (Date: 2020.08.25; File size: 2.28 MB) - 1528 downloads
Software icon SMathStudioDesktop.0_99_7542.Mono.tar.gz (Date: 2020.08.25; File size: 1.4 MB) - 255 downloads
thanks 10 users thanked Andrey Ivashov for this useful post.
on 25/08/2020(UTC),  on 25/08/2020(UTC),  on 25/08/2020(UTC),  on 25/08/2020(UTC),  on 25/08/2020(UTC),  on 25/08/2020(UTC),  on 26/08/2020(UTC),  on 26/08/2020(UTC),  on 28/08/2020(UTC),  on 20/09/2020(UTC)
Offline Razonar  
#2 Posted : 25 August 2020 12:26:19(UTC)
Razonar


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/08/2014(UTC)
Posts: 647
Uruguay

Was thanked: 348 time(s) in 226 post(s)
Hi. Thanks! Very much!

"equrep() function supports variables/functions replacements now."

Any example about what that means?

Also, I see that this error persists:

Clipboard01.jpg

Best regards.
Alvaro.
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#3 Posted : 26 August 2020 00:07:08(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,477
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1744 time(s) in 591 post(s)
Hello Alvaro!

Originally Posted by: Razonar Go to Quoted Post
Also, I see that this error persists:

Clipboard01.jpg


Yes, this is a main reason why I can't release stable version of SMath Studio now. I'm working on this issue right now.

Best regards.
thanks 1 user thanked Andrey Ivashov for this useful post.
on 26/08/2020(UTC)
Offline Jean Giraud  
#4 Posted : 27 August 2020 23:11:26(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 5,163
Canada

Was thanked: 818 time(s) in 650 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Razonar Go to Quoted Post
"equrep() function supports variables/functions replacements now."

Any example about what that means ?

Can you show an application of it ?
An image is good enough.
Thanks ... Jean

Offline Razonar  
#5 Posted : 28 August 2020 03:24:31(UTC)
Razonar


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/08/2014(UTC)
Posts: 647
Uruguay

Was thanked: 348 time(s) in 226 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Razonar Go to Quoted Post
"equrep() function supports variables/functions replacements now."

Any example about what that means ?

Can you show an application of it ?
An image is good enough.
Thanks ... Jean


Hi Jean. Here: Applications for equrep: expression isolation and laplace transform.

Best regards.
Alvaro.

thanks 2 users thanked Razonar for this useful post.
on 28/08/2020(UTC),  on 29/08/2020(UTC)
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#6 Posted : 29 August 2020 12:54:30(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,477
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1744 time(s) in 591 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post

Can you show an application of it ?
An image is good enough.
Thanks ... Jean

Just to make it clear: equrep() function is not something I'm spending time on to create/support/improve. This function appeared as a demo of the updated symbolic core of SMath Studio. This function is an interface to the new functionality. You can use it or not, but it demonstrates possibilities of the symbolic simplifications SMath Studio provides.
Unfortunately it has at least one issue which is hard to fix. I'm doing my best to remove a bug, but if it will be too hard maybe I will revert my changes and use stable (which is used in latest stable version of the application) symbolic core again.
So it is not about equrep() function it is about core of the program, its performance, possibilities, behaviors etc. If you are remember, all the calculations in SMath Studio goes through symbolic optimization, so it is pretty important.

Best regards.
thanks 4 users thanked Andrey Ivashov for this useful post.
on 29/08/2020(UTC),  on 29/08/2020(UTC),  on 29/08/2020(UTC),  on 30/08/2020(UTC)
Offline Jean Giraud  
#7 Posted : 30 August 2020 18:12:30(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 5,163
Canada

Was thanked: 818 time(s) in 650 post(s)
Thanks Alvaro ... always there in Smath Community !
BTW Andrey, if/else, if/otherwise have not been observed
detrimental in timing in general applications.
For this application [Julia], timing kills Smath ... Oh !
OK, my Win 7 1.66 GHz is steam engine.
What about your latest Beta SS 7542 ?
Thanks ... Jean

Pattern Julia Set [PUBLISH].sm (173kb) downloaded 21 time(s).
Offline overlord  
#8 Posted : 30 August 2020 22:33:41(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 218
Turkey

Was thanked: 65 time(s) in 46 post(s)
Maybe it is a bug maybe intended I don't know;
On 7542 for underlined text regions, spaces are not underlined.
No problem for letters, numbers, punctuations, etc.
Writer regions don't have this issue.

Regards

Offline mkraska  
#9 Posted : 09 September 2020 18:12:34(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,652
Germany

Was thanked: 915 time(s) in 575 post(s)
I can't switch on/off any more the border of image regions (and also fo Maxima draw regions) in 7542.
In 7251 this still works. It also works for documents produced in 7542.

Edited by user 09 September 2020 18:15:20(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#10 Posted : 10 September 2020 01:32:12(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,477
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1744 time(s) in 591 post(s)
Originally Posted by: overlord Go to Quoted Post
Maybe it is a bug maybe intended I don't know;
On 7542 for underlined text regions, spaces are not underlined.
No problem for letters, numbers, punctuations, etc.
Writer regions don't have this issue.

Regards


Thank you! Fixed.
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#11 Posted : 10 September 2020 01:33:22(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,477
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1744 time(s) in 591 post(s)
Originally Posted by: mkraska Go to Quoted Post
I can't switch on/off any more the border of image regions (and also fo Maxima draw regions) in 7542.
In 7251 this still works. It also works for documents produced in 7542.

I can't reproduce this issue locally. Please could you upload a files (one with correct behavior and another with incorrect)?
Offline mkraska  
#12 Posted : 10 September 2020 13:16:24(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,652
Germany

Was thanked: 915 time(s) in 575 post(s)
I attach two files. The first one is created in 7542. No matter what I do in the contex menu, the border can't be switched off. Neither is there a change in the GUI, nor is the xml attribute changed.

If I load this file in 7251, then I can switch off the border, this is both visible on the canvas and in the xml entry.

Once I save that (second file), this can be opened by 7542 and the change is respected. And you guess it, the border can't be switched on again. Thus, actually there is no wrong file, just wrong GUI behaviour.
7542 displays existing files correctly. Just no access to this one setting.

I leave out the maxima draw region, as this might prevent reproduction without maxima installation.

border 7542.sm (8kb) downloaded 11 time(s).
border 7542 then 7251.sm (8kb) downloaded 13 time(s).
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
thanks 1 user thanked mkraska for this useful post.
on 13/09/2020(UTC)
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#13 Posted : 13 September 2020 13:35:16(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,477
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1744 time(s) in 591 post(s)
Originally Posted by: mkraska Go to Quoted Post
I attach two files. The first one is created in 7542. No matter what I do in the contex menu, the border can't be switched off. Neither is there a change in the GUI, nor is the xml attribute changed.

If I load this file in 7251, then I can switch off the border, this is both visible on the canvas and in the xml entry.

Once I save that (second file), this can be opened by 7542 and the change is respected. And you guess it, the border can't be switched on again. Thus, actually there is no wrong file, just wrong GUI behaviour.
7542 displays existing files correctly. Just no access to this one setting.

I leave out the maxima draw region, as this might prevent reproduction without maxima installation.

border 7542.sm (8kb) downloaded 11 time(s).
border 7542 then 7251.sm (8kb) downloaded 13 time(s).

Thank you very much. Fixed now.
There is one issue with the plug-in: invalidation of the region is not requested after menu item usage (it must be done by plug-in) so borders will be visually switched only after region redrawn, f.e. after scrolling or focus in/out.

Best regards.
thanks 1 user thanked Andrey Ivashov for this useful post.
on 14/09/2020(UTC)
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#14 Posted : 13 September 2020 22:55:14(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,477
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1744 time(s) in 591 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Razonar Go to Quoted Post
Hi. Thanks! Very much!

"equrep() function supports variables/functions replacements now."

Any example about what that means?

Also, I see that this error persists:

Clipboard01.jpg

Best regards.
Alvaro.


Issue is fixed in the latest stable version I have just published. equrep() made less powerful, so it will leave an equation as is in cases where error is possible. Like your example.
This is temporary solution but it is required to continue development without serious stoppers. In future I will continue working to make symbolic engine more smart.

Best regards.
thanks 1 user thanked Andrey Ivashov for this useful post.
on 13/09/2020(UTC)
Offline mkraska  
#15 Posted : 14 September 2020 01:00:12(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,652
Germany

Was thanked: 915 time(s) in 575 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Andrey Ivashov Go to Quoted Post


There is one issue with the plug-in: invalidation of the region is not requested after menu item usage (it must be done by plug-in) so borders will be visually switched only after region redrawn, f.e. after scrolling or focus in/out.

Best regards.


This also seems to be the cause for delayed re-draw after editing operation (you have to get focus off the image to see the changes). Very valuable hint!
Filed in the bug tracking system as SS-4640

Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline Razonar  
#16 Posted : 17 September 2020 00:43:50(UTC)
Razonar


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/08/2014(UTC)
Posts: 647
Uruguay

Was thanked: 348 time(s) in 226 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Razonar Go to Quoted Post
Hi. Thanks! Very much!

"equrep() function supports variables/functions replacements now."

Any example about what that means?

...


I post that question because interpret that then equrep works replacing f by sin in this example: "equrep(3+f(x),f,sin)=3+f(x)" but now I see that the correct way is "equrep(3+f(x),f(a),sin(a))=3+sin(x)"

Here my attempt to convert an expression with operators to an expression with binary or unary functions only

_to_expr.sm (52kb) downloaded 8 time(s).
_to_expr.pdf (224kb) downloaded 12 time(s).

Best regards.
Alvaro.
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.