Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

6 Pages«<3456>
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Alex M.  
#81 Posted : 10 June 2020 19:15:39(UTC)
Alex M.


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 03/03/2014(UTC)
Posts: 407
Canada

Was thanked: 119 time(s) in 92 post(s)
Originally Posted by: uni Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Alex M. Go to Quoted Post

Uni, is there anything i can do on my end for the fix? Havent touched the plugin for years and appreciate the maintenance you have done

Please check that the functions are working as they should.



Noticed two bugs potentially not related to plugin itself:
1. The CurrentDirectory( "" ) function call is ties to .exe and not the directory of the page, which messes up my excel references. Is it possible to force running a one SMath exe per .sm file opened?
2. When wrapped inside a function() cal the plugin does not work, but same code works fine outside of function():

test.xlsx (8kb) downloaded 115 time(s).
exportXLSX_1.sm (21kb) downloaded 126 time(s).

Edited by moderator 10 June 2020 22:35:30(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline uni  
#82 Posted : 10 June 2020 22:48:32(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,175
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1011 time(s) in 587 post(s)
When translating numbers to Excel and back, there is a problem with the decimal point. I don’t know yet how to make a replacement, because there is confusion with these signs both in the program and in Excel. Here need to do some research, because I did not study this question.
Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
💰 Support me for plugins development: https://yoomoney.ru/to/410013245578758
Offline Alex M.  
#83 Posted : 10 June 2020 23:05:58(UTC)
Alex M.


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 03/03/2014(UTC)
Posts: 407
Canada

Was thanked: 119 time(s) in 92 post(s)
Originally Posted by: uni Go to Quoted Post
When translating numbers to Excel and back, there is a problem with the decimal point. I don’t know yet how to make a replacement, because there is confusion with these signs both in the program and in Excel. Here need to do some research, because I did not study this question.


Not seen on my end - this example works fine transferring decimal values back and forth SMath<->EXCEL

SampleHowTo.zip (1,331kb) downloaded 287 time(s).

Can you confirm it does not work for you?
Offline uni  
#84 Posted : 15 June 2020 08:56:57(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,175
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1011 time(s) in 587 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Alex M. Go to Quoted Post
Can you confirm it does not work for you?

This example does not work for me and it is related with the decimal part separator, as I understand it.
Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
💰 Support me for plugins development: https://yoomoney.ru/to/410013245578758
Offline rodp1  
#85 Posted : 28 January 2021 03:47:13(UTC)
rodp1

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 01/04/2019(UTC)
Posts: 8
Australia
Location: Perth

Hi all,

I suspect I'm going about this the wrong way, so any suggestions welcome.

I have the plugin working for import/export. What I need though is for the export from excel to force a recalc of the smath sheet when I update the EXCEL sheet.

What I'm trying to do - have a table of input values in excel, one case per line. I want to increment through that table, use SMATH to solve with the input values and then export the results back to excel on the same line.
Offline rodp1  
#86 Posted : 28 January 2021 10:09:07(UTC)
rodp1

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 01/04/2019(UTC)
Posts: 8
Australia
Location: Perth

Originally Posted by: rodp1 Go to Quoted Post
Hi all,

I suspect I'm going about this the wrong way, so any suggestions welcome.

I have the plugin working for import/export. What I need though is for the export from excel to force a recalc of the smath sheet when I update the EXCEL sheet.

What I'm trying to do - have a table of input values in excel, one case per line. I want to increment through that table, use SMATH to solve with the input values and then export the results back to excel on the same line.


Looks like I need to use the "Run" function, and combine it with reading in the Excel file.

Baby steps Good

Offline Razonar  
#87 Posted : 28 January 2021 11:00:17(UTC)
Razonar


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/08/2014(UTC)
Posts: 831
Uruguay

Was thanked: 442 time(s) in 287 post(s)
Originally Posted by: rodp1 Go to Quoted Post

Looks like I need to use the "Run" function, and combine it with reading in the Excel file.

Baby steps Good


Hi. Well, run() isn't a function for novices. I guess that, given that seems you know how to program in advanced VBA, because you're traying to solve vector equations on it, you can call from a macro in excel an SMath file in "silent" mode, or background, or the correct expression for that. Actually, I don't know how to start SMath in that way, but I'm pretty sure that it is possible. Maybe someone tell us how to do that. The macro then must to wait for an exit code from SMath indicating that ends the process. In your SMath file you can take the data from your excel file and maybe try to update the processed data into excel from SMath, or if you get troubles doing that, you can save the new data into a CSV file and from the excel macro update a query for upload into excel those data.

Code in excel could looks like that, assuming that /BG is the unknow option, in combination with another option, not vbNormalFocus, but this which I remember:

Code:
Public Sub CallSMath()
    Dim strProgramName As String
    Dim strArgument As String

    strProgramName = "C:\Program Files\SMath\SMath.exe"
    strArgument = "/BG MyDocPath\mySMathFile.sm"

    Call Shell("""" & strProgramName & """ """ & strArgument & """", vbNormalFocus)

End Sub


Hope that's helps.
Best regards.
Alvaro.

Edited by user 28 January 2021 11:07:27(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline rodp1  
#88 Posted : 29 January 2021 02:59:15(UTC)
rodp1

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 01/04/2019(UTC)
Posts: 8
Australia
Location: Perth

Originally Posted by: Razonar Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: rodp1 Go to Quoted Post

Looks like I need to use the "Run" function, and combine it with reading in the Excel file.

Baby steps Good



Hope that's helps.
Best regards.
Alvaro.


Hi Alvaro - thanks for the pointer. I actually managed to get it working using the "run" command, but when I get a chance I'll give this a go as well. If I can go directly from Excel that would avoid a step.

At the moment my tool chain looks like

Excel -> import to a smath sheet 1 -> smath sheet 1 runs sheet 2 -> sheet 2 runs then exports to sheet 1 -> sheet one exports results to excel.

I'd prefer to avoid the excel part, but others who have to use my work seem to like it. It is also easier setting up input tables in Excel, to be fair.
Offline Alvaro Gavilán  
#89 Posted : 21 May 2021 18:07:12(UTC)
Alvaro Gavilán


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 16/04/2020(UTC)
Posts: 53
Man
Paraguay
Location: Paraguay

Was thanked: 14 time(s) in 11 post(s)
Hello everybody!

It has been a long time without any comment on the forum, but I was using a lot SMath Studio every day of the week, more than Excel.

Now I am writing my final work (civil engineering) and I have a problem that I hope you can solve. In the meantime, I will try other plugins to import my main excel file, but this problem began to happen with the new SS version, 0.99.7808.

HRESULT: 0x800A03EC

21-05-2021.png Screenshot 2021-05-21 120929.png

I will be thankful to your help, and hope you are doing well!

import test.sm (4kb) downloaded 10 time(s).

data.xlsx (9kb) downloaded 9 time(s).

Context:

I use SMath to generate a test report ASTM C469-14: Stress-strain curve and modulus of elasticity.
I use CONTROLS compressometers that generates txt files for stress (1 channel) and strain (3 channels).
I have already generated 60 reports (with previous SS stable version), but I need 36 more reports to finish my experimental work.

Report example:

BH25111.pdf (314kb) downloaded 20 time(s).

Edited by user 21 May 2021 19:11:04(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

thanks 1 user thanked Alvaro Gavilán for this useful post.
on 21/05/2021(UTC)
Offline Razonar  
#90 Posted : 21 May 2021 19:36:53(UTC)
Razonar


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/08/2014(UTC)
Posts: 831
Uruguay

Was thanked: 442 time(s) in 287 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Alvaro Gavilá Go to Quoted Post
...
I have already generated 60 reports (with previous SS stable version), but I need 36 more reports to finish my experimental work.



Hola Alvaro. My recommendation: downgrade to the version which works for your documents, and wait some time for upgrade again.

Mucho éxito con tu tesis.

Un abrazo.
ALvaro.
Offline uni  
#91 Posted : 21 May 2021 21:59:15(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,175
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1011 time(s) in 587 post(s)
SMath Studio compatibility

Plugin updated. Please try.

Changes:

- plug-in corrected to respect latest SMath Studio API changes.
Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
💰 Support me for plugins development: https://yoomoney.ru/to/410013245578758
thanks 2 users thanked uni for this useful post.
on 21/05/2021(UTC),  on 22/05/2021(UTC)
Offline Alvaro Gavilán  
#92 Posted : 22 May 2021 00:21:40(UTC)
Alvaro Gavilán


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 16/04/2020(UTC)
Posts: 53
Man
Paraguay
Location: Paraguay

Was thanked: 14 time(s) in 11 post(s)
WOW! So quick solution!

Thank you uni! It works! And also the excel_IN() function that I use in my report file.

Gracias Alvaro por tu mensaje! Un abrazo! I hope to achieve a good work and share it here in the next months. I followed your recommendation in order to keep working.

Really thank you guys, I missed the SMath forum!
Offline churichuro  
#93 Posted : 22 May 2021 04:25:29(UTC)
churichuro


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 27/03/2019(UTC)
Posts: 36
Mexico
Location: coah

Was thanked: 9 time(s) in 8 post(s)
the future is just ahead
the past is only the foundation of the building
evolution does not ask if the lion is
worse than the saber-toothed tiger

evolution just always walks forward.
Offline Ricardo Herrera  
#94 Posted : 19 September 2021 04:42:36(UTC)
Ricardo Herrera

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/08/2020(UTC)
Posts: 7
Peru
Location: RicardoH

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Greetings to all, thank you very much for this opportunity to be here in this forum,
I have tried to solve this problem, thank you very much for your comments and success to all.
copia.jpg

Edited by user 19 September 2021 04:47:32(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline joaobr  
#95 Posted : 20 September 2021 17:35:22(UTC)
joaobr


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/02/2018(UTC)
Posts: 43
Man
Brazil
Location: Belém

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 3 post(s)
Ricardo, at first, I would say the issue is the "x" in ".xlsx" being in uppercase,

but I can't make this plugin nor Clipboad Region work after the last update,

so maybe the real plugin are within the plugins themselves.

Offline Ricardo Herrera  
#96 Posted : 20 September 2021 17:55:25(UTC)
Ricardo Herrera

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/08/2020(UTC)
Posts: 7
Peru
Location: RicardoH

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
ERROR-OUT EXCEL.jpgMuchas Gracias por su respuesta, Eng. João Felipe Melo es una sorpresa la respuesta de su persona.
Sigo y veo los videos en su canal YouTube. Mil gracias nuevamente.
Éxitos siempre.


Thank you very much for your response, your response is a surprise.
I follow and watch the videos on your YouTube channel. Thank you again.
Successes always

Muito obrigado pela sua resposta, sua resposta é uma surpresa.
Eu sigo e assisto os vídeos em seu canal no YouTube. Obrigado novamente.
Sucessos sempre.

Edited by user 20 September 2021 18:09:04(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline overlord  
#97 Posted : 20 September 2021 18:53:08(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 490
Turkey

Was thanked: 156 time(s) in 112 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Ricardo Herrera Go to Quoted Post
Greetings to all, thank you very much for this opportunity to be here in this forum,
I have tried to solve this problem, thank you very much for your comments and success to all.

I couldn't make the plugin work either.
Meanwhile you can install DataExchange plugin.
There is exportData.XLSX() in it.
That function maybe can help you.

Regards

2021-09-20_18-49.png

Edited by user 20 September 2021 21:14:21(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline Ricardo Herrera  
#98 Posted : 20 September 2021 19:15:24(UTC)
Ricardo Herrera

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/08/2020(UTC)
Posts: 7
Peru
Location: RicardoH

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
overlord: Thank you very much for your reply.
The plugin does work.
use "DataExchange plugin",
question:
some replacement for the "Excel_PNG()" plugins
Thank you very much for your support. to all.
Offline uni  
#99 Posted : 20 September 2021 19:31:24(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,175
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1011 time(s) in 587 post(s)
I have not been able to reproduce this problem in my environment. Could you please attach the contents of the XLSXupdate.log file that appears when the program starts?

The path is: %appdata%\SMath\extensions\plugins\e40eaef6-4622-4ef3-ad03-077e8f005bb1\x.x.x.x\ (x.x.x.x - the plugin version)
Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
💰 Support me for plugins development: https://yoomoney.ru/to/410013245578758
Offline Ricardo Herrera  
#100 Posted : 20 September 2021 20:18:08(UTC)
Ricardo Herrera

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/08/2020(UTC)
Posts: 7
Peru
Location: RicardoH

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Quote:
XLSXupdate.txt (2kb) downloaded 9 time(s).
first it is a great surprise is to be able to greet his person.
Thank you very much for your time. and by Smath Studio. Thank you very much for what you teach and what you do.

Edited by user 20 September 2021 20:23:06(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Users browsing this topic
6 Pages«<3456>
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.