Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline uni  
#1 Posted : 22 August 2013 17:20:10(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,005
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 907 time(s) in 511 post(s)
Octave C++ Math Library

SMath Studio compatibility SMath Viewer compatibility mono compatibility Platform Extension page Sources


Functions list: owabs(1).


ow prefix means: Octave Workspace.

Edited by user 24 August 2019 06:02:41(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Russia Ôśş forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
­čĺ░ Support me for plugins development: https://money.yandex.ru/to/410013245578758/100 ÔéŻ
thanks 1 user thanked uni for this useful post.
on 22/08/2013(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#2 Posted : 22 August 2013 18:46:05(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,252
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1141 time(s) in 746 post(s)
even if is specified in the gallery that is a 32 bit plugin, I've made a test on a 64 bit machine Good

there are hidden unwanted interferences (f.e. with the built-in stack function, see the screenshot), so if someone has tested the plugin under 64 bit systems I reccomend to delete the plugin from the %APPDATA% folder.


best regards,

Davide

Edited by user 22 August 2013 18:49:12(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Davide Carpi attached the following image(s):
2013-08-22 17_34_12-SMath Studio Desktop - [Page1.sm_].png
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 2 users thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 22/08/2013(UTC),  on 25/08/2013(UTC)
Offline mkraska  
#3 Posted : 22 August 2013 20:05:17(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,576
Germany

Was thanked: 853 time(s) in 542 post(s)
How about trying to integrate maxima? It has a symbolic engine and units support. The functions should be sufficient that no need for linking any other basic numeric library should remain. In the past I have voted for SMath as a front end to maxima. I am not really familiar with that program but just know that it is suitable for serious work both in numerics and symbolics. It shares the lack of user friendly documentation with other free software, but that might change if it is accessible through SMath.

EDIT: Installation without problems, runs with the 32-bit tagged executable version. The standard version gives a recoverable error message at start up and has many functions broken a already reported by Davide. Thus the plugin can work with the inofficial distribution. I also would prefer it over matlab, because
- installation procedure does not require hand work
- open source system without license issues
- should have most of the matlab functions

Is there a chance to access the plot functions? I attach the (german) doc for some small finite element programs in octave. Would be nice to have them in SMath. Just like Matlab and SMath, octave has range variables (vector valued indices for el(), to speak in SMath terms). That would also be nice to have.

Edited by user 23 August 2013 00:10:45(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

File Attachment(s):
Matlab-FEM-Skript.pdf (919kb) downloaded 226 time(s).
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline uni  
#4 Posted : 11 September 2016 18:36:10(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,005
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 907 time(s) in 511 post(s)
Updated (project now can be build using Release Manager).
Russia Ôśş forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
­čĺ░ Support me for plugins development: https://money.yandex.ru/to/410013245578758/100 ÔéŻ
thanks 2 users thanked uni for this useful post.
on 11/09/2016(UTC),  on 11/09/2016(UTC)
Offline Alvaro Gavilán  
#5 Posted : 19 May 2020 02:22:09(UTC)
Alvaro Gavilán


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 16/04/2020(UTC)
Posts: 31
Man
Paraguay
Location: Paraguay

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 5 post(s)
Hello,

Is there a possibility to use this plugin in 64-bit windows? any trick?

Thanks in advance.
Offline uni  
#6 Posted : 19 May 2020 03:10:52(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,005
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 907 time(s) in 511 post(s)
There is no documentation on how to use Octave engine separately from the environment. No one uses it that way. Theoretically, you can build a 64-bit version of a library, but using C++ functions directly is very difficult. Using the program as an external interpreter is also possible. This is how the Maxima plugin works.
The plugin makes sense if the math library is compact and easy to use. Octave is too big for this.
Russia Ôśş forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
­čĺ░ Support me for plugins development: https://money.yandex.ru/to/410013245578758/100 ÔéŻ
Offline Alvaro Gavilán  
#7 Posted : 19 May 2020 03:47:45(UTC)
Alvaro Gavilán


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 16/04/2020(UTC)
Posts: 31
Man
Paraguay
Location: Paraguay

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 5 post(s)
Thank you uni for your answer.
Quote:
Using the program as an external interpreter is also possible
I am interested in doing this, as I have GNU Octave in my PC. Could you give me some orientation? Thank you again.
Offline Alvaro Gavilán  
#8 Posted : 19 May 2020 07:21:41(UTC)
Alvaro Gavilán


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 16/04/2020(UTC)
Posts: 31
Man
Paraguay
Location: Paraguay

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 5 post(s)
Now problem solved with Maxima plugin...I needed some linear algebra functions such as rref (which is easily programmed after "echelon" function in Maxima).

Thank you anyways for your prompt answer!

Here attached, what I needed:

RREF edited.png

File:

RREF with Maxima.sm (16kb) downloaded 1 time(s).

Edited by user 20 May 2020 20:37:16(UTC)  | Reason: rref did not work with linear dependent rows, fixed.

Offline Jean Giraud  
#9 Posted : 19 May 2020 15:30:37(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 4,585
Canada

Was thanked: 775 time(s) in 615 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Alvaro Gavilá Go to Quoted Post
Now problem solved with Maxima plugin...I needed some linear algebra functions such as rref (which is easily programmed after "echelon" function in Maxima).

OK ... what is the suite of rref ? Solving what ?
Attach a real project, try native Smath first.
I just have some demonstrative Mathcad rref
Offline Alvaro Gavilán  
#10 Posted : 19 May 2020 15:48:23(UTC)
Alvaro Gavilán


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 16/04/2020(UTC)
Posts: 31
Man
Paraguay
Location: Paraguay

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 5 post(s)
Hello Jean. In this case it is not a real project. I am preparing a linear algebra ~1-hour course in SMath (usually I show Octave/ScilaCool. I know that in native SMath I can program the "rref" function myself, but a lin. alg. library such as from Maxima becomes very handy working with vector spaces, orthogonalization, mappings, etc. It can demotivate students to code every function they need.
Offline Jean Giraud  
#11 Posted : 19 May 2020 16:34:33(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 4,585
Canada

Was thanked: 775 time(s) in 615 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Alvaro Gavilá Go to Quoted Post
I know that in native SMath I can program the "rref"

Will be appreciated for the didactic ... from your spare time.
Cheers ... Jean
Offline Razonar  
#12 Posted : 20 May 2020 19:44:55(UTC)
Razonar


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/08/2014(UTC)
Posts: 460
Uruguay

Was thanked: 261 time(s) in 162 post(s)
Hola tocayo (I have not idea how to translate "tocayo"Wink.

Maybe you can found interesting this post: https://en.smath.com/for...ple-Tools.aspx#post35425

This is the picture in the post:
maple_2nd.gif

Maple plugin have full access to the old linalg package, but for functions like jordan and frobenius you must to do some tricks for get the transformation matrix.

Best regards.
Alvaro.
thanks 1 user thanked Razonar for this useful post.
on 21/05/2020(UTC)
Offline Alvaro Gavilán  
#13 Posted : 20 May 2020 20:29:36(UTC)
Alvaro Gavilán


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 16/04/2020(UTC)
Posts: 31
Man
Paraguay
Location: Paraguay

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 5 post(s)
Hola tocayo! Saludo latinoamericano "Wink

Thank you for the reference. I did not test myself the Maple plugin, because it was not clear for me if I needed to have Maple in my PC. Anyways this week I will take a look.


Offline Jean Giraud  
#14 Posted : 21 May 2020 03:35:58(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 4,585
Canada

Was thanked: 775 time(s) in 615 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Alvaro Gavilá Go to Quoted Post
Hola tocayo!

That Frobenius of yours: does it solve Frobenius ODE ?

Frobenius.PNG
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.