Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login. New Registrations are disabled.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline TheWizEd  
#1 Posted : 04 July 2010 23:42:54(UTC)
TheWizEd

Groups: Registered
Man
United States

Was thanked: 19 time(s) in 13 post(s)
First of all I'm new to SMath and I want to say how impressed I am with its capabilities. My company has subscribed to MathCAD and I've used if for about 4 years. I do all my engineeging calcs with MathCAD. However, the cost prohibits me from using it at home.

Now that I've found SMath I have an alternative.

I've been playing with the rfile wfile plug ins and finally figured out, in Windows 7 the files go to the directory C:\Users\****\AppData\Roaming\SMath\user. Where **** is the current user's name. Under previous versions of windows this used to be under "Documents and Settings" Any way the syntax is:

wfile(x,filexx)=1 will write a file in the above directory with the name "filexx". No quotes on the file name. You can't enter a quoted string for file name.

y:=rfile(filexx) will read back the file from the above directory with name "filexx"

For importData is goes like this:

z:=importData("c:\users\****\appdata\roaming\user\filexx",0,0,0,0,5,0,6,1)

This works for a comma delimited file with 5 rows and 6 columns and nonsymbolic data.

Somethings wrong with exportData it says "function is not defined".
Ed

Wanna join the discussion?! Login to your SMath Studio Forum forum account. New Registrations are disabled.

Offline TheWizEd  
#2 Posted : 04 July 2010 23:59:04(UTC)
TheWizEd

Man
United States

Opps importData didn't work. I inadvertantly read in data from a previous wfile.

For comma delimited i get an error message "Input string was not in a correct format.

By the way if I use importData to read a back a matrix I get a 5x6 matrix in a 1x1 matrix. I haven't figured out how to get rid of the outer matrix braces.
Ed
Offline Andrey Ivashov