Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline jrufener  
#1 Posted : 01 June 2019 21:44:47(UTC)
jrufener

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 01/06/2019(UTC)
Posts: 2
United States
Location: California

I am using SMath Studio version 0.99 build 7030 under WIN10.

I have used several releases and once I became familiar with SMath and learned the ins and outs of SMath I find it very useful.

The current project I am using it for is a great deal larger than what I have done in the past and would benefit greatly from the use of the "include" function. However, I cannot get it to work for me. The include plugin in enabled in the extensions manager. I have disabled and re-enabled it. I have removed and reinstalled SMath - I have, of course, rebooted.

As a test, I created a file "test.sm" which has a function "area" in it that computes the area of a circle. I have tested the function within "test.sm".

I created a second file "test1.sm" the first line of which is "include( "test.sm" )". I get an error "File not found test.sm". I have placed the test.sm file in my home directory - which is my documents folder and is where the test1.am file is located, in the directory from which SMath is run, in my root user folder, in the "examples" subfolder for SMath (yes I included the relative path). The error remains and remains the unchanged.

I am pretty confident the function actually works and that I am doing something wrong - but what????

Edited by moderator 01 June 2019 22:00:45(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline uni  
#2 Posted : 01 June 2019 22:00:13(UTC)
uni


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 10/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 961
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 876 time(s) in 492 post(s)
1. Relative path. You must save test1.sm in the same place where test.sm file located. Save action is necessarily because you must define current path for include() function (this is implicit definition). As I know when you just open or create document the current path is "undefined".
2. Absolute path. You can define it manually. Also you can use system global variables for this ( "%MY_SMATH_DOCS%\test.sm" ).

You can use CurrentDirectory() function from the Mathcad Access Functions plugin to display the current path. Empty string as parameter will show path.

Edited by user 01 June 2019 22:08:13(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Russia ☭ forever
Viacheslav N. Mezentsev
💰 Support me for plugins development: https://money.yandex.ru/to/410013245578758/100
Offline jrufener  
#3 Posted : 01 June 2019 22:32:06(UTC)
jrufener

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 01/06/2019(UTC)
Posts: 2
United States
Location: California

Well now, don't I feel foolish! The save clearly is important. I thought it was something I was doing (or not doing). Thank you.
Offline Jean Giraud  
#4 Posted : 02 June 2019 03:58:12(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 4,135
Canada

Was thanked: 727 time(s) in 569 post(s)
As simple as that. Include is like stacking the algo
at top of the executable suite, dependent of the top work.

include.PNG

Genfit Algo Include.sm (17kb) downloaded 14 time(s).
Genfit Algo Include Test.sm (17kb) downloaded 12 time(s).
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.