Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Britt1  
#1 Posted : 03 May 2019 16:54:42(UTC)
Britt1


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 20/03/2019(UTC)
Posts: 73
United States
Location: Mandeville, LA

I can't type what i want. I try and type.function.png



And it wants to put the paranthesis in the wrong spot, or something else goes wrong. I got the first line correct once, with an extra tick for input, but as soon as I went to the second line, SMath took out what I typed in the first line.

Edited by user 03 May 2019 16:56:39(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline Jean Giraud  
#2 Posted : 03 May 2019 19:05:32(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 4,124
Canada

Was thanked: 727 time(s) in 569 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Britt1 Go to Quoted Post
I can't type what i want. I try and type.<a href="/forum/resource.ashx?a=30834


Would help you read the Smath general user handbook.

implicit.PNG
Offline Britt1  
#3 Posted : 03 May 2019 21:36:27(UTC)
Britt1


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 20/03/2019(UTC)
Posts: 73
United States
Location: Mandeville, LA

I am reading the manual. I am going through page by page. In the below, I understood everything before this point, but I cannot type what the example says:example.png

what comes out, no matter what I type is solve(x-1):=. I can't figure our how to put anything else in the parentheses.
Offline Jean Giraud  
#4 Posted : 04 May 2019 00:04:33(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 4,124
Canada

Was thanked: 727 time(s) in 569 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Britt1 Go to Quoted Post
what comes out, no matter what I type is solve(x-1):=. I can't figure our how to put anything else in the parentheses.

Open a new document to clear previous possible "shadow in context".
solve(2), solve(4) from f(x) menu ... click.

Britt.PNG
Offline Razonar  
#5 Posted : 04 May 2019 01:11:04(UTC)
Razonar


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/08/2014(UTC)
Posts: 432
Uruguay

Was thanked: 234 time(s) in 143 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Britt1 Go to Quoted Post
...
what comes out, no matter what I type is solve(x-1):=. I can't figure our how to put anything else in the parentheses.


Hi. Isn't "solve(...):=". It is "solve(...)=". Also, if you can't type "solve(x-1,x)=" try "solve(x-1;x)=" Maybe your list separator is ";" instead ",".

Best regards.
Alvaro.
Offline Britt1  
#6 Posted : 07 May 2019 15:58:26(UTC)
Britt1


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 20/03/2019(UTC)
Posts: 73
United States
Location: Mandeville, LA

Originally Posted by: Razonar Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Britt1 Go to Quoted Post
...
what comes out, no matter what I type is solve(x-1):=. I can't figure our how to put anything else in the parentheses.


Hi. Isn't "solve(...):=". It is "solve(...)=". Also, if you can't type "solve(x-1,x)=" try "solve(x-1;x)=" Maybe your list separator is ";" instead ",".

Best regards.
Alvaro.


Sorry. You didn't understand what I said. If I type anything in that format, SMath automatically puts in the ":" I type "solve(...)=" with the keys, but SMath forces it to come out as "solve(...):="
Offline Jean Giraud  
#7 Posted : 07 May 2019 16:30:20(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 4,124
Canada

Was thanked: 727 time(s) in 569 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Britt1 Go to Quoted Post
Sorry. You didn't understand what I said. If I type anything in that format, SMath automatically puts in the ":" I type "solve(...)=" with the keys, but SMath forces it to come out as "solve(...):="

Maybe it's time to read more the Smath user guide book,
as well as get a keyboard that works to reproduce the examples.
solve(2) from the f(x) menu ... just click and fill-in.

SolveBritt.PNG

Offline Britt1  
#8 Posted : 07 May 2019 16:49:16(UTC)
Britt1


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 20/03/2019(UTC)
Posts: 73
United States
Location: Mandeville, LA

Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Britt1 Go to Quoted Post
Sorry. You didn't understand what I said. If I type anything in that format, SMath automatically puts in the ":" I type "solve(...)=" with the keys, but SMath forces it to come out as "solve(...):="

Maybe it's time to read more the Smath user guide book,
as well as get a keyboard that works to reproduce the examples.
solve(2) from the f(x) menu ... just click and fill-in.

SolveBritt.PNG



Not sure you read everything. I will try and explain better. I am on page 38 of the "introduction to SMath manual" and am going through it page by page. I got to page 38 and tried to type the "solve" function and the above is the problem I am having. I was trying to type and learn from the example. I understood everything before that point, and everything else is working. What I am trying to type is right from the SMath manual. I attached the file in a post above from 4 days ago. It says "Examples using both symbolic and numeric results are shown below." You say use the solve(2) function. The example does not mention that function. Do I need that function for this example?
Offline Jean Giraud  
#9 Posted : 07 May 2019 17:08:10(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 4,124
Canada

Was thanked: 727 time(s) in 569 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
solve(2) from the f(x) menu ... just click and fill-in.

Do you have the f(x) in the top menu bar ?
Click f(x) ... scroll down to see solve(2)
If so go by the example ... at least try.
Offline Jean Giraud  
#10 Posted : 07 May 2019 17:34:52(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 4,124
Canada

Was thanked: 727 time(s) in 569 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Britt1 Go to Quoted Post
The example does not mention that function. Do I need that function for this example?

For sure you need that function !
Go again this example.

SolveAgain.PNG

Offline Jean Giraud  
#11 Posted : 07 May 2019 21:07:58(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 4,124
Canada

Was thanked: 727 time(s) in 569 post(s)
type
solve left parentheses ...
cursor in parentheses then coma coma coma

solve.PNG
Offline mgklein  
#12 Posted : 25 May 2019 21:04:12(UTC)
mgklein


Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/05/2019(UTC)
Posts: 10
Man
Brazil
Location: Brazil

Originally Posted by: Britt1 Go to Quoted Post


Not sure you read everything. I will try and explain better. I am on page 38 of the "introduction to SMath manual" and am going through it page by page. I got to page 38 and tried to type the "solve" function and the above is the problem I am having. I was trying to type and learn from the example. I understood everything before that point, and everything else is working. What I am trying to type is right from the SMath manual. I attached the file in a post above from 4 days ago. It says "Examples using both symbolic and numeric results are shown below." You say use the solve(2) function. The example does not mention that function. Do I need that function for this example?



I think what Britt1 is trying to ask is about the argument in the solve(2) and solve(4) function. The equal sign "=" inside the argument is a boolean. So, you'll need to use "Ctrl+=" to solve this problem.

I was having some issues in other equations with the same problem, but now it's kind of working. Depends on the equation and mainly the syntax.
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.