Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline TheWizEd  
#1 Posted : 01 July 1980 16:31:40(UTC)
TheWizEd


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2010(UTC)
Posts: 178
Man
United States

Was thanked: 19 time(s) in 13 post(s)
I tried from my computer at work to enter a string in SMath Live and could not. When ever I type " the unit cursor appears.
Ed
Offline TheWizEd  
#2 Posted : 08 December 2011 02:41:32(UTC)
TheWizEd


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2010(UTC)
Posts: 178
Man
United States

Was thanked: 19 time(s) in 13 post(s)
It appears string functions findstr and subst don't work in user functions, maybe others. Probably because when the function is created the parameter is null not a string. The string functions must test for a string.


Ed
Offline omorr  
#3 Posted : 08 December 2011 12:36:53(UTC)
omorr


Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 23/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,740
Man
Serbia

Was thanked: 318 time(s) in 268 post(s)
Hello Ed,

Quite strange, but this will work as a workaround.

Open in SMath Cloud

Actually, it seems that line() is needed in order to use string functions>

Open in SMath Cloud

Regards,
Radovan

Edited by user 08 December 2011 13:57:01(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

When Sisyphus climbed to the top of a hill, they said: "Wrong boulder!"
Offline TheWizEd  
#4 Posted : 09 December 2011 01:18:06(UTC)
TheWizEd


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2010(UTC)
Posts: 178
Man
United States

Was thanked: 19 time(s) in 13 post(s)
Radovan,

I'm using 0.89 Stable and I tried to duplicate your example and get the same error message. Thanks.
Ed
Offline TheWizEd  
#5 Posted : 10 December 2011 16:17:42(UTC)
TheWizEd


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2010(UTC)
Posts: 178
Man
United States

Was thanked: 19 time(s) in 13 post(s)
Still fiddling with this I can't find a string function that will work in a user function. Using 0.89 Stable on Win 7.



PS

Something else weird. In SMath Live when I type double quote I get units cursor. I can't enter strings in SMath Live. Radovan, how did you do it?

Edited by user 10 December 2011 16:29:00(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Ed
Offline omorr  
#6 Posted : 10 December 2011 20:06:41(UTC)
omorr


Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 23/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,740
Man
Serbia

Was thanked: 318 time(s) in 268 post(s)
Hello Ed,
TheWizEd wrote:
Still fiddling with this I can't find a string function that will work in a user function. Using 0.89 Stable on Win 7.

Do not know about this. It might be a bug. My advice is to use the 0.89.8 until the release of the next version.
TheWizEd wrote:
Something else weird. In SMath Live when I type double quote I get units cursor. I can't enter strings in SMath Live. Radovan, how did you do it?

I do not have problems with it. When I insert double quotes there can be string inserted. On the other way, it might be faster to make a *.sm file first and then to use "Upload page (.sm)" from the SMath Studio Live palette.

Regards,
Radovan
When Sisyphus climbed to the top of a hill, they said: "Wrong boulder!"
thanks 1 user thanked omorr for this useful post.
on 10/12/2011(UTC)
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.