Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login. New Registrations are disabled.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login


Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Guest  
#1 Posted : 17 July 2011 21:35:07(UTC)
Guest

Rank: Guest

Groups: Guests
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 27

If someone wants to roll up his sleeves and correct the issues documented with SMath's implementation of Units (one of its absolutely best features), and make it more universally complete, here are some useful resources:

http://www.digitaldutch.com/unitconverter/
http://www.chemie.fu-ber...ry/general/units_en.html
http://www.megaconverter.com/Mega2/index.html
http://www.nist.gov/pml/...tric/unit-conversion.cfm
http://physics.nist.gov/cuu/Units/
http://physics.nist.gov/cuu/Units/binary.html

For conversion factors, it might be easiest to use a two stage process. All units of a given type (e.g., length) are converted to one standard value used by smath and then that standard value is converted to the desired value. That way there is only one list of conversions to funnel values into the standard unit. Then inverse of conversions would be used to convert back out to the desired value. This avoids an N squared table of conversions. Furthermore, using fundamental physical constants to "derive" some of these conversion factors (see SI standards) would make compiling the list of constants less tedious. Of course, this won't work for nonphysical units such as currency.

BTW, does anybody know if Roman Numerals are supported in smath?


Eagle

Wanna join the discussion?! Login to your SMath Studio Forum forum account. New Registrations are disabled.

Guest  
#2 Posted : 17 July 2011 21:50:01(UTC)
Guest

Rank: Guest

Groups: Guests
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 27

That last part is interesting: Roman numerals

Is it possible to support base conversions bin-oct-hex-dec-base12(duodecimal) and other ancient (or modern) numbering/numeral systems?
Offline ralfsnell  
#3 Posted : 30 August 2012 10:03:54(UTC)
ralfsnell

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 30/08/2012(UTC)
Posts: 3
United States
Location: dallas

Is it possible to modify or add to the definitions in "\entries\units.xml
to add "Torque" units similar to Mathcad....
Also, is it possible to modify same file to add US definitions
and change defaults, as well as eliminate some that are not used as frequently
in US.

For example, in 30+ year of structural engineering I have only once used
SI units and never illuminance, inductance units, etc....if they can be
eliminated in a "custom" units.xml file, I would remove most the unused units.

It would significantly speed up drilling down to units I do use on frequent basis.
Offline Kip  
#4 Posted : 04 September 2012 23:15:37(UTC)
Kip

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 20/07/2012(UTC)
Posts: 3
United States
Location: Syracuse, NY

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
It is possible to do so, I've edited my units.xml to define everything in terms of inches and pounds (left metric alone since I don't use it). I also added a few custom definitions such as area and diameter of rebar.
To add units I found it best to not change the language file and just add the unit definition
Code:
<unit value="0.79*'in^2" description="248" dimension="All"> 
    <name lang="eng" text="'A.#8" />
  </unit>

Edited by user 04 September 2012 23:17:51(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

File Attachment(s):
Units.7z (4kb) downloaded 153 time(s).
Offline Ricyteach  
#5 Posted : 24 July 2013 01:02:02(UTC)
Ricyteach


Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/12/2012(UTC)
Posts: 14
United States
Location: Kentucky

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
This is great. Thanks for posting this for all of us who have to use English units. It's not quite perfect (converting between metric and English does not output as expected), but it's much better than the defaults, especially the badly needed inclusion of units for force density (pcf).

Can someone explain to me how to adjust this file so the default unit is feet instead of inches? For example, in the following calculation:

150 pcf * 1 ft * 1 ft =

I would like the default result to be:

150 lb/ft

instead of:

12 lb/in

Edited by user 24 July 2013 01:03:43(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline yardern  
#6 Posted : 22 November 2019 01:05:56(UTC)
yardern

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 22/11/2019(UTC)
Posts: 3

Great software!
I especially like the interface as a calculator.

Wonder if we already have the function of bin-oct-hex-dec conversion?

Thanks!
Offline Razonar  
#7 Posted : 22 November 2019 07:08:40(UTC)
Razonar


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/08/2014(UTC)
Posts: 1,356
Uruguay

Was thanked: 815 time(s) in 516 post(s)
Originally Posted by: yardern Go to Quoted Post
Great software!
I especially like the interface as a calculator.

Wonder if we already have the function of bin-oct-hex-dec conversion?

Thanks!


Hi. I use this.

numbase.sm (13kb) downloaded 181 time(s).

Clipboard01.gif

Best regards.
Alvaro.
Offline yardern  
#8 Posted : 23 November 2019 06:56:38(UTC)
yardern

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 22/11/2019(UTC)
Posts: 3

Originally Posted by: Razonar Go to Quoted Post
Hi. I use this.

<a class="attachedImageLink {html:false,image:false,video:false}" href="/forum/resource.ashx?a=32073


Thanks, it works great!Clap

Wish it could handle negative values.

BTW, I see a lot squares in (I know not all ASCII code can be displayed) definition of N$256, It seems N$256 is not needed?

Anyway, thanks!
Offline Razonar  
#9 Posted : 23 November 2019 10:37:30(UTC)
Razonar


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/08/2014(UTC)
Posts: 1,356
Uruguay

Was thanked: 815 time(s) in 516 post(s)
Originally Posted by: yardern Go to Quoted Post

Wish it could handle negative values.


You need to define the complement value. Windows calc use 2^64, but SMath only can use 2^32. Check the attached.

Originally Posted by: yardern Go to Quoted Post

BTW, I see a lot squares in (I know not all ASCII code can be displayed) definition of N$256, It seems N$256 is not needed?
Anyway, thanks!


I use N$256 sometimes for convert full ASCII text to a decimal number. For example, the string "SMath" in base 256, using N$256 is 353468707687 in base 10.

numbase.pdf (508kb) downloaded 109 time(s).
numbase.sm (210kb) downloaded 89 time(s).

Best regards.
Alvaro.
thanks 2 users thanked Razonar for this useful post.
on 24/11/2019(UTC),  on 27/12/2022(UTC)
Offline yardern  
#10 Posted : 24 November 2019 04:31:26(UTC)
yardern

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 22/11/2019(UTC)
Posts: 3

Thanks! Razonar.
Obviously I have a lot to learn.

Offline idushy  
#11 Posted : 17 February 2020 15:07:24(UTC)
idushy

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 26/09/2014(UTC)
Posts: 2
Location: Саратов

Originally Posted by: Razonar Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: yardern Go to Quoted Post
Great software!
I especially like the interface as a calculator.

Wonder if we already have the function of bin-oct-hex-dec conversion?

Thanks!


Hi. I use this.

numbase.sm (13kb) downloaded 181 time(s).

Clipboard01.gif

Best regards.
Alvaro.


This is cool, but Bas2Dec("803d800",16)=134576128 - is no true. True resulit is 134469632. Help me pleas.

Edited by user 18 February 2020 09:28:35(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline Razonar  
#12 Posted : 17 March 2020 08:07:15(UTC)
Razonar


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/08/2014(UTC)
Posts: 1,356
Uruguay

Was thanked: 815 time(s) in 516 post(s)
Hi. Sorry for the long delay.

I don't use ucase function, so those are different strings:

dec.jpg

Best regards.
Alvaro.
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.