Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login. New Registrations are disabled.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Mido0  
#1 Posted : 04 March 2017 09:36:15(UTC)
Mido0

Groups: Registered
Man
Canada

Hi,
I am new to SMath and still learning. I had two unknown with two equations and was trying to solve them simultaneously but unfortunately SMath does not have the "solve block" option as in MathCad (if there is a way please let me know).
so I consolidate the two equations into one quadratic equation with one unknown, and tried to use the "solve" function to get the roots of the equation but it says that there is no real roots while it has!! so what i am doing wrong?!
please help!!
Solve.sm (94kb) downloaded 32 time(s).Sketch (1).png

Edited by user 04 March 2017 09:47:00(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Wanna join the discussion?! Login to your SMath Studio Forum forum account. New Registrations are disabled.

Offline omorr  
#2 Posted : 04 March 2017 10:56:43(UTC)
omorr

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Man
Serbia

Was thanked: 318 time(s) in 268 post(s)
Hello,

You have the problem with inconsistent units. Either get rid of them or add unit 'm to argument w in calling solve(Eq3(w*'m)=0,w). You will get two results (0.2162, 1.4238).

Reards,
Radovan
When Sisyphus climbed to the top of a hill, they said: "Wrong boulder!"
thanks 1 user thanked omorr for this useful post.
on 05/03/2017(UTC)
Offline mkraska  
#3 Posted : 04 March 2017 13:51:45(UTC)
mkraska

Germany

Was thanked: 1120 time(s) in 718 post(s)
You can solve the original equations using FindRoot() from the Plugin Nonlinear Solvers or Solve() from the Maxima Plugin.
FindRoot() requires initial guesses, to be given with correct dimension (unit)
Solve() does not need initial guesses but leaves you with the chance or problem to select the correct solution.